We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but not what we expected”
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent the last 2 days of our St. Maarten vacation here. Our room was fabulous, ocean front 1 bedroom.
We were very disappointed in the food here. We felt it was VERY overpriced ($35pp for standard buffet breakfast of premade eggs, pancakes, meats, pastries, etc..Lunch - $24 hamburger, $17 hotdog, $9 bottled water)
We felt the staff at the beach pool should ask the people in the lounge chairs if they needed any drinks/food. We had to walk to the bar and order drinks. We waited 1 hour for our ribs and hot dog to arrive and once we finally got it, the ribs were not great and the hot dog cold. Really?! The manager quickly took my cold plate and I ordered the bolognese in it's place. I expected it to be phenomenal and it was just ok.
I can't recommend this hotel based on the poor value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank Deanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Deanna R,
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your accommodation but regret to read that you found the breakfast buffet overpriced. The scrambled eggs on the buffet are effectively premade but a side menu is offering other style of eggs cooked to your taste. The prices of our dishes / menus are competitive for St Martin restaurants and private beach scene. We are taking good note of your comment about the pool service and this will be shared with the team for corrective actions. Thank you very much again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I am utmost stunned as to what makes this hotel 5 stars? The ice front suite was nice. That's it. It has nice rooms. When we ate at the restaurant, the food was mediocre. We asked for a high chair for our 1 year old and there was none. My one year old subsequently fell out of the chair and bruised his head.
When we would go to the pool, I wondered if people had taken the day off? Nobody would come to ask if we wanted towels or refreshments. One day we found someone to asked for towels and they were hesitant because it started to sprinkle a light rain, which stopped 3 minutes later. We had better service, for that matter, service at all when we went to Orient Bay. When we did order lunch poolside, it was what I would consider on par with Applebee's or TGI Fridays in the USA. I don't mind paying top dollar for great food, but I find paying high prices for terrible food a simple theft. I've stayed in many 5 stars..Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton's and can't understand how this is 5 star. If you are truly interested in understanding what a five star accommodations look like, the principle manager at this hotel needs to do some research on other 5 star hotels. They should spend a weekend at the Ritz-Carlton in St Thomas or Grand Cayman. The staff could even learn from Frenchman's Reaf (marriot) on St Thomas or the Hyatt in Grand Cayman. Additionally, the hotel is about $300 per night overpriced considering this is a 3 to 4 star hotel, and nowhere near a 5 star. Additionally, beach is rocky and there is a 10 foot cliff of sand that you must climb up on your hands and knees to get off the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
10  Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Brent H,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and we are very sorry to read that the resort hasn't been matching your expectations.
We are glad you liked your suite but regret that you were so disappointed with the food. You can be certain that your review will be shared with the Executive Chef and the Food & Beverage Management team so corrective actions are implemented.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our first trip to St. Martin and La Samanna was our first choice for our stay. We arrived by about 1pm and our room wasn't ready yet. Rudolph provided us with a few complimentary glasses of wine and an upgrade to the ocen view suite with the upstairs terrace. All staff was very helpful and so nice. Our room was fantastic and the rental car was easy to arrange on property. I was a bit surprised by the number of families with multiple children under the age of 7 or 8. I would hesitate to bring such young children to a resort that is really geared towards older kids and definitely adults. Plus many women were topless on the beach even though it is not legal on the island. Not offensive to me personally but quite a surprise to young families.

There are several cats on property that are unobtrusive and generally not afraid of people and quite well behaved. We opted out of the breakfast buffet and meal plan but we tried it once and It was very good. It was the best choice for those that wanted some of everything. The food at the restaurants on property was very good and beach service was great. Beds were fantastic and housekeeping was very accommodating. We felt safe on property (security was top notch) and the view was fantastic!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view suite with the upstairs terrace! All suites have kitchenettes and local groce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Bridget M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a lovely stay. The property is indeed very secure and needs to be as we are welcoming many famous personalities who want full privacy. The cats on the property are all looked after, vaccinated and sterilized. Some of our guests keep on feeding them so they stay close by the restaurant hoping they will get their little treat. As for the children, we do have many of them during the summer holidays, Spring Break, Thanksgiving and Christmas. We hardly have any the rest of the year even though we have an all year long Kids Club which is fantastic. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived late at night, hadn't had dinner yet and planned to just go to bed, wake up early for breakfast. No need! The hotel knew we were arriving late and had a large plater of food waiting for us, free! The room which was a one bedroom suite with roof top terrace was fabulous. It had a gorgeous view, great shower, clean, stylish and large. The service at the hotel was one of the best we have ever experienced. Buffet breakfast which was included in our rate was very good. The beach had been eroded a bit but that often happens most places in the Caribbean at some point, usually they are temporary but you may want to inquire before booking. The sea was calm with a beautiful light blue color. We liked it so much we had hoped to come back in a month but unfortunately we couldn't. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldCoastFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Scott69,
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you had an excellent stay at our beautiful resort. As you mentioned, we are effectively losing some sand on the beach during the summer but the sand will be back in November, recreating a large and flat beach. The beach erosion is a yearly natural phenomenon that allows the sand to be perfectly cleaned as it is recycled twice a year. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We(grandfather,grandmother, mother,father, college daughter) spent 1 week in July in Villa Sucrier! It was as advertised! We were greeted at the airport by driver with large sprinter van, taken directly to our Villa, where we were met by our concierge, Anchise. He showed us around the Villa then took us on a quick tour of the resort. Having made contact by email before arrival, he had stocked our kitchen & fridge with the necessities - beer, soda, & snacks! Also a beautiful bouquet of tropical flowers & a bottle of champagne with glasses chilled in fridge!
He came by everyday to see what we needed or where we wanted to go. Reservations were no problem at resort or away from the resort. Can't forget our housekeepers, Rose& Fina! Twice a day they came in cleaned, made beds, replaced towels quickly & efficiently. We hardly knew they were there. We wanted to bring them home with us! Everyone, from the chef at the restaurant to the water sports employees, waiters & waitresses were outgoing & friendly! Can't forget the Spa! All 5 of us enjoyed a massage. The trip was simply marvelous! A big Southern Thank You to the staff of La Samanna from The Garris -Davis Family-Macon Georgia

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onedayviditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Onedayviditor,
What a great joy to read your beautiful review. We are so happy you had the best time at the Villas with Anchise. I will share your lovely comments with the entire team and specially with Rose & Fina. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a very nice resort located about 15 minutes from the airport. We had a room on the ground level near the infinity pool...... I highly recommend the same..... very private yet close to all of the key spots of the resort.... the only complaint we had was the very poor service at the Trellis Restaurant......Be sure to have lunch at the Pool area.... all-in-all a great experience in a beautiful location........

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear David T,
Thank you very much for your review which will be shared with the entire team; We are sorry to read that the service at the restaurant hasn’t been up to your expectations and we will ensure that your comment is conveyed to the team for improvement. We hope to have the great pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I’m not a big fan of St Martin which is generally pretty tacky, unsafe, with snarled traffic (improving with the opening of the bridge in Phillipsburg) but if one is going visit, either because it is one of the few Caribbean islands with a relatively short direct flight from New York or as a stopover connecting to the more civilized St Barth’s then La Samanna is the only place to stay
It is a quick (New York at rush hour quick) cab ride from the airport so when one is Belmond (formerly Orient Express) owned it for a few years and is putting money and management into it.
Turning off the main road onto the long leafy entrance drive down to the beach, one immediately feels a sense of peace. One feels removed from the rest of the island.
La Samanna emanates a feeling of old-world charm.
The staff helps as they were uniformly friendly yet efficient.
The rooms were always big airy and comfortable and they are being updated after 40 years.
Nearly all the rooms are on the picturesque beach (some are in the main house and there are a number of new villas which are not on the beach) and have great views and easy access.
The picture-postcard beach itself is white sand but steeply drops into the rocky sea and I tried swimming only to give up, as I am not into-rock-surfing. The high point was the food and the service. From a great breakfast to good pool snacks (or lunches) and world-class dinners the food is as good as anywhere
The massages are great and the spa and gym are well done.
Only the internet is not up to par and frustratingly slow. If you are looking to disconnect slow internet should be no problem.
Bottom line La Samanna is definitely on my-return-to-soon list

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Venamo,
Thank you so much for this great review. As you mentioned, La Samanna is the perfect place for relaxation and great food. The Internet speed might be a little slower than in other places in the world, however we currently have the best available speed on the Island and we will continue to upgrade the Internet as soon as the provider offers a higher speed. Thanks again for posting on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to you return visit at beautiful Belmond La Samanna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range: £473 - £1,222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing