We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of de Bassus

de Bassus
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in La Zenia
Price range: US$11 - US$16
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Bavarian restaurant presents it's own home-brewed beer that can be tasted only in our restaurants, as well as our typical and varied cuisine. At De Bassus you can enjoy authentic Bavarian tradition. The first time that the brewery De Bassus was mentioned in the chronicle of the city Ingolshtadt was in 1550. The old brewery is situated in the castle Sandersdorf that belongs to the family De Bassus. The history of the family Da Bassus is even older. The first member of the family mentioned in chronicles was a Roman general (50 B.C.). Later the main part of the family moved to Switzeland during the Thirty Year War with Bavaria, From that time, based on centuries of acquired experience they began to brew beer of a very high quality and enjoyed an excellent reputation. Everything was based on their are of brewing combined with the best raw materials, In the same period the first law of Food Industry was created. In 1516 Bavarian duke William issued a law on "beer purity". According to the law, only malt, hops, yeast and water are permitted ingredients for the brewing of beer. The brewery De Bassus until today, adheres to this law, and this is why the raw materials originate only from ecologically pure areas. In this way we obtain flavor, aromatic properties and beer foam, indicating freshness, always typical for each individual sort of beer. We brew our beer in the restaurant in La Zenia, in this way we avoid using any chemical preservatives in our products. No preservatives! No pasteurization! No flitration! Our natural beer contains all the nutrients that people require for health together with excellent taste. De Bassus Beer contains all the vitamins (except vitamin C), minerals and amino acids that are part of our daily recommended requirements. So, de Bassus beer, consumes in moderation, is one of the most healthy food products you can consume.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

First class food and first class beer! Staff are really friendly, fast service and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    102
    56
    30
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Poste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had the most wonderful experience of drinking fine beer in this fine restaurant and bar. This German chain brews it's own beer and serves these in different measured glasses and there are types of beer such as Hell, Dunkel, Weizen und Pils. The food tastes authentic and there is a decent atmosphere when it's Bavarian night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at de Bassus, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Hi, thank you for your opinion, we’re pleased that you liked our beer and food, and that you enjoyed the atmosphere at our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The home of the Sausage & Beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The home of the half foot or foot long sausage! Various types to choose from - the men seem to like working their way through the menu.
The setting in Zenia Boulevard is great as it is out of the way of the main buzz of the centre and feels like you are in another place.
Entertainment is on most nights and there is an Oktoberfest once a month too which we missed unfortunately but will try to go to next time.
If you are feeling thirsty get yourself a stein of the 4 in house brewed beers! Very nice

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at de Bassus, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi, thank you for your opinion, it's important to us to know what our customers thought about our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

From the start i should have known it was going to be Bad The Sticky Tables were a good indication of what we were in for. was given one Menu between 4 People on arrival, had to ask for more and that request didnt go down to well. we then sat there for maybe 10mins before he came back to take the drinks order 30mins later and a new Waiter we Ordered our food. Out of 4 Meals 1 was Ok. Grey Pork covered in Gravy with a Mountain of what looked like pre-chewed Red Cabbage that was Pickled in Cinnamon strangely a Rib dish with Honey Sauce had the same Flavor It gives me Shivers to think of how horrid it was.By the way i used to like Cinnamon. While this was all going on Christmas Tunes were being played . Maybe Christmas was late in La Zenia this year. 14 Days in La Zenia and only 1 Horrible Meal .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellant sausages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Great sausages try the metre long spicy mmm
Wife had currywust which was very good reasonably priced food and drink they brew their own german beer which was a nice change from the fizzy spanish lager

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luffie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed de Bassus also viewed

La Zenia, Costa Blanca
La Zenia, Costa Blanca
 
Playa Flamenca, Province of Alicante
 

Been to de Bassus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing