We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of PlayaMarina II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PlayaMarina II
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had everything on our doorstep, bars, restaurants, short walk to beach and less than 5 min drive to the new shopping centre. Hotel is situated in the middle of the lively Cabo Roig Strip, so expect some noise. Apartment was clean and tidy had everything we required for our stay. Facilities were good, was pleased they had a food bar otherwise would have lost our sun beds, if we had to go out on strip for food. Especially loved the pool bar....was very much needed in those temperatures. Good value for money stayed with 3 friends so 120€ each for the week, so worked out a cheap holiday. Will definitely be going back. Almost forgot staff were really helpful, especially when we couldn’t get air con or TV to work, not they were broke, we were just pressing the wrong buttons!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    15
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here a few weeks ago and cannot fault it in any way. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a great time in the area and were always on hand to help with any questions we had about where to visit etc. Our Apartment was fantastic with stunning views of the Med. We had a rooftop terrace and the sun was on the terrace all day. The pool area was very clean and welcoming and we did take advantage of the Poolside Bar on a daily basis! It was also lovely to meet other people after a meal out on the Strip at the Bar before going to bed. Breakfast was great value and in our opinion, the best in the immediate area. Would definitely recommend and we will be back!

Room Tip: We had a rooftop terrace and would recommend this. However, we were told they sell these quickly an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer131960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

these apartments have two things going for them they are are,the staff and the location.but that is it.the apartment block is in the middle of the strip,so you are near to everything the beach is a 10 to 15 min walk away.now the bad parts the corridors were not cleaned for days.the apartment was very basic,not very clean and needs updating.but the biggest problem is the noise.there is a pool bar which is open to the early hours of the morning and very noisy,if you have an apartment on either side there are disco bars underneath which are open till 4am,so not very good for families.the food in the pool area was average there are better places to get a breakfast just outside the complex.overall if you are there for the night life then this place is ok but my advice is stay somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We actually stayed at the Playamarina II which is adjoined to Playmarina I. Slightly scruffy looking from the outside, we were part of a wedding party booked in here by recommendation. Trouble is, many of these apartments are privatley owned so what you get depends very much on the owner's standard and style.

Our apartment was very disappointing, even though we had what was classed as a 'penthouse' with private sun terrace. The sun terrace was private but had two enormous air conditioning units which belched out curry fumes from the Indian restaurant below. Not very nice early in the morning when you are trying to enjoy a bit of sunshine!!

The apartment itself was not very clean - dirty cupboards and crockery, none of which matched. Only two mismatched wine glasses for a party of 4, only two decrepit mugs, no washing up liquid or dishcloth to wipe surfaces, at least five missing light bulbs, one of which was the main light in the bedroom and an ironing board whose cover was filthy, torn and not fit for purpose! (The manager did replace the ironing board but none of the other issues were addressed.)

A look at another guest's apartment showed us that some of them are actually quite OK - but you take your chance on getting anything decent. To be fair, it was not expensive - only 50 Euros a night, but you do expect basic cleanliness and everything to work and be available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Dont expect luxury accommodation - the place has certainly seen better days and is in need of some TLC. Having said that, it is clean and tidy and in a great location for local bars and restaurants. Probably the equivalent of a 3 star hotel in the UK, certainly no higher. We stayed there as a group of guys on a golfing break. Perfectly adequate for that purpose but certainly not for a couples or family break. Staff all English and very amenable. Breakfasts freshly cooked and very good value for money. In summary, basic and good value accommodation if you want to be close to the local bars and restaurants and a 15 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

10/15 mins walk to beach. We found the one at aguamarina area to be closest and best. Nice pool but not enough sun beds and sun goes off terrace fairly early. Great location on strip. Lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. Staff at hotel very friendly and prices in bar good.Apartment fully equipped for 5 people. Only downside is noise from bar underneath which goes on until around 3am. Beds very hard so dont expect much sleep! Recommend King of tandoori and Picolinos which are straight outside and do great food. Very big Irish community. Great atmosphere, fab holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishface1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week here and although I enjoyed myself & the place was nice there were just a few thing that put me off.

The accommodation is great, we had a lovely 2 bed apartment overlooking the pool. It had a double bed in one room & 2 single beds in the other. Nice kitchen with everything you need in it. Big bathroom with bath & shower. The sitting room was lovely and spacious and there were ceiling fans in all the rooms which came in very handy. The swimming pools were gorgeous and never too busy.

It's situated nicely on the strip with loads of lovely restaurants, pubs & kids amusements within walking distance. Lovely walks along the coast towards the back of the complex & we found Playa Cabo Roig very enjoyable and only about 10/15 mins walk away.

Few things that annoyed me were 1. On arrival when I went to use the toilet in the apartment it wasn't flushed by whoever used it last. 2. It was quite dusty around the apartment. 3. The tv unit was falling apart and even though we reported it 3 or 4 times it still hasn't been fixed at the end of our week. 4. The tv didn't work & there were no batteries in any of the remotes for the tv or air conditioning.

I'm sure we were just unlucky with all the above complaints as I couldn't fault the complex overall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Roig
16.5 mi away
Playamarina 1 Aparthotel
Playamarina 1 Aparthotel
#1 of 2 in Cabo Roig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.6 mi away
Servigroup La Zenia
Servigroup La Zenia
#1 of 2 in Playa Flamenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
16.6 mi away
Diamant Blue
Diamant Blue
#2 of 2 in Playa Flamenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palacio de Tudemir Boutique Hotel
16.6 mi away
Hotel Montepiedra
Hotel Montepiedra
#1 of 1 in Dehesa de Campoamor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Rey Teodomiro
Hostal Rey Teodomiro
#4 of 5 in Orihuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PlayaMarina II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PlayaMarina II

Property: PlayaMarina II
Address: Calle Cielo, 5 | Orihuela Costa, Cabo Roig, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Cabo Roig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cabo Roig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playamarina II is situated in the heart of Cabo Roig, the Jewel of the Costa Blanca. Having 78 air-conditioned/heated Apartments with 2 or 3 bedrooms, the Apartments benefit from a fully-staffed 24 hour Reception, Poolside Bar, Food Servery and a secure Poolside Garden/Terrace and Jacuzzi. Ideal for singles, families, golfers alike, there are serveral 'Blue-Flag' Beaches in the immediate vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your PlayaMarina II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing