We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mai Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Code(Mae Nam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,498)
Filter reviews
1,499 results
Traveller rating
963
364
118
34
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
364
118
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roomswim up barzar zarmai pubsand poolchewang beachdeluxe roomthe fine dining restaurantthai cooking classhappy hourmountain bikesscoopon dealour honeymoonluxury escapes packagehuge bathmain poolshuttle bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 1,499 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a brilliant holiday at Mai Samui, resort had amazing pool. Service high standard, the place is a quiet area remote part of the island. But much easier to get out from the hotel by shuttle bus or bike at the front desk
Staffs are attentive, friendly at restaurant, reception housekeeping much busy, they got a smile are feeling extra service to make you enjoyed stay
Thai food fantastic, dinner buffet on the beach “WOW” amazing sun set, drop the rocky beach
Thank you, Mai samui, so kind and welcoming, I will come back soon…..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Stephen F,

Thank you for staying with us recently for your vacation. I am delighted to learn that you have a good memory with us and we also looking forward to welcome you back here again soon.

With warm regards,

Mr. Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Checked in early this month and my comment below;

Room is spacious and beautiful and the amenities is good. I like the small token when they came every night to give you the cookies.
Pool is too huge but if there is no people. Then it was wastage and the beach was big no no.
Checked in and out was taking too long and not smooth process. Why only 1 reception table if they can fit more.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view, ask for a room at Block A & C but if you need the peace, ask a room from the another block.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Jey H,

Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your comment which was valuable for me and my team

Me and my team are looking forward to welcome you back again for your next holiday.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

PROS. The bedroom was very nice - we were on the 3rd floor. It is modern and has all the facilities you need, including fast internet, smart tv, etc. Comfortable balcony. The pools are great. Lots of connecting pools. It looks like that the whole resort is set in a pool! Staff is very nice and friendly.
CONS. The resort is on a narrow strip of land with a small beach front. All rooms are facing each other, so no views (except the people on their balcony).The Buffet Breakfast has plenty choice, but it is quantity, not quality (dreadful cheap sausages, ham, etc). The location of the breakfast restaurant is at the back, between 4 walls. Not a very inspiring place to have your first meal of the day. Generally speaking, service is hit and miss. I waited 20 minutes to be served a beer at the pool bar, 30 minutes for housekeeping to bring some ice to the room. There is definitively a lack of management supervision (where are the managers?). The sun loungers on the small beach are far too closed to each other. No privacy at all. The beach was dirty - never saw anyone raking the beach, except for a photo shoot! The sea is not suitable for swimming as you would have to walk over 200 metres to have water waist high. The restaurant prices are very high for Thailand. Not a lot of choice to eat out except a really good and inexpensive little beach restaurant about 5 minutes walk on the left side of the beach. Finally, there are a number of steps in the main pool where one would seat with a drink in hand watching the sun set . . . Unfortunately, there is some king of black tar on the steps that makes your swimwear all black! You have been warned!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogaPower111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Osito22,

Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your comments with us. We will improve the service.

Looking forward to welcome you back here again soon.

With warm regards,

Mr. Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just spent 10 of the most relaxing days of our lives at the fabulous Mai Samui.

First of all you need to ask yourself what kind of holiday you are looking for. If it's nightlife or the ability to walk to many other restaurants it might not be your best option (although I understand taxis are fairly cheap), if it's a totally relaxing away from it all break, then this is perfection. Mai Samui is off the beaten track, but in addition to their own restaurants there are a couple of restaurants within walking distance either along the beach or down a track (take a torch).

The property itself is set across two main sections, the smaller one is further from the sea (but still not far as it's a small property - rooms prefixed C I think) and appears to be more family friendly as the pool is shallower. The main section is substantially larger, and is essentially an enormous swimming pool with one of the restaurants on an island in the middle. The reception is at one end, 3 storey accommodation blocks on either side (rooms prefixed A and B), and the villas closest to the sea. Although all accommodation wherever it is overlooks a pool.

We were in a first floor room (B block) so could also see the sea from the balcony as well. The room was large, air conditioned and of high quality, as was the bathroom. The bed was pretty huge by UK standards and a little harder than we were used to, but fine. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided, and the room was replenished with up to 8 bottles of water daily.

I know one or two people have commented that it is expensive to eat here, but we stayed all inclusive so it wasn't an issue (this may have been a short term offer). However it was really quiet in the evenings, which for us was super relaxing but some may say it lacked atmosphere. We ate in both The Pub (although not a pub as known to a Brit), and The Sala, where both the quality of the food (Chicken & Cashew a must), and the service was excellent. Each evening there was also a themed buffet on 'the beach' (I'll come back to 'the beach' in a minute), details of which were supplied on each breakfast table. The setting was lovely and relaxing, the staff were great, but some of the themes were better than others, with the seafood BBQ being the best. The breakfast buffet was great catering to all nationalities, plus there was a chef cooking eggs and waffles fresh to order.

The beach directly outside the property is a bit pebbly particularly on the shoreline (I found flipflops a must), but once in the sea it's lovely soft sand. Mai Samui has a fairly large built up area of beautiful sand or 'the beach' on which the sun loungers and beach buffet tables are set out. The way this is currently set up the loungers are one half and the dining tables for the beach buffet on the other. The downside to this is that the loungers are all really close together, but the dining tables were seldom used during the day. My tip would be to get on an end or at the front where it's less oppressive, although it might be altogether better if they moved some of the tables during the day and spread the loungers out more. With regard to the sea, it is really shallow for a long way out so not great if you're looking to swim, but great just to sit and chat in.

For what we were looking for in a holiday it was perfect, although it's probably not brilliant for people with limited mobility. The property is relatively flat, but it is designed in such a way that there are a lot of stairs, and although the bridges are pretty there are no handrails and the steps are steep (to get to the Sala you have to cross a bridge). The walkways to the beach are behind blocks A & B, are flat but are sand, so again some may find it difficult to walk on.

I can't rate it highly enough, but as I mentioned earlier, you really need to be sure about what you want out of a holiday.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay at the Resort in the past 3 years. We recently held our wedding at the Resort and the Resort staff made our occasion just perfect for us and our wedding guests.

The Resort is about 25 mins out of Chaweng (main part of the island) and 15 mins out of Bo Phut (Fisherman's Village), which is an advantage or disadvantage depending on the reason for your holiday.

Buffet breakfast is amazing and with two Restaurants on site you can't go wrong.

We will defiantly stay at the Resort again in the near future.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Paul W,

Warm Greeting from Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa.

First of all, thank you very much for staying with us recently.

It is great to read that you had a memorable holiday and wedding.

I am pleased that you found our resort to be relaxing and the service to be attentive.

Thanks once again for choosing Mai Samui Beach Resort & Spa and we would be delighted to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay at our resort in the future.

With warm regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews