We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great afternoon trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cap Canoe

Cap Canoe
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great afternoon trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Slightly spur of the moment decision by my wife and I to go on a canoe trip - were keen to avoid the ones linked to Pont-du-Gard as they all looked v busy. 8km trip in double canoe on the Ceze worked v well although it is a good test of any marriage on the steering front.

Look out the weir - time for a bit of portage than trying to attempt it.

Water level was rather low which was the only downside. Thought the rate was pretty reasonable and would certainly try again when next in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Offering 4km and 8km canoe routes down the Ceze, with friendly multi-lingual staff and a regular return bus to the start venue. The venue itself serves drinks, light snacks and ice cream. A recommended day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Canoe Virgin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

August 2011 CAP canoe staff not particularly helpful or friendly and don't give any tips on safety or how to use a canoe (probably language barrier) bearing in mind myself and my 6 year old son was in one canoe and my 12 year old son and 9 year old daughter were in another.

In saying that once we all got the hang of how to canoe the route is absolutely idyllic and great fun and well worth doing though some of the rapids were a bit daunting for the 12 and 9 year old.

If the staff were better this would have got 5 stars

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grandpicasso67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Canoe Trip - a holiday hit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were staying nearby and persuaded our not that keen on exercise teenage daughters (& myself who is not that keen on water) to take a canoe trip down the Ceze. The staff were very helpful and our 4km trip down the river was one of the highlights of our holiday. The keen swimmers enjoyed the dip in the river at the dam, and I enjoyed spotting the herons, and it was really nice to just do a one-way trip and to greeted by a very patient employee (the girls had some trouble steering and we occasionally grounded!) who cheerily collected us and took us back to base in the minibus. At 60 Euros it was not cheap but overall we felt it was very good value and entertaining.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location for family canoeing, fishing or having a nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Cap Canoe is a nicely located, secluded spot where its great to have a canoe trip with your family. Tyere are 5 and 10 Km trips which are quite easy, even for small kids.
It's also a nice place to have a simple lunch, they have tasty pizza's. The staff are friendly and speak reasonable English. Down by the river under the bridge you can relax on the pebble beaches and swim or fish small trout.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Family_Kroela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cap Canoe also viewed

 

Been to Cap Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing