We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house with breathtaking views!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful pool Looking down the side of La Goulette towards the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The beautiful pool
Looking down the side of La Goulette towards the kitchen
The kitchen door
Ground Floor Bedroom Main House
La Goulette and the estate
A view of La Goulette and the Cottage
The Tower on the Main House
Wedding party
An Upstairs Bedroom in the Main House
Living area - dining and sitting room
Dining room
The Kitchen in the Main House
The Terrace
In the Garden at La Goulette
River Moustier below La Goulette
Ancient Cave Paintings at Lascaux nearby
River Vézere nearby La Goulette
Roque St Christophe - Ancient Troglodyte Village
Le Marie at St Léon sur Vézere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Plazac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
daisy t
1 review
“Wonderful house with breathtaking views!”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

La Goulette is absolutely stunning. From the huge terrace overlooking the typically Dordogne green fields, to the elegant interior decor and homely feel - thoroughly recommended. The nearby towns of Plazac, Rouffignac and Montignac are quintessentially french with some of the friendliest locals around. Car hire is recommended, but if you're feeling a little braver most these towns can be visited on bicycle also. We visited the house for a long weekend in May and still managed to use the swimming pool, so if you're looking for a relaxing summer holiday - this is the perfect place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here Daisy! We look forward to seeing you and your family again here at the lovely La Goulette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Chipping Norton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming House”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A fine, well maintained and spacious house. Close to local amenities yet secluded and private. Liked the large salt water swimming pool and the space to always find a quiet spot.
Would recommend to family and friends without reservation. A memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and charm of house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slackblad...
Fleet
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best property we have stayed in in this region”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My Family and I have been to this region of france for 7 out of the last 8 years and this has been the best property we have stayed in. The location is fantastic, the view are wonderful and the provisions that Julia make for her guests are excellant. Its clean, large and airy , the swimming pool and eating areas are aweome. The beds are extremely comfortable, we slept so well and only regret was leaving. Christina who met us and showed us around was a great help really friendly.
I can't recommend La Goulette enough.
Thanks Julia for making this place so wondertful....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzy b
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing holiday in the most beautiful place we've ever stayed”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family have just returned from an amazing week at La Goulette, we cannot recommend it highly enough. Beautiful properly, decorated to such a high standard and full of everything you could possibly need. There were 8 of us and would have been room for more if you so wish. Thank you for the most amazing holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
We are so pleased to hear what a lovely time you had at the beautiful La Goulette. And we appreciate your compliments about the high standard of our property. And we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“La Goulette is a most wonderful location”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just spent a very happy week at La Goulette celebrating our Golden Wedding with our extended family of six adults and five grandchildren.

We found the accomodation to be superb with all our needs catered for and with a wonderful location at which to stay.

Our grandchildren had a marvellous time in the swimming pool and exploring the grounds.

La Goulette is very suitably located for the many and varied interests of the Region.

We would have no hesitation in returning ourselves or recommending to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of La Goulette
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
We were so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay at the beautiful La Goulette and appreciated how lovely the house and surroundings truly are. Great to hear that the children enjoyed the pool and running around the grounds so much, as well as going to the local historical sites and canoeing etc. Its such a lovely setting for an Anniversary or Celebration of any kind with its wonderful view, huge terrace and huge sitting room. Next next year we are offering to do Weddings and other Events, at La Goulette as well as offering the peaceful and private space for our regular and new holiday guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family another year.Regards, Julia Pikal & David Blass (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful house and gite”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2013

Beautifully renovated, with stylish but really comfortable furniture and most importantly, the dreamiest beds. Had the best night's sleep I've had in literally years!

The house has a wonderful atmosphere, it's so peaceful with lovely views over the valley; the photos don't even do it all justice.

Will be going again ...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philosoph...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect DIY France”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is one of those old French farmhouses that looks like a chateau. It's been lovingly restored by its English owners to do that thing we all dream about, have the perfect French get-away that pays for itself with some rentals. This is important as it does feel like someone's home, rather than just a rental property. It's two buildings, one L shaped and one separate, around a courtyard with a swimming pool, huge living room and garden with fruit trees. It was ideal for us as a group of friends and would do for two or three families. You do need a car, so it's either drive down to the Dordogne as we all do or fly to somewhere nearby and hire a car (Brive is good as we did as it's direct from London City). It's near Plazac and Montignac, famous for foie gras and the Lascaux caves. It's a very picturesque area to drive around and explore so this house makes a good base. A bit of research reveals good local restaurants and wine shops (Monbazillac is near if you like it sticky). It is secluded and private and there are virtually no other properties in sight so it is very peaceful. If you know that part of France and are into the simple wine, cheese, bread, foie gras and relax for a week thing then this is a great spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very atmospheric and secluded house - you wanted to retire there
Liked least: had to get in a car to get anywhere - it is remote
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing