We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is located in a excellent beach of St Marteen , in the french part of the island. The hotel is over a rock and the bay is protect by the wind what makes it the right place to travel with kids, practice water sports or even, only rest in a white sand beach with a blue ocean beach. I recommend to stay all day in the beach ordering food from the beach bar and go out some nights direct to the restaurants. The salads are well served and with excellent ingredients. The service form the team has to be improved , specially from the men's team like the reception and the beach service. Sometimes they look happy sometimes they look that are doing the job by obligation. The architecture is clean and lovely, prevalence of white terraces and villas that makes this an magical option for a caribbean vacation. It is our 4th or 5th hotel form Belmond chain and always we can recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCUSCORREIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear MarcusCorreia,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our small paradise. We are very glad to read you had a great time and we have taken good note about your comment regarding beach & reception service; I will ensure that this is followed up. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

amazing service; very nice accomodation minutes from the beach with fabulous private outdoor sitting areas
fabulous polite service- did anything, even anticipating needs, with more than just a smile
rooms was very comfortable, espercially the bed
bathroom ready for little updating- bathtub was small, but overall we were overly satisfied

Room Tip: we loved room with upstairs balcony overlooking beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mom3nom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Mom3nom,
Thank you very much for such a great comment. I am so happy you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a vacation bouncing from St Martin, to St Barths to Anguilla. We spent 3 nights at La Samanna. It is a quick ten minute cab ride from the airport that cost $20. Upon arrival we were greeted with rum punch, while our room was readied we enjoyed the beautiful view from the lobby.

We stayed in in room A20 which was a beachfront suite furthest away from the hotel. The renovated beachfront suites are very nicely done. They have a separate living room and small kitchen with stove top, sink and fridge they were also nice enough to have a blender available at our request. The bathroom is large and very nice. The rainfall showers are very neat, except that the floor does not drain well and the water would spill into the rest of the bathroom. Not a big deal, but one of the few problems to note. Our patio opened right onto the beach, although the beach towards the far end of the resort is a little rocky but still beautiful and useable. The room itself was great, however I would recommend getting one in building F which is the exact same rooms, but which is closer to everything (not too close to be noisy) and has a less rocky beach in front of it. I recommend getting a suite if you can as the regular rooms are much smaller, i think every suite regardless of type is very nice.

As far as amenities: The beach is very nice even with a few rocks here and there, we explored the entire island and in our opinion this is one of the top beaches on the entire island without question. There are two pools, a standard pool near the main restaurant and then an infinity a little further down the beach near the beach shack. This is the one we spent most of our time since it had the best views. It isn't very large, but we didn't find it to get too crowded. It is a very pretty pool, it is gated obviously for liability which is a little bit of an eyesore/inconvenience, but it is still a great pool.
They have a very well equipped gym that I used and all of the equipment was fairly modern. We went to both the beach shack and the upscale restaurant Trellis. At both places be prepared to empty your wallet. A single beer at the beach bar cost $9 and drinks were between $16 and $18. For the 2 of us at dinner our check was north of $200 and we were being somewhat careful, our bottle of evian was $12. I understand that their clientele can afford those prices or none of us would be there, but as a matter of principle it stung a little every time i signed a check. We wound up grabbing bottles of wine and beers when we went in town and enjoyed them on our patio that evening instead of continuing to spend a fortune at the hotel. The food was fantastic at the restaurant and we really enjoyed our meal, but we did note after our trip that the prices were as expensive as anything even at St Barths! Like I titled this review, you get what you pay for. The only other slight negative I could mention was that some of the beach chairs could probably be updated. They aren't in bad shape, but they just aren't as nice as you would expect for a $700+/night type of hotel. Again, it wasn't an issue for us, just something we noticed. It is definitely tough to find many faults with this hotel. The concierge Bennie and the staff were all great and very accommodating definitely great service at the hotel all around.

If I were to go back to St Martin, I would stay at La Samanna again without question. It is well located, the staff are fantastic, it has the best beach of any hotel on the island and its rooms and facilities are top notch. Just be prepared to pay top dollar for everything there. Also use American Express Platinum travel services to book and you will get an automatic upgrade and a complimentary continental breakfast.

Also one big concern for us was renting a car. I read many negative reviews about car rental places in St Martin being very shady and screwing over customers. We used the onsite car rental service which can be arranged through the concierge/front desk in advance. They have a rental car employee on site all day. The car was ready for us when we arrived, the employee noted the tire was low, went to fix it and wound up replacing the car for us. Nothing but great things to say about the rental car service, I highly recommend using them especially after having read such bad reviews of the other places. We rented a jeep for the entire time and it was only around $65/day. You will want a car since there is a lot to go see on the island.

Room Tip: We had A20, good room renovated and well appointed with kitchen, living room and larger bathroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WPresB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear WPresB,
Thank you so very much for this great review. You described La Samanna so well that I don’t know what can be added. I took good note of your comment regarding the long chairs and we are actually in the process of updating them. I looked at the beautiful pictures you took and I thank you for posting them.
I really hope we will have the great pleasure of welcoming back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Came for a business trip and extended for a few days. Grounds overall are nice but there are others I would look into next time. The beach has a steep drop off to get in the water so it's a hike back up the sand to get to your chairs. Beach entry is very rocky. Service and food at the restaurants again were average. Power in our room kept going out. Out final night it went out at 3am with no air and they couldn't fix it so we slept in the room next to us. All to get up by 6 am for our flight. Rooms were ok. We had a deluxe ocean front that had a side peek view of the ocean with a big tree blocking it all. Just enough room to walk around the bed. Would definitely upgrade the room if affordable. As for the island I would highly recommend hiring a taxi to take you for an island tour on both the Dutch and French side. Stop at many towns for shopping and drinks that you would not know otherwise. Best part of the trip! Also short trip to Maho for nightlife and gambling. A Blast! Loved St.martin but would shop around myself for other hotel options, but was a nice stay.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Tnbk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tnbk2009,
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. As you describe the beach condition, you must know that Mother Nature has her cycles and every summer she will remove some of the sand along the beach and let the rocks appear. The phenomenon will reverse in November and the sand will come back to rebuild the beach entirely and cover the rocks for a period of 7 or 8 months (from November to June more or less). La Samanna is a nesting beach with huge sea turtles coming between August and October to place their eggs safely in the sand and there is absolutely nothing we can do to prevent this yearly beach erosion without putting in danger the turtle eggs. I am glad to read you enjoy the night life Saint Martin is so well known for. I hope we will have the pleasure to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The many photographs of the La Samanna and it's beach do it justice - vacationing here was just as we'd have imagined from the pictures and description: luxurious, tranquil, well run. The property is spread out enough for privacy without being too large to walk.

The beach is of a perfect size, and the water activities are well run and easy to arrange. Food and drink are everywhere available, top quality, and priced high. The staff is professional and experienced and courteous without overdoing the warmth - this is a well-run resort business, and the emphasis is on competence and efficiency. I think that's fine and in keeping with the luxurious character of the resort.

The clientele is monied, relatively dressy in the evenings, and groups kept to themselves. Just as you'd expect at a luxury spot.

The common areas and some rooms are renovated and chic - these you can see on La Samanna's website - they're strikingly beautiful. Unrenovated rooms have a distinct mid-90s vibe and show some wear. We were upgraded from a basic room to a beachfront suite with kitchen that was not renovated - room K10. We loved the suite - the ability to cook for ourselves sometimes (there are good grocery stores a 10 minute drive away) - the relaxing patio, sprawling out in the living room. I can imagine that if we'd actually paid for the suite, we'd have been disappointed in its somewhat dated appearance. But as a substantial upgrade - super.

During our stay, we appeared to be the only gay couple, and one of the youngest couples, too. But we felt entirely comfortable both in relation to the staff and with respect to the other guests.

Room Tip: If you're not being upgraded, insist on a renovated room. Rooms near the main building and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Derek A,
Thank you very much for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us. As you mention it, some rooms are still not as renovated as some others. Some of our long time repeat guests only request these less renovated rooms as they reveal a warm Caribbean charm that they have been cherishing for 40 years as some of our guest have been coming since the hotel opened in December 1973. Belmond La Samanna is a Gay Friendly hotel and we have made some appearances in some luxurious gay travel magazine which we are proud of. The property is so well spread out along the beach that the intimacy of each individual is extremely well protected. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The service was impeccable with room cleaning twice a day, never without fresh towels! The plunge pool and cabana on the roof of our sensation suite was amazing with ocean views and privacy. The suite itself had an ocean view balcony and the furniture in the bedroom and living room was all very comfortable. The above head room "rain" shower in the bath area was extraordinary. The resort gardens and walkways were tropical with beautiful flowering indigenous plants including many coconut trees, tropical birds, etc. Wonderful location with several large pools (spectacular deep blue infinity pool), bars, and ocean white sanded beach, crystal clear turquoise ocean front. $$$$$$

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Susan K,
Thank you very much for sharing your description of our small piece of heaven. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel very much and I hope we will have the great pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My family just returned from a relaxing five-night stay at La Samanna. We had 2 ocean front suites one of which had a large terrace (D11). The views were breathtaking and the amenities were top notch! Mersula Williams (front desk manager) recommended the terrace suite upgrade and we were really glad she did. Mersula was great and really went the extra mile to make sure that we were always happy! The suite was beautifully appointed and it had a gorgeous view. The terrace area was huge and the perfect place to enjoy cocktails before and after dinner.

Service from the breakfast staff was excellent (very friendly and accommodating) and the variety of items was pleasing. Cocktails were a bit on the expensive side but the service was impeccable. A Special thank you to Ramel…he set the relaxing tone and great mood for the pool area.

The staff at La Samanna seemed generally happy and always went out of their way for a “good morning or good evening”. I attribute this to the fact that the resort has very little turn over with its staff…most of them have been at La Samanna for well north of 10 years.

We have stayed at other Orient Express properties and La Samanna fits the mold. It can best be described as Expensive, Luxurious, Relaxing and ultimately money well spent!

Room Tip: D11 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aflando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Aflando,
Thank you for this great review. I am so happy to read that my staff took such great care of you. I will personally thank Mersula and Romel for making your stay so enjoyable. As you mentioned it, some of our staff has been working since the hotel opened 40 years ago. Most of them will unfortunately leave us in a month as they have reached retirement time and we will surely miss them very much. The new generation is composed of some of their children, nephews and cousins, so the friendly and familial atmosphere will continue to be La Samanna’s unspoiled treasure. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range: £395 - £734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing