We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway in the Dordogne”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
al fresco dining with stunning vista
private entrance to terrace
watch the sunset over the walnut trees in the valley
pool by night
cottage by night
fun in the pool
roses, camellias, jasmine, honeysuckle, vervaines and surfinas edge the terrace.
The kitchen has a traditional belfast sink and retro Smeg Fridge / Freezer
Retro smeg fridge
bedroom with lovely view
walk in shower with Lakeland stone base
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Plazac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KAhern201...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This place is absolutely perfect for a getaway to the French countryside. It is located within easy drive of beautiful French towns (e.g. Sarlat and Beynac). The accommodation is stunning and has its very own beautiful terrace with private plunge pool. The hosts are super friendly ! Couldn’t recommend more !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time for writing such an excellent review!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carcrazyc...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Book it!”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

What a lovely part of the world. The photos are spot on and the views from the deck and pool are fantastic. If you want somewhere off the beaten track to totally kick back this is it, but, only short journeys to nearby attractions, historical sites and villages for supplies.
Friendly but unobtrusive owners.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an excellent review. It is always pleasing to have such good feedback, and really helpful to know that the photos accurately represent our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Loved every bit of it!
The owners, Cheryl & Paul have put their heart and sole into restoring this lovely building, compact but perfect, with a beautiful decking to relax, eat drink and admire the idyllic surroundings from. Wonderfully peaceful but with lots to explore in the area. Hope to return sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We would love to welcome you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful gite, stunning location”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Paul and Cheryl are wonderful hosts who have put a lot of love and care into creating Le Petit Merly. They went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed during our stay, but at the same time were very discrete. The gite is the perfect size for two people and is beautifully fitted out and decorated. Unfortunately we had very unseasonal weather during our stay so didn't really get to appreciate the outside terrace and pool, however I can imagine that it would be a perfect place to sit with a glass of wine, looking out across the valley at the spectacular views and watching the sun set.

The gite is ideally situated for enjoying the local villages, markets and caves and also for canoeing on the river. Whether you want to totally relaxing holiday away from it all or something more active, Le Petit Merly would be the perfect base and we would thoroughly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It is very satisfying to hear that all the 'love and care' that was devoted to creating our 'gite' and terrace has been so well appreciated. We try at all times to achieve a balance between being helpful to our guests, but at the same time respecting their privacy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thenorthe...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cheryl and Paul were excellent hosts at this highly finished gite retreat. They provided us a warm welcome, a detailed show around, local information, and even sorted a couple of bikes for us to explore the stunning area. Thrown in for good measure were handfuls of home grown cherry tomatoes and courgettes.

The gite is excellent quality with high spec fixtures and fittings. Clean, comfortable and a perfect size for a couple. The outside decking, with an arrangement of lighting and seating areas, was perfect for evening BBQs and drinking wine looking at the stars. It was a good sun trap too, so the pool was ideal for cooling off in. This was all set in Cheryl and Paul's stunning plot with great views over the valley.

The location was also brilliant. Not far from the Vezere river with stunning picturesque villages like St-Leon-sur-Vezere were ideal to ride to with lovely river side cafes and in summer the delicious Le Petit Leon for dinner in their garden. The area is also surrounded by hundreds of pre-historic sites well worth investigating even if that's not your thing. On one day, we canoed a thirty km stretch from Montignac to Les Eyzies. Not far from Sarlat, or other more well-known Dordogne villlages, you are awash with opportunities. Chill out, explore, or get active - it has it all.

We loved our stay. Even though the weather was a little unseasonable, it was a excellent place to stay and visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for such an excellent review. We are so pleased that our little retreat fulfilled all your requirements for the perfect holiday. Our aim was to create an oasis for couples who want to just spend time away 'far from the madding crowd' and it is really satisfying to know everything that has been done is being really appreciated by our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful. Everything you could want.”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a stunningly beautiful place! Within minutes of arriving, the calm of this place settled over us. A warm friendly welcome from Cheryl and Paul set the pace. We were shown around the pretty, tastefully decorated gite, then left to enjoy a bottle of wine on our private terrace overlooking the walnut grove and valley below. Birds singing, cicadas chirping and not much else. We watched the sun set and felt at peace with the world. Since then we have walked, relaxed, enjoyed the prehistoric settlements around here, floated in our private pool and generally had a wonderful time. We have even had a private Pilates lesson on the terrace from Cheryl. It really seems as though we are in another world. Thank you Cheryl and Paul for allowing us to be part of your life here. We can't wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you so much Jenny for your lovely review. It means so much that you have fallen in love with 'Le Petit Merly' just as we did when we first saw it all those years ago. It really has been our pleasure to have you stay with us, and share our lives for a moment. We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papapedro
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in June 2016

I have stayed at this chalet several times, it is situated in a peaceful location in the heart of the Dordogne. The accommodation and services are excellent, a combination of the new and traditional and all at a high standard. Sitting on the veranda in the evening next to the pool with a glass of wine listening to the birds is hard to beat. The hosts speak excellent French and English so communication is never an issue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing