We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing for more than one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sea View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ang Thong
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed there for one night to catch our Ferry the next day. We booked a deluxe family room, but the room was dirty and we had a pipe burst in the bathroom. the stuff was friendly and we got a new room immediately - but it wasn´t any cleaner than the room we had before. I wouldn´t stay there for more than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katharina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

Nice place with friendly, helpful staff. Near the pier for further travel with boat to mainland andthe islands nearby. Quiet room even when it was locacted to the street. Good food (only had breakfast) and a nice small pool. Place is just at the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The hotel has the following Pros and Cons -

Pros:
1) Centrally located and very close to the Pier
2) Comfortable rooms with good bathroom
3) The hotel has nice restaurant which serves descent breakfast in the morning
4) The hotel also has a small sea beach which is not private but is not used by public in general

Cons:
1) Staffs does not understand English well
2) The hot shower in the washroom does not work

Room Tip: Take a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satty2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This hotel is situated in the town of Nathon, 600m walk from the ferry terminal along the waterfront. We stayed here because we had a kayak trip to the national park the next day starting early. The rooms we Ok, clean, AC worked, wifi was patchy but worked in our room (we were on 3rd floor). Staff were helpful. Nathon is not a tourist town (is government centre) so don't expect anything touristy. Beach in front of hotel was deserted and awesome. Restaurant on corner (Sunset) was great as was the one opposite overlooking the bay. Taxi to airport cost 500 baht (much dearer than Bangkok and agree price before getting in). Sangthong (local taxi) cost 60 baht to Boh Phut, but doesn't go to airport. We give this a very good rating as the beach in front was fantasic, the hotel manager was super helpful and it was close to all the things we needed. This is not a 4 star hotel, but we will stay here again if we come back

Room Tip: Take a local taxi during the day (hop on and off) and ask a local what you should pay. If you ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjdmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here for a few nights while visiting the government hospital of Koh Samui as part of our placements.

The lovely gentleman who runs the hotel was very friendly and polite, helping us with whatever we needed and answering all our questions. He even helped us to rent a motorbike, getting us a good price and having it delivered straight to the hotel within 20mins.

The hotel itself was fairly quiet (I don't think July is high season thought) which suited us because it meant it was very relaxing. The pool is just gorgeous!! surrounded by palm trees and complete with pool towels available at the pool side. It looks out over the sea shore which is stunning. really gorgeous location, and central to everything you could need in nathong.

We were sad to leave the hotel! Would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We used the Grand Sea View Hotel for the beach area only as a day trip off a cruise ship. Cost of taxis to the 'main' beach were quote $50US. Yes, the cruise ship was in town. We walked from the pier to the hotel. Grounds were very clean. As long as we were ordering food and drinks, the beach chair was free. The beach was ok, swimming was a bit of a walk to deeper waters, but, we still enjoyed the stay. Washrooms and change room was clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in Ang Thong because we arrived to Koh Samui late in the evening and there were no ferries to Koh Phangan where we were heading. We thought it would be nice to have one night in Samui - oh, we were at a really wrong place.
After 1 hour of searching for a hotel in this area and having one really awful experience at some other hotel (huge cockroach in the bathroom), we found this hotel in Lonely planet guide stating that this is probably the best you can get. We were exhausted, disappointed by the city - there is really nothing to do and even restaurants are closed around 10 pm so we went to this hotel.
The guy at the reception showed us some rooms - some of them weren't very clean so we ended up in the "best one" with a so called "city view" - which was a really unattractive, dirty backyard. The guy spoke very bad English and everytime he didnt understand he said "yes" which made it even worse.
The room was dated, not dirty but we didnt feel comfortable not even to have a shower in the bath tub.
The wifi was only in the lobby so we went there as we needed to connect ot the internet and the two guys from the staff were laying there on a sofa for guests watching TV. One of them even stood up once, spitted on the floor and went out for a cigarette. I have never seen an attitude like that. To top if of, the wifi didnt work.
I would not reccomend ths hotel or this city and I guess you can do so much better anywhere else but if you for some reason need to spend a night in Ang Thong, you can do this hotel for one night but it will not be a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Li L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ang Thong
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
2.3 mi away
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
8.8 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#18 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mai Samui Resort & Spa
Mai Samui Resort & Spa
#2 of 9 in Ang Thong
1,451 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
458 reviews
8.2 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea View Hotel

Address: 175/4 Moo 3, Ang Thong, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range: £19 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sea View Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing