We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!”
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We(grandfather,grandmother, mother,father, college daughter) spent 1 week in July in Villa Sucrier! It was as advertised! We were greeted at the airport by driver with large sprinter van, taken directly to our Villa, where we were met by our concierge, Anchise. He showed us around the Villa then took us on a quick tour of the resort. Having made contact by email before arrival, he had stocked our kitchen & fridge with the necessities - beer, soda, & snacks! Also a beautiful bouquet of tropical flowers & a bottle of champagne with glasses chilled in fridge!
He came by everyday to see what we needed or where we wanted to go. Reservations were no problem at resort or away from the resort. Can't forget our housekeepers, Rose& Fina! Twice a day they came in cleaned, made beds, replaced towels quickly & efficiently. We hardly knew they were there. We wanted to bring them home with us! Everyone, from the chef at the restaurant to the water sports employees, waiters & waitresses were outgoing & friendly! Can't forget the Spa! All 5 of us enjoyed a massage. The trip was simply marvelous! A big Southern Thank You to the staff of La Samanna from The Garris -Davis Family-Macon Georgia

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onedayviditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Onedayviditor,
What a great joy to read your beautiful review. We are so happy you had the best time at the Villas with Anchise. I will share your lovely comments with the entire team and specially with Rose & Fina. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
There are newer reviews for Belmond La Samanna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a very nice resort located about 15 minutes from the airport. We had a room on the ground level near the infinity pool...... I highly recommend the same..... very private yet close to all of the key spots of the resort.... the only complaint we had was the very poor service at the Trellis Restaurant......Be sure to have lunch at the Pool area.... all-in-all a great experience in a beautiful location........

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear David T,
Thank you very much for your review which will be shared with the entire team; We are sorry to read that the service at the restaurant hasn’t been up to your expectations and we will ensure that your comment is conveyed to the team for improvement. We hope to have the great pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I’m not a big fan of St Martin which is generally pretty tacky, unsafe, with snarled traffic (improving with the opening of the bridge in Phillipsburg) but if one is going visit, either because it is one of the few Caribbean islands with a relatively short direct flight from New York or as a stopover connecting to the more civilized St Barth’s then La Samanna is the only place to stay
It is a quick (New York at rush hour quick) cab ride from the airport so when one is Belmond (formerly Orient Express) owned it for a few years and is putting money and management into it.
Turning off the main road onto the long leafy entrance drive down to the beach, one immediately feels a sense of peace. One feels removed from the rest of the island.
La Samanna emanates a feeling of old-world charm.
The staff helps as they were uniformly friendly yet efficient.
The rooms were always big airy and comfortable and they are being updated after 40 years.
Nearly all the rooms are on the picturesque beach (some are in the main house and there are a number of new villas which are not on the beach) and have great views and easy access.
The picture-postcard beach itself is white sand but steeply drops into the rocky sea and I tried swimming only to give up, as I am not into-rock-surfing. The high point was the food and the service. From a great breakfast to good pool snacks (or lunches) and world-class dinners the food is as good as anywhere
The massages are great and the spa and gym are well done.
Only the internet is not up to par and frustratingly slow. If you are looking to disconnect slow internet should be no problem.
Bottom line La Samanna is definitely on my-return-to-soon list

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Venamo,
Thank you so much for this great review. As you mentioned, La Samanna is the perfect place for relaxation and great food. The Internet speed might be a little slower than in other places in the world, however we currently have the best available speed on the Island and we will continue to upgrade the Internet as soon as the provider offers a higher speed. Thanks again for posting on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to you return visit at beautiful Belmond La Samanna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Such an amazing trip and place for my husband's 30th birthday weekend. The staff was always the most accommodating! However the rooms could be renovated a bit but it def was NOT a deal breaker! The room service glasses broke a few times, but the staff was easy to deal with!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anuradha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Anuradha R,
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read about your great stay. Some of our long time repeat guest cherish our vintage rooms and wouldn’t stay in any other room than those; this is the reason we will still keep some of them; however all our beach front suites were renovated recently. Thanks again for your comment and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for another great birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is located in a excellent beach of St Marteen , in the french part of the island. The hotel is over a rock and the bay is protect by the wind what makes it the right place to travel with kids, practice water sports or even, only rest in a white sand beach with a blue ocean beach. I recommend to stay all day in the beach ordering food from the beach bar and go out some nights direct to the restaurants. The salads are well served and with excellent ingredients. The service form the team has to be improved , specially from the men's team like the reception and the beach service. Sometimes they look happy sometimes they look that are doing the job by obligation. The architecture is clean and lovely, prevalence of white terraces and villas that makes this an magical option for a caribbean vacation. It is our 4th or 5th hotel form Belmond chain and always we can recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCUSCORREIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear MarcusCorreia,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our small paradise. We are very glad to read you had a great time and we have taken good note about your comment regarding beach & reception service; I will ensure that this is followed up. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

amazing service; very nice accomodation minutes from the beach with fabulous private outdoor sitting areas
fabulous polite service- did anything, even anticipating needs, with more than just a smile
rooms was very comfortable, espercially the bed
bathroom ready for little updating- bathtub was small, but overall we were overly satisfied

Room Tip: we loved room with upstairs balcony overlooking beach
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mom3nom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Mom3nom,
Thank you very much for such a great comment. I am so happy you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a vacation bouncing from St Martin, to St Barths to Anguilla. We spent 3 nights at La Samanna. It is a quick ten minute cab ride from the airport that cost $20. Upon arrival we were greeted with rum punch, while our room was readied we enjoyed the beautiful view from the lobby.

We stayed in in room A20 which was a beachfront suite furthest away from the hotel. The renovated beachfront suites are very nicely done. They have a separate living room and small kitchen with stove top, sink and fridge they were also nice enough to have a blender available at our request. The bathroom is large and very nice. The rainfall showers are very neat, except that the floor does not drain well and the water would spill into the rest of the bathroom. Not a big deal, but one of the few problems to note. Our patio opened right onto the beach, although the beach towards the far end of the resort is a little rocky but still beautiful and useable. The room itself was great, however I would recommend getting one in building F which is the exact same rooms, but which is closer to everything (not too close to be noisy) and has a less rocky beach in front of it. I recommend getting a suite if you can as the regular rooms are much smaller, i think every suite regardless of type is very nice.

As far as amenities: The beach is very nice even with a few rocks here and there, we explored the entire island and in our opinion this is one of the top beaches on the entire island without question. There are two pools, a standard pool near the main restaurant and then an infinity a little further down the beach near the beach shack. This is the one we spent most of our time since it had the best views. It isn't very large, but we didn't find it to get too crowded. It is a very pretty pool, it is gated obviously for liability which is a little bit of an eyesore/inconvenience, but it is still a great pool.
They have a very well equipped gym that I used and all of the equipment was fairly modern. We went to both the beach shack and the upscale restaurant Trellis. At both places be prepared to empty your wallet. A single beer at the beach bar cost $9 and drinks were between $16 and $18. For the 2 of us at dinner our check was north of $200 and we were being somewhat careful, our bottle of evian was $12. I understand that their clientele can afford those prices or none of us would be there, but as a matter of principle it stung a little every time i signed a check. We wound up grabbing bottles of wine and beers when we went in town and enjoyed them on our patio that evening instead of continuing to spend a fortune at the hotel. The food was fantastic at the restaurant and we really enjoyed our meal, but we did note after our trip that the prices were as expensive as anything even at St Barths! Like I titled this review, you get what you pay for. The only other slight negative I could mention was that some of the beach chairs could probably be updated. They aren't in bad shape, but they just aren't as nice as you would expect for a $700+/night type of hotel. Again, it wasn't an issue for us, just something we noticed. It is definitely tough to find many faults with this hotel. The concierge Bennie and the staff were all great and very accommodating definitely great service at the hotel all around.

If I were to go back to St Martin, I would stay at La Samanna again without question. It is well located, the staff are fantastic, it has the best beach of any hotel on the island and its rooms and facilities are top notch. Just be prepared to pay top dollar for everything there. Also use American Express Platinum travel services to book and you will get an automatic upgrade and a complimentary continental breakfast.

Also one big concern for us was renting a car. I read many negative reviews about car rental places in St Martin being very shady and screwing over customers. We used the onsite car rental service which can be arranged through the concierge/front desk in advance. They have a rental car employee on site all day. The car was ready for us when we arrived, the employee noted the tire was low, went to fix it and wound up replacing the car for us. Nothing but great things to say about the rental car service, I highly recommend using them especially after having read such bad reviews of the other places. We rented a jeep for the entire time and it was only around $65/day. You will want a car since there is a lot to go see on the island.

Room Tip: We had A20, good room renovated and well appointed with kitchen, living room and larger bathroom wit...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WPresB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear WPresB,
Thank you so very much for this great review. You described La Samanna so well that I don’t know what can be added. I took good note of your comment regarding the long chairs and we are actually in the process of updating them. I looked at the beautiful pictures you took and I thank you for posting them.
I really hope we will have the great pleasure of welcoming back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range: £468 - £1,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing