We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but could use some TLC”
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the La Samanna during our honeymoon last August. It was a beautiful property. Lobby and entrance was fairly new and gorgeous. Our room was ocean front and just steps away from the beach (white sand and gorgeous water), which was very convenient. Very friendly staff and the grounds were well care for. Saw a few macaws which were beautiful. The infinity pool however was a bit outdated but maybe not so fair since we stayed at the viceroy in Anguilla days prior to this stay where everything was new and luxurious. Nice hotel but not quite a 5 star property to me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mike4281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Mike4281,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent honeymoon stay with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed our resort and would like to wish you again a long and happy life together. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for one of your many wedding anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

La Samanna is a lovely place with excellent service from a carribean perspective. However, being priced to perfection, when the service or room quality disappoints, it can really sting.


Room Quality: we booked an ocean view suite under the "suite sensations" offer and ended up changing rooms. Both rooms were well appointed. Our first suite had sliding doors with slats that separated the living and bedroom area similar to a junior suite in many hotels, with no noise insulation from one room to another. The room was large, however, and as indicated on the accomodation section of the website had a large updated bathroom with a separate shower and bath.

When we asked for a room with a real door separating the living room and bedroom we were first told there were none, and that if we wanted a door that closes we'd need to upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite at close to twice our room rate. Ultimately the hotel accommodated us and moved us to another 1 bedroom ocean view suite with a separate door (then why did they tell us there were none?) .

The second suite was nicely decorated with a lovely terrace overlooking the ocean. i would note however that the second suite was approx 45 square meters (versus the 70-75 meters of the first room indicated on the website for an ocean view suite). Additionally the second suite had a compact bathroom with a combined bath shower that was difficult to access (versus the promised separate shower as per the website). Also drawers were scarce with two small drawers in the bedroom and one in the bathroom (we used the nightstand drawers for clothes as well). For purposes of truth in advertising (and to avoid disappointment) Belmond would best be served by changing the website language to indicate a range of sizes and bathroom quality for any given room category.

Service: everyone tries very hard and there is genuine warmth. Service is very attentive. However, the policies upon which the staff is acting are muddled (this may be due to 10 or 15 different managers who have managed the hotel in the last 25 years). A few examples: first I was told by the concierge via email that the only breakfast available was a $35 buffet (excluding tip and tax), and if we just wanted a la carte coffee and yogurt we'd have to order room service and could not eat in the dining area. Management reinforced this upon check-in. For a family of three to spend $120 on yogurt and cereal is ridiculous. Like most of the families we met, we prefer to go to breakfast. Also like the other families we met, we dont' want to feel "had". When we arrived at breakfast the first day maitre d at breakfast indicated there is a small menu where one could order eggs, wafflles, or pancakes for $16. Get your act together folks and have the right information available (it would also help to have an a la carte breakfast menu).

Additionally outside our room on the beach in the middle of our stay a couple started to use a boom box blasting Van Morrison all day and rendering our terrace (and the part of the beach where we usually parked ourselves) un-usable. when i called and complained i was told that hotel policy permitted this. when i called the manager she said they'd be asked to turn it down. when they weren't asked to turn it down, i complained at the front desk and the concierge said boom boxes are permitted. subsequently the senior concierge said music must be on quietly enough so that the person at the next umbrella can't hear. We were very surprised (as were the other neighbors who were quite upset about the noise) that La Samanna would permit this, but at any rate the hotel needs a clear policy.

Location: as of this writing part of this lovely beach has floated away and there is a steep 45 degree incline that separates the water from the beach....its not a gentle place to bring your baby or toddler to play...but still a nice beach. Management indicated the beach will correct itself by November...and we saw the far part of the beach start to look better toward the end of our stay.

Value: the week before we came we stayed at a Relais and Chateau hotel. Very expensive but unbelieveable service. La Samanna room rates decline during the summer but all other prices (eg food and services ) remain the same. So a diet coke at the beach is $7 plus a $1 tip, ie $8. Additioanally we were given two or three regular coffee pods for the coffee maker in our room for our 1 week stay. Each additional coffee pod is $4.00. I have never been charged before for the use of an in-room coffee maker. At the very least the hotel should not deviate from standard US guest policy (free coffee in room) as it services primarily a US customer base. Finally an extra cot in the room for a child cost $75 per night (free at the Relais and chateau resort and a max of $25 per night in other fine hotels). The pricing of these types of items is excessive, so the value component is weak. Despite the capable wallets of most of the guests, no one wants to feel like a sucker. So we consider the value proposition to be weak.














Reply, Reply All or Forward | More

Room Tip: Avoid buildings with views obscured by the beach club. The eastern half of the H series is nice, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank WeloveCarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear WeloveCarib,
Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay with us at la Samanna. I am happy to read that the reservation department was able to free a suite with a connecting door, even though there was none available when you checked in, so you could have more privacy while travelling with your teenager girl. The price of the extra bed for children is indeed $75 per night when the child is over 12 years old. The extra bed or crib is complimentary for younger children. All buildings at La Samanna are not the same so we can offer a selection of different layouts and the square footage varies slightly from a room to another within the same category. I have taken good note of your suggestions and this will be discussed with the team. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent the last 2 days of our St. Maarten vacation here. Our room was fabulous, ocean front 1 bedroom.
We were very disappointed in the food here. We felt it was VERY overpriced ($35pp for standard buffet breakfast of premade eggs, pancakes, meats, pastries, etc..Lunch - $24 hamburger, $17 hotdog, $9 bottled water)
We felt the staff at the beach pool should ask the people in the lounge chairs if they needed any drinks/food. We had to walk to the bar and order drinks. We waited 1 hour for our ribs and hot dog to arrive and once we finally got it, the ribs were not great and the hot dog cold. Really?! The manager quickly took my cold plate and I ordered the bolognese in it's place. I expected it to be phenomenal and it was just ok.
I can't recommend this hotel based on the poor value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank Deanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Deanna R,
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your accommodation but regret to read that you found the breakfast buffet overpriced. The scrambled eggs on the buffet are effectively premade but a side menu is offering other style of eggs cooked to your taste. The prices of our dishes / menus are competitive for St Martin restaurants and private beach scene. We are taking good note of your comment about the pool service and this will be shared with the team for corrective actions. Thank you very much again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I am utmost stunned as to what makes this hotel 5 stars? The ice front suite was nice. That's it. It has nice rooms. When we ate at the restaurant, the food was mediocre. We asked for a high chair for our 1 year old and there was none. My one year old subsequently fell out of the chair and bruised his head.
When we would go to the pool, I wondered if people had taken the day off? Nobody would come to ask if we wanted towels or refreshments. One day we found someone to asked for towels and they were hesitant because it started to sprinkle a light rain, which stopped 3 minutes later. We had better service, for that matter, service at all when we went to Orient Bay. When we did order lunch poolside, it was what I would consider on par with Applebee's or TGI Fridays in the USA. I don't mind paying top dollar for great food, but I find paying high prices for terrible food a simple theft. I've stayed in many 5 stars..Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton's and can't understand how this is 5 star. If you are truly interested in understanding what a five star accommodations look like, the principle manager at this hotel needs to do some research on other 5 star hotels. They should spend a weekend at the Ritz-Carlton in St Thomas or Grand Cayman. The staff could even learn from Frenchman's Reaf (marriot) on St Thomas or the Hyatt in Grand Cayman. Additionally, the hotel is about $300 per night overpriced considering this is a 3 to 4 star hotel, and nowhere near a 5 star. Additionally, beach is rocky and there is a 10 foot cliff of sand that you must climb up on your hands and knees to get off the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
10  Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Brent H,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and we are very sorry to read that the resort hasn't been matching your expectations.
We are glad you liked your suite but regret that you were so disappointed with the food. You can be certain that your review will be shared with the Executive Chef and the Food & Beverage Management team so corrective actions are implemented.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our first trip to St. Martin and La Samanna was our first choice for our stay. We arrived by about 1pm and our room wasn't ready yet. Rudolph provided us with a few complimentary glasses of wine and an upgrade to the ocen view suite with the upstairs terrace. All staff was very helpful and so nice. Our room was fantastic and the rental car was easy to arrange on property. I was a bit surprised by the number of families with multiple children under the age of 7 or 8. I would hesitate to bring such young children to a resort that is really geared towards older kids and definitely adults. Plus many women were topless on the beach even though it is not legal on the island. Not offensive to me personally but quite a surprise to young families.

There are several cats on property that are unobtrusive and generally not afraid of people and quite well behaved. We opted out of the breakfast buffet and meal plan but we tried it once and It was very good. It was the best choice for those that wanted some of everything. The food at the restaurants on property was very good and beach service was great. Beds were fantastic and housekeeping was very accommodating. We felt safe on property (security was top notch) and the view was fantastic!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view suite with the upstairs terrace! All suites have kitchenettes and local groce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Bridget M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a lovely stay. The property is indeed very secure and needs to be as we are welcoming many famous personalities who want full privacy. The cats on the property are all looked after, vaccinated and sterilized. Some of our guests keep on feeding them so they stay close by the restaurant hoping they will get their little treat. As for the children, we do have many of them during the summer holidays, Spring Break, Thanksgiving and Christmas. We hardly have any the rest of the year even though we have an all year long Kids Club which is fantastic. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived late at night, hadn't had dinner yet and planned to just go to bed, wake up early for breakfast. No need! The hotel knew we were arriving late and had a large plater of food waiting for us, free! The room which was a one bedroom suite with roof top terrace was fabulous. It had a gorgeous view, great shower, clean, stylish and large. The service at the hotel was one of the best we have ever experienced. Buffet breakfast which was included in our rate was very good. The beach had been eroded a bit but that often happens most places in the Caribbean at some point, usually they are temporary but you may want to inquire before booking. The sea was calm with a beautiful light blue color. We liked it so much we had hoped to come back in a month but unfortunately we couldn't. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldCoastFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Scott69,
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you had an excellent stay at our beautiful resort. As you mentioned, we are effectively losing some sand on the beach during the summer but the sand will be back in November, recreating a large and flat beach. The beach erosion is a yearly natural phenomenon that allows the sand to be perfectly cleaned as it is recycled twice a year. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We(grandfather,grandmother, mother,father, college daughter) spent 1 week in July in Villa Sucrier! It was as advertised! We were greeted at the airport by driver with large sprinter van, taken directly to our Villa, where we were met by our concierge, Anchise. He showed us around the Villa then took us on a quick tour of the resort. Having made contact by email before arrival, he had stocked our kitchen & fridge with the necessities - beer, soda, & snacks! Also a beautiful bouquet of tropical flowers & a bottle of champagne with glasses chilled in fridge!
He came by everyday to see what we needed or where we wanted to go. Reservations were no problem at resort or away from the resort. Can't forget our housekeepers, Rose& Fina! Twice a day they came in cleaned, made beds, replaced towels quickly & efficiently. We hardly knew they were there. We wanted to bring them home with us! Everyone, from the chef at the restaurant to the water sports employees, waiters & waitresses were outgoing & friendly! Can't forget the Spa! All 5 of us enjoyed a massage. The trip was simply marvelous! A big Southern Thank You to the staff of La Samanna from The Garris -Davis Family-Macon Georgia

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onedayviditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Onedayviditor,
What a great joy to read your beautiful review. We are so happy you had the best time at the Villas with Anchise. I will share your lovely comments with the entire team and specially with Rose & Fina. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range: £395 - £752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing