We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My first trip to Penang and first time in this hotel, quiet nice and decent. our check-in and out was really quick and easy. Very friendly and attentive staff, breakfast was fine. We enjoyed the view very much, beach is just right in front of the hotel. Our room was ok, of course a bit old furniture but good job housekeeping! We had an issue with water heater twice in a row but maintenance fixed it quickly. Overall it's a decent hotel with a very reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanizAmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

There was an incident that electricity shut down in my room 5:30 am, the maintenance guy was not willing to fix it and wanted me either to change the room (difficult to wake up all the family at that time and move) or he will fix it tomorrow (I think he meant later that day as it was only 5:30 am).
To go for higher floors the elevators should go to the lobby first
Very long checkup time (more than 1 hour)
The shower in the bathroom goes hot and cold alone with poor control knobs
No side mirrors in the bathroom for shaving
Only very poor 12 TV programs are available
Food quality in the breakfast is not the worst thing in the hotel
Location is very far from shopping areas
Only few employee speaks English
Security guys in the hotel they think they work for FBI or something
The Wi-Fi is the slowest Wi-Fi on earth. Google page open in 2 minutes!
The only thing The view from the room was amazing

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The location of this resort is very good. Not too far away to town probably 20 mins by car and 10 minutes drive to Batu Ferringi. But the resort need a refurbish badly.

It looks decent like any other high rise apartment from the outside but inside of the building totally run down!

When I arrived at the lobby it was fine but the moment after I checked in I took the lift up to my room the lift was so old. From the hall way to my room they really need to re-paint the wall and doors with many scratched and damages corner to touch up. I stayed on one of the highest floor in the 2 bedrooms apartment and facing the ocean view. That was the only highlight for my stay here!

The apartment was good size with a big balcony. The furnitures were really old and the sofa in the lounge was broken. The moment I sat on it, it sagged!

Breakfast selection not great and the only tasty was the Mee goreng and milk tea.

I would not be back here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mia_mk1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First time here, thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were very friendly and helpful, felt like part of the family. Hotel is older but very clean and suite is very large, great value for money. View of beach is also great. Bus stop right out front and buses are frequent and cheap. Several good restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel and we will return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would suggest that while this hotel could do with a renovation, it might be better to knock it down and start again. It's a very old resort, the rooms are very much outdated, the bathroom feels a bit grotty and we found the staff to be fairly indifferent.

The breakfast restaurant is ok but if you go across the road, there's a nice restaurant.

Location wise, you'd be wanting to have a car because it isn't really near anything that a tourist is going to want to see.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushiandshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

however i wouldn't label it a 4 star
upon check out you have to pay a tax, depending on the number of star the hotel is depnds on the tax you pay, they said that rainbow is a 4 star... WHAT???

anyway we booked 4 suites, all on the same floor

check in staff very friendly
rooms, are HUGE!! think american sizes!!
more than happy
best of all is, throughout my asia trip, rainbow paradise was the cheapest hotel i booked and it was the best night sleep all 7 of us had!!!

hotel does need renovating as it is old and tired

swimming pool is clean

beach is clean, however the sea is polluted, nothign to do with the hotel

breakfast was good

overall would be happy to stay again

Room Tip: book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank babyangel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We only stayed here for one night and was very thankful for that. The hotel is old and tired and the room smelt stale.

We had a problem with the bill at gayas cafe and the rude staff member wouldnt get his manager as he was "too busy".

We also had a maintenance person walk into our room while we were half naked on the bed. He rung the bell and opened the door about 1 second later. He also refused to leave after we told him 3 times to get out.
There are much better alternatives available.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank david240571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
3.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
Hotel Sentral Seaview, Penang
#1 of 2 in Tanjung Tokong
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
793 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 527 Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia (Formerly Paradise Sandy Beach Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: £27 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at Tanjung Bungah, this 4-star resort is just 45minutes away from the Penang International Airport. Its tastefully decorated 315 suites are perfect for business traveller, leisure holiday or family vacation. All suites are fully air-conditioned, equipped with coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer, IDD Telephone, 32 inch LCD screen TV, WI-FI in the room, mini fridge and in-room safe. Kitchenette facilities are available at cost upon request. The Breeze Cafe and Gaya’s Beach Side Bar & Restaurant, overlooking the sea, offers local & western cuisine, and a fully stocked bar for you to enjoy while you watch the sunset. An array of sea-sports, including parasailing, boat rides and jet skis are also available at the beach front. For the more adventurous who wish to explore the vicinity of the resort, the heritage city of Georgetown is only 20 minutes away, while a host of entertainment and night spots are just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sandy Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Paradise Sandy Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort Penang/Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing