We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, decent, and basic. period.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Room was clean, decent but the size and amenities definitely lower than a four points standard. Minimal toiletries provided and you'll need to call housekeeping for basic toiletries like toothbrush. Hotel located a little off town, over at tg bungah, and there is horribly limited car parking space. Has a nice pool although packed; and has a beach front. Was not accorded the usual room upgrades as a SPG gold member; and upon checkin was told I could have late checkout. However upon reconfirming this entitlement at night, reception just told me not possible, as rooms were full for Labor Day weekend. Also enquired on transportation to Georgetown, and was told by reception they would revert to me on both issues. Received no calls from reception whatsoever, much to my dismay. Overall, I would rate the hotel a three star, and a lower quality four points amongst it's sister properties worldwide.

Room Tip: Get a room with the beachview if you would want lesser noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourpointspenang, Assistant Manager - Digital Marketing at Four Points by Sheraton Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi William,

Thank you very much for staying at Four Points by Sheraton Penang. We would like to apologize for not according a room upgrade upon check-in as well as the late check-out. We were running full and was unable to provide the room upgrade and late check-out. We are sorry to hear that our team has failed to revert back to you with your queries. Your feedback has been extended to the respective team for quality improvement. We do hope to see you back here again in the future.

Angeline Chen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

it is very that the cheak in counter is face to the beach, and it was quite that they offer welcome drink to every guests not only the VIPs. the bellmen RONY always help us Initiative, and he Introduced the room facilities as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keyaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourpointspenang, Assistant Manager - Digital Marketing at Four Points by Sheraton Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton Penang! We are very delighted to hear that our bellman Rony has made your trip a pleasant one throughout your stay here. We hope to see you back here again.

Regards,
Angeline Chen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I am still here with my husband..posting this review in a deluxe ocean view room, using the free wifi provided. What can i say..love, love, love! The view is great..the room is in the third floor, yet i have full view of the sea. Room is very clean, modern and simple but extra comfort guaranteed.yup, the bathroom is quite small but it's ok for me, as it is clean and the ammenities are great.big LED/LCD TV with good channels on but most of the time you'll be looking at the sea =)..i booked through booking.com so checking-in was very quick.didnt have breakfast here as we prefer going around penang looking for local specialties.thebeach is nice for a stroll,the swimming pool is also nice.the rate is very affordable,so why not..i'll definitely be coming back !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourpointspenang, Assistant Manager - Digital Marketing at Four Points by Sheraton Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Nikshah,

We love your enthusiast and thank you for loving Four Points by Sheraton Penang :). We are happy to hear that both you and your husband enjoyed your stay and will be returning back here again in the future. We look forward to seeing you the next trip!

Angeline Chen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Nice cosy hotel, the deluxe oceanfront rooms bit small but readonably clean. All basic amenities available, Some like shaving kit, sewing kit, kantaka like bath robe are on request but foc.

Usual coffee and tea (English Breakfast, Camomile, Earl Grey) available in the room foc. Bottled drinking water also foc. Unlimited supply. No minibar. Mini refrigerator and safe available in room. But the refrigerator is not cold enough.

Small 4 feet deeo pool but with a private beach front. Signboard warns of jelly fish presence but didn't see any on our 1 week stay.

Staff are helpful and friendly but please be patient when speaking to some of them as some are from overseas where english is not their second language. Had a bit of a problem when extending our stay. But the Management eventually solved it for us.

However, the hotel really need to improve on the quality of their food. Only 1 restaurant but cosy setting overlooking the beach and sea.

Lack of parking spaces when running full house. But the jockey services foc solved the problem.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tltjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt V, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi there tltjoo and thank you for posting a review on your experience with us.
Thank you so much for pointing out the friendly and helpful associates. I'm sorry that in some cases the language was a barrier but I'm happy to read that the issue was ultimately resolved. Thank you also for your comment about the food.
Looking much forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards - Kurt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Decided last minute to travel to Penang and FPS was one of only a handful of hotels that was available which had a good range of reviews.

Pros: It's basic, comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are tiny but the view of the ocean more than made up for that flaw! The staff are keen and helpful and make a decent cocktail! No need to use taxis as the bus service is timely, smooth and inexpensive. You can easily get to Gurney Drive, the city and Batu Ferringhi.

Cons: Pay your bill the night before and check it. Their oversight almost delayed our trip to the airport significantly the next morning. Oh and watch the elevator doors, they'll close on you if you're not quick getting in!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt V, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi there Jen973 and thank you for staying at our resort.
Thank you also for posting a favourable review on your experience, particularly on the helpful associates and the nice drinks they're fixing.
I'm sorry to hear about the mistake in the bill and the delay it caused trying to sort this out. Our Front Office Manager is aware of this incident and has taken steps for this to not happen again.
I hope though this won't keep you from coming back to us and I look forward to your return visit.
Best Regards - Kurt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Kudos to the team in Four Points penang....this round has made me feel not wanting to go home tomorrow morning...

Coming back to this hotel within 6 months has given us an eye opener on the dedication of changes the team has taken to give their best in hospitality

Upon arrival this round....from check in...to floor staff, valet, house keeping....it was almost flawless in service.....once important...staff who sees you and actually approaches you and ask if we needed any help.....

One thing can summarize this feel....hospitality from the heart....

Thank you for the great experience.....

Stephen n adrian...if u r still around... great work!!!

Mr happy....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt V, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi there Tommy C and thank you very much for reviewing your experience at Four Points by Sheraton Penang.
I'm so happy to read that we exceeded your expectations and that valuable returning guests like you are noticing the improvements we make day-by-day.
It is true that we have a highly dedicated team and I'm so happy to be surrounded by them. Everyone is doing their best to please guests and to improve the services. Comments like yours are highly rewarding and are only motivating the team to do better.
Thank you once again and looking forward to your next visit!
Best Regars - Kurt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 2-week stay at the Four Points Penang. Upon arrival was warmly greeted by bell-hop and front desk staff and was given an upgrade to a nice ocean-view suite on the 5th floor, thanks! Suite was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. I especially enjoy watching sunrise over the ocean every morning from the large picture windows. The hotel serves an extensive buffet breakfast spread which was complimentary for SPG Plat. Hotel is conveniently located close to Gurney (shopping and food) and Ferringhi beach and there’re daily shuttles from the hotel to both locations, although I wish it was more frequent (ended up driving instead). Hotel staff is warm and friendly. Special kudos to Ms Vernisse Chew, whose exceptional hospitality and professionalism made our stay enjoyable. Thanks for all your help and recommendations!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt V, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi there Daryl T and thank you for staying and reviewing your experience at Four Points by Sheraton Penang.
I'm very happy to read that we exceeded your expectations in terms of service and breakfast.
Thank you also for pointing out the warm and friendly services from our associates, particularly Vernise. She is a great team-member that has been with us since before hotel-opening and I'm very happy to have her on our team.
Looking very much forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best Regards - Kurt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
4.2 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
3.6 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
785 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Penang

Address: 505 Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia (Formerly Tanjung Bungah Beach Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price Range: £42 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the uncomplicated comforts in any of our 220 welcoming guest rooms and suites, where you’ll find everything you need to feel at home; some have outstanding views of the Malacca Strait. Enjoy free bottled water daily and stay connected with free wireless High Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Bungah Beach Georgetown
Hotel Tanjung Bungah Beach
Four Points By Sheraton Penang Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing