We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$415
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$394
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Destinia.com
US$342
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/09/21
Hotels.comUS$415
Agoda.comUS$394
TravelocityUS$415
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
809
264
91
44
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
809
264
91
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bali beds tasting menu clarins products pool area private beach spa mallorca level sun poolside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This one of the most amazing placed hotels i have ever been! The view there is awesome...
The hotel is brilliant with great pool area, it is absolutely relaxing.
The staff is absolutely the best especially one beautiful girl who make the best impression to me. Bojana works at Bar Gabi, she is so friendly girl with perfect sesne for work...She helped me a lot with her advices how to spend my time better in Mallorca also she makes the best cocktails /if you go there- try it!/ . Really thank her.
I didn`t like the kitchen. It is not good quality for this prices.
Rooms are pretty and clean.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Mar Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Aleksandra V,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar.

We are pleased you have been relaxed in the pool area and you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.
Thank you for your very kind comments and we are going to transmit all your good words to Bojana who is going to appreciate a lot your attention.

We would like to see you very soon again and change your last impression of our kitchen, in the meantime stay connected via Facebook to have all the news or our 50th birthday celebration.

Kind regards.
Carina Nuñezc
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have visited this hotel on six occasions. During this time covering approx. 10 years the standards have been maintained to a consistently high standard.
The location and facilities on offer continue to provide a restful and enjoyable retreat. Children have to be 15 years old to accompany their parents. This was not
always the case but is their current policy. I would hope that this policy would be reviewed in the future as my grandchildren did enjoy their early years at this location. Overall a really nice hotel to chill in.

Room tip: Rooms on the seventh floor provide the best view. We have always stayed on the fourth floor and found the view to be very good. All of the rooms face the sea.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Mar Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Martin S,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar and also for the fact that you had been several times with us.
We are honored of your very kind comments. We tried every time to give the best service to our guest in order to keep our standard.
We also are very glad that you continue to appreciate the exclusive location of our hotel. Concerning the “Adults Only”, this transformation occurred in 2011 it was thought for a complete relaxation and we hope in few years your grandchildren will enjoy this as well.
Once again, we would like to thank you and in the meantime you can stay connected with us via Facebook and have all the latest news concerning our 50th birthday anniversary.

Kind regards.

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What a brilliant hotel with absolutely fantastic staff. We travel a lot and this hotel is on a par in terms of service with the best in Dubai. Great room, beautiful views, excellent grounds including a great pool area and some lovely chill out zones with access to the sea. You can see there has been a lot of thought in the layout of the hotel with lots of different areas to chill out in. The way they welcome you when you first get there is great with a cool face towel and an ice cold drink. All of the staff were excellent during our stay, but an extra special mention has to go to Sabrina in Guest Experience. We met her on our first day when she dealt with something for us and she was an absolute star, giving us some graet advice about the island and the restaurants to go to, as well as recommending the restaurant in the hotel, which for a hotel restaurant was very good. I hope the management take notice of this review and pass on our thanks to the team (especially Sabrina).
Thanks for a great week, you have just become our favourite European Hotel.

Room tip: ask for a high floor for the views
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulpavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Mar Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Paul P,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for your week of vacation and also thank you for your comments very flattered.
Obviously, we are going to transmit your very kind remarks to Sabrina and to all the team of Meliá de Mar.
We are very satisfied that we could offer you the service you expected especially with our room and its amazing view.
We hope to welcome you very soon and in the meantime you can follow us on Facebook to have all the latest news of the hotel for our 50th birthday celebration.

Kind regards.

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

if you are looking for peace and quiet go the De Mar. The rooms on the 7th floor, called The Level, have perfect views and lots of added extras.(there is a list of extras you are entitled to if you book a Level room) The staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We would like to thank Isabel from Reception, who ran up 7 flights of stairs to tell us that our room wasn't ready when we had already gone up in the lift! The spa is beautiful and the grounds are well maintained.Breakfast was good and the restaurant by the pool is worth a try. The only drawback is the lack of good restaurants in the immediate area but a taxi drive to Il Paradiso is a must if you are in the area.

Room tip: Level rooms are the best
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrean51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Mar Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear andrean51,

Thank you for choosing Meliá de Mar for your stay.
We are very satisfied that you enjoyed the quiet and relaxing location of the hotel. We are also glad that you experienced our exclusive service of The Level and that we could meet your expectations.
Please, stay connected with us via Facebook and you will have all the latest events of our 50th birthday celebration.

With kind regards.

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks ok from the front. Nice gardens and drive in. But the back of it looks like it was converted from a rather large 60's office block with nasty brown tiles on the walls and brown wooden slats to give privacy from the adjoining rooms.

First off, I must say the reception staff were lovely. The check in was swift and without fuss.
The room was ok, clean and ample wardrobe space, even though we had to ask for more hangers. The shower is a bit on the snug side and the tiny toilet had two doors going into it which is rather pointless and just makes it smaller. We were offered feather pillows as the beds had awful synthetic pillows on it- however, when they came they were only small with the large pillow slips on!! One pillow slip had a hole in it. However, it's a nice touch.
We asked for an iron and board- which was weird it was small and wide so that a size 8 dress couldn't fit over the end of it and I had to iron it doubled up on the board. The cover on it was burnt and the burnt bits on it which ended up on my dress when I used it- as you can Imagine, I wasn't best pleased. There was an odd metal thing that was supposed to sit the iron on but it wouldn't stay put and kept slipping down. Had I put the iron on it it would have crashed to the floor.

Unfortunately the service at the bar was very slow, I think there seemed to be only 1 member of staff making the drinks and many of the staff don't speak great or understand much English which resulted in our orders often being wrong. The staff were very nice though.
Breakfast was adequate although ask for two tea bags in the pot if you want anything resembling a decent cuppa!
The sun beds around the pool and garden area were the worst kind of sun bed to lay on for any length of time. Hard as iron with no soft matting on. My back will never be the same again!
There is supposedly a tranquility area in the grounds but obviously it can't be policed and we had some rather noisy Germans chatting throughout our time there. It also doesn't help that on that side of the bay every day a rib comes along and sits right next to the area with often young giggly girls aboard that are thrown in or jump in off the side Into the sea. Not that the staff can do anything about that. One gripe is that the staff don't check that the sunbeds have been left with the discarded towels on so you have loads dotted around towels on so it's hard to find a bed that appears free.
Don't expect to be served with drinks in the tranquility area though as it's out of the way and largely forgotten about.
We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as we were in Mallorca visiting family. But the menu did have a decent selection in it.
Overall, I'd say it wasn't the worst hotel I've stayed in but neither was it the best. I guess for the money it was just about ok.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gmbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MDM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Mar Gran Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear gmbee,

First of all, we would like to apologize that we could not meet your expectations during your stay and also thank you for your detailed comments. Naturally, we will tell our staff your comments to improve even more our service.

Secondly, we want to give some explanation for the look of the hotel: the hotel had been built in such a way that every service has a view to the sea (rooms, restaurant, pool, bar …) to give an exclusive relaxing place to our guests.
Once again we thank you for your comment. We hope to have a chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards.

Carina Nuñez
Guest Experience Manager-MELIÁ DE MAR-50 YEARS WITH YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews