We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great island...good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond La Samanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond La Samanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great island...good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2006

La Samanna is a very spread out hotel. It is exceptionally pricey, and, at least in the summer, the beach washes away, leaving you with a cliff to get down, in order to get in the water.

The rooms are beautiful, but since it is villa style, they are VERY far from everything. The spa is nice, but very pricey. No steam room, no hot tub...just some massage therapists, who, frankly, watch the clock VERY closely.

The breakfast buffet is nice. Never ate dinner there, but $19 for a hamburger seems pathetic.

We LOVE St. Maarten (especially the French side), but would think twice about a repeat visit to La Samanna.

Helpful?
16 Thank Bondman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    206
    103
    59
    45
See reviews for
166
641
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2006

My husband and I stayed at La Samanna for the first 4 nights of our 10 night honeymoon (the rest was spent in Anguilla). In the end we both wished that we had spent more of our nights at La Samanna.
The beach was absolutely beautiful. The water was perfect, clear, and refreshing. The beach has a very private feel and you feel like you are the only ones on it.
Though we did not swim in it, the pool and surrounding area was gorgeous and felt tropical and luxurious.
We found the service to be spectacular. Concierge was friendly and extremely helpful in coordinating whatever you need. Listen to her for restaurant suggestions. We did not, but wished we had. We arrived late in the evening, were offered punch, and were happy to find that we had been upgraded from the most basic room they had to an oceanfront one bedroom suite with a patio about 30 feet from the ocean. We had fresh fruit in our room when we arrived and a complementary bottle of flavored rum was left for us one morning. The view out our patio door was amazing.
The beach bar was right next door. It is pricey, but not overly, and the drinks are great! Pina Coladas made with freshly cut pineapple! Where else do you find that?
My favorite part of our stay was breakfast every morning in the main house. The view is unbeatable and the breakfast buffet was really good. I have never been in a more relaxing setting than sitting there over breakfast, drinking coffee, and looking out over the blue blue ocean.
La Samanna has a kind of quiet class. The employees were just the right amount of friendly. They were kind but didn't chat you to death, which is what I prefer.
We ate a wonderful meal in the restaurant at La Samanna. The food was great, and, again, the service was excellent.
We rented a car and spent part of two of our days seeing the island which was defnitely worth it. St. Martin is a fun place to drive through and explore. Definitely check out the marina in Marigot. There are some great restaurants and shops.
Overall, I don't have a single complaint about La Samanna. I loved it. I was a little worried by some of the reviews I had read, and was so pleasantly surprised with our experience. Don't believe them.
We will definitely be back to La Samanna as soon as possible! Hopefully for our first anniversary.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kiimm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2006

We booked a romantic getaway in July. stayed in a one bedroom suite which was beautiful, spacious and recently renovated. we did not care for the style of living room furniture but understand that it is a matter of individual taste. Loved the beautiful & spacious bathrooms with "rain shower" where you stand in an open space and get drenched in "rain" from the large showerhead.
As mentioned by others, the staff is courteus and attentive as they should be at an establishment like this. The restaurant is one of the best on the Island. We thought the beach, though pretty, was a bit too quite for us and spent most of our beach time at the Orient beach.
Highly recommend room service breakfast on the terrace, at least once. Massage at the spa was the best we have ever had. Don't miss it.
St. Martin has an abundance of excellent restaurants and some great beaches, so do rent a SMALL car and explore as many of them as possible.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at LS. The only negative is the cost. As pointed out in earlier posts, everything at LS is ridiculously overpriced. We expected it so did not mind it. But, in the end, is the resort really worth the money? we are not sure.

  • Liked — suite, staff, massage
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank msiqbalmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2006

This place was amazing. We spent 3 days in Dominica, and did alot of hiking in the mountains and rainforests. We then flew to Saint Martin to enjoy the beach.

When we arrived, ( July 23rd) we were greeted by an EXTREMELY friendly staff. We were provided with drinks and towels to clean up with. The staff knew that it was our 5 yr anniversary, and upgraded our room with champagne waiting on ice!

Every detail was taken care of. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, with bacon, eggs, muesli, european cold cuts, and exotic fruits.

The beach was quiet, private, and beautiful. The concierge staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. the maids cleaned the rooms twice daily. Bottled water was provided free of charge every evening, and on the beach.

I cant' say enough nice things about this place. I have stayed at many decent hotels, including Ritz Caltons, Hyatt's, and luxury boutique hotels, etc. This hotel is up there with the best of them!

The only negative thing was sharing the place with some snobby guests, but that's defiinitely not the hotel's fault!

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — snobby guests, but everything was great at the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — try the losbter cook-out on friday evenings!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank fsingh2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2006

I definitely had my worries after reading some of the reviews. But every fear I had has disappeared. My wife and I just returned from a week long honeymoon at La Samanna and it was fantastic. The staff was the friendliest that I have encountered. (especially Bernard !) We felt like royalty as we were greeted with cold hand towels and drinks upon arrival. We had the standard Oceanview room which was not large but it really didn't matter as we spent the majority of our time on the beach which was to say the least - perfection. We were there mid July and we felt as though we had the entire beach to ourselves most of the time! The softest sand and clearest warm water, as we adjusted to "island time" we soon put away our watches and cell phones and truly enjoyed every second.
A couple of recommendations..RENT A VEHICLE !!! There is a rental agent at the hotel, the smaller the better as parking in Phillipsburg and Marigot can be a bit tough..We rented a convertable Jeep Wrangler which was perfect. The shopping in both capitals cannot be missed.
Secondly, use the bug repellent (which will be provided in your room) the bug bites were the one sovenier that I wish I hadn't brought back with me!
Thirdly, take advantage of the free continental breakfast and have it delivered as room service. As I was expecting the usual bagel and orange juice continental breakfast that most hotels provide..La Samanna brings a huge fruit plate with the freshest tropical fruits, a pastry basket with Chocolate Croissant's, Cinnamon toast, raison rolls, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, coffee, orange juice, tea...They set everything up at the table on your terrace overlooking the ocean. It is the perfect way to start off the morning ! We will definitely return !!!!!

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — the bugs
  • Tips/Secrets — Order the free continental brakfast as room service
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank JGE520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2006

We stayed at LS at middle July/2006 and became nicely surprised about the untruth of the negative reviews we had read about LA Samanna.

This is one of the best resorts we have ever known. The rooms are comfortable, well decorated and clean; the staff is extremely kindly and the place is simply fantastic. The beach is indescribable. The water is clear of an intense blue and green; the sand is white and soft and is very calm too. They served complimentary fruits and ice-cream at the beach.

The food at the hotel’s restaurant is excellent and the service very good. But, the best of all, is the uncomparable view from the restaurant. It is amazing.

With certainty we will return to that paradise in the earth. Believe us: we already had opportunity of accommodate ourselves in excellent hotels around the world and La Samanna is among the best we knew. Forget the negative comments. We sure recommend a visit to La Samanna.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Wprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2006

My husband and I recently enjoyed a wonderful vacation at La Samanna in mid June. We only had a few days to get away, and even though we only spent four nights at La Samanna, the beauty and serenity of the resort made us feel as though we had been away for much longer. Similar to others, we had initial misgivings after booking the vacation because of negative reviews we had read regarding the resort. We can honestly say we did not encounter anything negative at all.

The room was beautiful, comfortable, and clean, the beach was exquisite - beautiful sloping white sands plunging into the jewel toned sea, the staff was kind and knowledgable, and the fitness center and tennis courts, which we used every day, were perfect.

We consider ourselves discerning travelers, who have had the privilege to stay at many fine resorts throughout Europe, Asia, the U.S., including Hawaii, and the Caribbean, such as The Four Seasons and Cap Juluca, and La Samanna ranks very highly on our list. It is the perfect brief getaway from New York City, and St. Martin has some of the finest French food we have experienced, surpassed even by some of the cuisine we have experienced in Manhattan. Among St. Martin's most charming and delicious were La Cigale and Le Chanteclair. We will definitely be back. We do note that early to mid June was ideal, but much later, and it probably would have been too hot to properly enjoy oneself.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terres Basses
8.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
7.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
8.2 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Property: Belmond La Samanna
Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 86200, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, Belmond La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 recently renovated 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. Gourmet dishes are served in the elegant Trellis, and Baie Longue Bar offers pool-side dining and views of Baie Long Beach. Dine on your private terrace and later enjoy a drink from the wine cellar. Belmond La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Belmond, West Indies, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith and Ebookers so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing