We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mai Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ang Thong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had the most amazing stay here. The resort is gorgeous, right on the beach and very well looked after. It looks just like the pictures!
The staff were very friendly and intent on making our stay memorable and care free. Everyone greeted us warmly, especially the assistant FO manager, Ketkanok. Her smile makes you feel at home instantly and there is nothing she won't do to help out. While there another guest left their phone in the back of a taxi and she managed to track it down and have it returned, she also noticed that my boyfriend had been bitten by mosquitoes on his feet (highly recommend using insect repellant during the nights) and she gave him ointment to help soothe them.
The food was delicious with of course the thai food being their speciality, and they have either a special or theme most nights to keep things interesting.
As the resort is not in the busy side of town, it is so peaceful and quiet, this is not a party resort at all. We were there the last weekend of November and because that's the end of wet season, the resort is also quite empty.
We took the shuttle into Chaweng, but found that area to be very busy and a little too "in your face" so we much preferred Nathon Town which was about a 5 minute drive from the hotel.
Highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here again. The whole time we felt like we were in another world, like time had stopped. It was the best holiday I've had in a long time.

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room on the second floor which had a great view of the whole resort. The oil acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Mai Samui was more than what I expected in a resort. I purchased a 10-night stay deal through scoopon and it was fantastic! The resort looked exactly what it did on the internet and so it didn't disappoint me at all. The rooms, restaurants and all available facilities such as the gym and internet room were very clean and it had great attention to detail. The resort had everything and the staff was very friendly. They catered to our every need, they even let us watch an international boxing fight in one of their restaurants that was closed at the time and use their resort facilities even after we checked out! I do agree that this resort is located in the quieter side of Samui, however, if you are looking for a place to relax, you must visit Mai Samui! The spa facilities there are also amazing! I highly recommend this resort and I will definitely come back with my partner again! =D

Room Tip: I stayed at the deluxe room that did not have pool access, however my room had fantastic views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I have to say I was WOWed when we arrived in the hotel. Such a nice place with massive pool, great beach overlooking the gulf. Really hoped that it wasn't that wet when we stayed there. But we had time to do a bit of kayaking on our last day of our stay. We booked the room with access to the pool. It was awesome!!!
Something that missing was the food. We were disappointed with the breakfast which I expected would be a mind blowing quality too. As the location is abut isolated, we thought we would just enjoy the food there and didn't have to go out.
Didn't seem to see any management staff except the lovely Susie the GR manager who has bubbly personality whom always entertained us with her smile. Thank you for the sweet note you wrote us Suzie. You're the best!!! Keep up your good work!


Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FransiscaNJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday in Thailand and spent the last half of it at Mai Samui. As 2 families travelling with 5 kids between us, we found that our time at the resort was so enjoyable we didn't even end up doing most of the sightseeing ideas we had for Koh Samui! Between the beach, the pools, the beautiful rooms, the restaurants and absolutely amazing staff we just relaxed and enjoyed ourselves and only left the resort a few times to do a bit of shopping in the city (about 1/2 hour ride on the free shuttle bus - leaves 3x per day). So many great memories - but one of my favourites is the Lantern Festival where the staff entertained us with traditional food, music and dance and then took us down to the beach to release our candlelit lanterns on the water...magic! Another one is our 3 year old chilling out while having a massage under a little straw gazebo by the beach...

Room Tip: The back of the resort seems to be much quieter,although you have to walk to the beach (only 100m or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you don't love Mai Samui you are a very sad person. Everything about it is fabulous except the cost which is quite moderate for a resort of this standard. It is on the quiet side of the island so it is away from the touristy glitz and hippy trail that characterises many Asian beach resort towns, and you are close to real Thais as opposed to other tourists. The staff are really helpful and friendly. All Thais are of course, but these guys are even better at it. The food is fine, especially breakfast, and PJs and Beryl Bar (see separate reviews) are just a short walk away for the gourmets. Being on the quiet side you need a scooter, car or cabs sometimes - there is a free shuttle to Chewang - and some people say the cabs costly but they really aren't compared to any western city. We are surprised Suzi the Guest Relations Officer is still there though, everybody wants to take her and her husky voice home with them. If you want the best of resorts in an authentic Thai setting you won't do better than Mai Samui..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrouchoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We brought a scoop on and stayed at the Mai resort for 5 nights. Yes it's away from the night life and it can get costly in taxis after awhile but its worth it. The resort is off the road so its very peaceful and its huge. The pool goes forever and overlooks the Thailand gulf which makes a fantastic back drop for a cocktail or 3. The cocktails are fantastical. The captain as we called him or as he is better know as "boy" is a master at them and they all taste great and happy hour.... Try happy 6 hours. There's always a different promotional food night if you feel like staying in for dinner and the breakfast is fantastic and any kind of coffee u want. The massages are great and extremely relaxing some of the best I've had on the island. Stay here u will love it.

Room Tip: We had a pool access room. Definitely upgrade to it as it adds a bit more luxury to your stay and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places we have stayed. We stayed here for our honeymoon. The pool is fantastic, we stayed in a pool access room which meant we had a balcony and could jump into the pool and swim or walk to the pool bar. The resort staff are fantastic, could not do more for us. Hello Susie (the lady who looks after u if u have any problems, ours was that we had to leave).

The restaurants are wonderful and happy hour is 1 to 6pm every day ($5 cocktails). Bathrooms are beautiful with a bath you can both lie down in, open the windows, and just relax.

Breakfast is great, you can snorkel in the ocean. Free bus to Chaweng every day. We had a ball and will definitely go back.

The resort is about 4kms from Nathon so it is a bit out of the way but get a bike or hire a car, we did both and really enjoyed staying out of the busier areas of Koh Samui and now wished we would have stayed longer.

This is a fantastic place to stay. Can't fault the place.

Room Tip: B101 was our room but up to B104 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg_and_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ang Thong
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
0.2 mi away
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
10.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,661 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
1.3 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 2/6 Moo 5, Laem Yai Beach, Ang Thong, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Ang Thong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ang Thong
Price Range: £68 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Samui Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Mai Samui Resort And Spa
Mai Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing