We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location location location but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“location location location but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

still the best location on the island, despite some erosion long bay remains spectacular. the hotel may benefit from some revamping. we expected staff to be more welcoming and attentive at this price level.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank unionsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Union Square,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It seems that the welcoming you got wasn't up to our high standard and I would like to apologize for this. Your review will be shared with the entire team and I hope you will consider coming back to la Samanna in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    210
    104
    60
    45
See reviews for
170
651
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent the day at the resort, renting a cabana on the beach, stopping on a recent cruise. Didn't seem like they sell a lot of these for the price, given that the beach is already so beautiful, private, and remote, but I certainly wasn't about to pay for a room rate, just to use their beach when there are no shortage of amazing beaches on both sides of the Island. Truth be told, my little brother got engaged there and I wanted to show my kids and see myself. Breathtaking, Luxurious, Amazing. But Pricey. When my kids got cranky in the afternoon, they stood out amongst the mostly European crowd as obnoxious American kids. When your kids are older and can appreciate, I can't imagine a much nicer place to spend a long weekend, that also easy to get to......if you can afford.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mark R,
Thank you for your review and I am very happy to read that you took the time to come to our beach cabanas even for such a short stop over during your cruise. So nice of you to come and see where your brother got engaged. I hope this brought lots of happiness in his couple and it would be wonderful to have them back.
Do you know that over 80% of our guests are American? As Belmond La Samanna is usually considered as a romantic get away, you must know that we have a great Kids Club for children up to 13 years old. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your brother back again in our small paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Martin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

What an amazing experience!! Beautiful grounds, great staff, accommodations are awesome & the scenery is breathtaking! The private beach is for guest only, so not crowded, free chairs & umbrellas, plus beach service that allows you yo order food & drinks without ever leaving your spot, doesn't get any better! We will be staying here again, luxury at it's best!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you so much for this great review! I count of you for spreading the word about our beautiful piece of Heaven and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

With direct flights from NY this place is a no brainer. Stunning powerade blue, warm water. Delightful staff, facilities becoming dated but the beach is fantastic. Not sure about the plastic trampoline in the middle of the beach - kind of ruins the view.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Simon L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Belmond La Samanna. I am happy to read you enjoyed our beach and as for the facilities, I must tell you that we have been undergoing major renovations over the last 2 years and this is only the beginning. The trampoline is one of the favorite attraction of our guests and I must admit that its yellow color does make it quite noticeable. I thank you for your comment and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, CA, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

At almost $1,000 per night (high season rate including taxes) there were high expectations before we arrived. Mid afternoon arrival did not find our rooms ready but we were upgraded to a suite on the beach. The room was comfortable and as a suite very spacious but the quality and furnishings are perhaps closer to 4 star rather than 5. The gardens and grounds are mature and well landscaped. The hotel buildings show their age but are well cared for. The spa is miniscule. I guess the strength is the friendliness and warmth of the people who work there. They all went out of their way to make us feel so welcome with a genuine friendliness that comes with a happy well managed team.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Hugh B,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you room was not ready when you arrived but as we are often sold out, we need a few hours after guests' departure to clean the room for the next arrivals and this explains that our check in time is 4pm. We encourage all our guest to let us know their exact arrival time in advance so we can play with the room attributions depending on Departure / Arrival time and make sure everyone is settled as soon as possible to start enjoying a great holiday.
The hotel just celebrated its 40th birthday and renovations take place little by little, year after year. Most of the rooms on the beach have been refurbished with beautiful and new comfortable furniture. We are hoping you will consider coming back so you can try one of them.
Your great comments about the staff will be shared with the entire team. Thank you again for reviewing on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here in March for 8 days. It was myself, 2 teenage daughters, and my 83 year old mother. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Every staff person was very kind and helpful. The resort is stunning, ocean views galore from just about everywhere. We had a lovely 2 bedroom suite right on the ocean. It was much larger than I thought it would be, a nice kitchen, living room and 2 good sized bedrooms with large, modern baths. A stunning patio with covered table area, lounge chairs, and umbrella,2 steps down and you are on the beach. Note for accessibilty issues - the resort has had a lot of erosion recently and there a is a huge drop-off of about 10 feet, straight down from the upper flat part of the beach where the lounge chairs are down to the ocean. They have installed ropes to make it easier to navigate, but my mother could not go down to the water. The location of the resort is fabulous, $20 cab ride from the airport. If you think you may want to explore the island, I would recommend taking a taxi to the hotel from the airport and then renting a car at the hotel for the days you want it. MUCH less hassle than renting from the airport, and most days we did not leave the hotel except for dinner, and we took a taxi then anyway. The food was delicious, albeit pricey. The breakfast buffet is simply amazing, best I have ever seen. We ate lunch either on the beach (quaint flags by your lounger that you put out when you need something) or at the pool restaurant. The only negative I would give the hotel is lack of dinner options. The pool restaurant/bar is so nice, and lively but it is not open for dinner. The breakfast dining area is not open for dinner either. The dinner dining area is small, and lacks anything special. We ate there one night and were not terribly impressed, there are many gourmet/fun/island type restaurants close by, so just plan on eating out for dinner. If the hotel could open the pool restaurant even just a few nights a week, that would be ideal. They said you could order tapas there, but we tried one night and none of the staff knew what we were talking about. There is a golf cart system they use to shuttle you back and forth to the main building if you don't want to walk, or like us have an elderly traveler with you. You call for the cart, and hardly ever have to wait, they show up immediately.
Truly, the staff make this resort special. Small example - we broke our "do not disturb" sign one morning leaving for breakfast, It is a shell necklace that you hang on the door and it got caught a few times and broke. Anyway, when we returned from breakfast, it had been replaced without our saying a word. That is service. This hotel is worth the price, heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Ground floor oceanfront suite made access to the beach so easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southerntraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Southerntraveller_12,
Thank you very much for your great words. I am very glad to read that you had a fantastic time with your family. I am sorry that your mother wasn't able to go in the sea due to the steep access but the big wave we were expecting since November to flatten the beach has arrived 2 weeks ago and the access is now completely flat again. This wave was 5 months late and there was unfortunately not much we could do about this as Belmond La Samanna beach is a nesting point for sea turtles and only mother nature is allowed to modify its shape.
Thank you for your comments regarding dinning options and as I was explaining in a precedent post, we are now working on having a wider choice for dinning venues. The tapas menu from the bar was quite new when you stayed with us and I am very sorry to read that my staff wasn't well informed about it. This has been corrected and guests are welcome to give them a try everyday from 5pm.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I had a very nice stay at La Samanna last week. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The beach is amazing (though the surf is a little rough with a steep drop off). We had an ocean view room with a private balcony in the main building that was quite nice. The room had been recently redone and was in excellent condition. One small issue was our air conditioner was broken the first night, but was fixed quickly the next morning and the temp at night wasn't too bad even without it. I would have loved to try a beach front room, however, that was not the cards for us this trip.

The food at the beach restaurant is decent and the drinks are quite good (but very pricey). The food at the main restaurant is good as well, though maybe not worth the price.

The tennis facilities are good (1 hard court, 2 artificial grass (I think) courts), though sparsely used during our stay, and the pro was very friendly and helpful.

Areas for improvement:
1. The service at the water-sports hut was terrible. We took out a few paddle boards and received very little help and no instruction (not even a "have you used these before"). All the guy did was have us sign a waiver and point us to the boards. Coming back from our paddle he did not come to help us get the boards back up the beach until the last minute and I ended up cutting my foot on beach rocks in the process. Not a big deal, but I would have expected a little more help.

2. In general the service on the beach as well as the bell hop service was spotty. A five star resort should not make mistakes with your luggage and should be more attentive to their guests. Note, the beach service was not terrible, just not as good as I have experienced at other 5 star resorts. Also, the breakfast, main bar and restaurant service was better.

3. I don't think there is anything the hotel can do about it, but it seems a lot of island boat tours come to use the cove/beach. I'm sure this is great for the people on the boat tour, but as a guest of the hotel, the beach is much quieter and nicer without them. It's not a huge problem, but a bit of a nuisance.

Despite these small issues, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. That said, we did get what I consider to be a reasonable rate on the hotel, which was half the rate we would have had to pay if we visited a few weeks earlier. I think if I had paid 2x as much, I might have expected a bit more, so be sure you set your expectations accordingly.

Room Tip: We had room 107 which had nice privacy (near the end of the hall) and was recently redone. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGNYC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear MGNYC23,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
While I am happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel very much, I am sorry that the Watersport staff hasn't been more present in helping you and giving you advices when you might have needed some. Your review will be shared with them, together with the Bell boys and Beach team, and we will implement corrective measures to make sure service is constantly delivered at the highest level and at all times.
Regarding the Island boats coming to our cove for snorkeling, there is as you said not much we can do as the sea is a public area. Our cove is indeed a beautiful place to snorkel and has the advantage of being very calm when the sea can be rough at other places of the Island. The good thing is that these boats usually stay for a very short time.
Thank you again for your review and I hope we will have the great pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Property: Belmond La Samanna
Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing