We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired amenities and underwhelming restaurants make it a 3 star - such a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tired amenities and underwhelming restaurants make it a 3 star - such a shame”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff and service at this hotel are possibly the best I have come across. The facilities and small touches make your stay really relaxing and enjoyable.
However, the buildings, rooms and amenities, whilst clean and cosmetically up to date - are in need of an overhaul. The loungers at the beach and pools are lovely, new, clean and comfortable. The beds in the rooms are large and luxurious. The wifi connection is fantastic in rooms and throughout the property. In room air con is great.
But the rooms themselves, whilst clean and well structured, are old. The bathrooms have had cosmetic renovation but the baths, basins, toilets and tapware are old.
Also the food is 3 star. The variety is great but the quality and presentation of breakfast is average (although to be fair probably 4 star). But I was particularly disappointed with the upscale restaurant which has an amazing location and ambience (deck overlooking the beach) but the food is really average, not good value for money.
The spa menu and treatment are fantastic (arguably 5 star), but the amenities are at best 3 star. So it takes away from the overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    284
    75
    15
    12
See reviews for
344
537
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We've just got back from a weeks' holiday at the Tamarind. The hotel is in a great location... The beach is fab. The pools are lovely and warm. Even though people were out at 7am to reserve sunbeds, there were always plenty available. The beach service was great and the fresh fruit, ice lollies and cold towels were a bonus. The food was all of a good quality - the a la carte restaurant was in a great setting and the lobster there was very reasonably priced. Watch out for the rum punch at happy hour.... It certainly had a kick!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank saml72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just visited Tamarind for the fourth time having been married there in 1995. Our holiday this time was even better than our previous stays. We were made to feel so welcome on arrival and immediately we felt comfortable and relaxed. The hotel is in a fabulous location with beautiful views. Our room was above the reception area and looked out over the garden and beach - at no point were we aware of the road behind - it has never been a problem because when in Tamarind we forget we are on a road at all. The sound of the waves and the birds were generally all we could hear. We are a couple with no children and Tamarind ticks all our boxes - our spacious and clean room was fabulous with an amazing view of the gardens and the sea. We ate dinner each evening (and also had some lunches) at the 246 restaurant which is located right next to the beach with pretty lights and fire torches at night - so lovely to hear the sea lapping at the beach whilst eating. The food was of good quality with plenty of variety and the entertainment most evenings was excellent. The buffet style breakfasts provided so much choice including lovely fresh fruit every morning - there was something for everyone. The staff were so accommodating with a very refreshing can do attitude - they take so much pride in their work whatever their role. We felt we were amongst friends. The pools are kept beautifully, the beach area is also well kept - and we appreciated the fresh fruit and ice lollies which the beach attendants brought round to us throughout the day. We feel that Tamarind has a magical feel and cannot wait to get back there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandMelvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Moved to Tamarind from another hotel for the 2nd half of our Easter holiday. The rooms are just fab and if lying on a lovely lounger listening to steel band music is your idea of a wonderful time......this is the place for you ! Pool area great but the highlight is the beach with it's watersports - we did snorkelling and water skiing - just ace, he got both our teenage girls up first time on ski's. Food really nice, but watch the wallet. We had one issue over dinner one night, but the manager sorted it the next morning and was really concerned that we had a great experience. Not much night life close by so if you want to rock and roll get a taxi to Holetown or the Gap.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Tamarind is a fantastic hotel for families especially with young children but also for couples because of its location and also the entertainment and romantic setting. I think the best thing about the hotel is the brilliant staff who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. To make but a few... Paul in food and beverages knew that my mum liked a type of Danish pastry and would bring them to our table every morning at breakfast even if they weren't out on the buffet. Andrea, who is also in food and beverages is a credit to the hotel, she is welcoming, professional and had the time to speak to us every time we saw her, she remembered our names and made us feel special. We had dinner several times at the hotel on her recommendation and must say the quality of the food was excellent. The surf and turf night was a particular favourite of ours, we had lobster tails that were delicious yet very reasonably priced. It was lovely listening to The live band sapphire whilst having dinner overlooking the beach.
Arden, the barman makes the best cocktails and brings happy to the happy hour! Thank you for being so welcoming and professional.
In fact all the staff here are great and made such a fuss of our 3 year old. I know he will miss them for sure!
I must also mention The kids club as it's fantastic. The staff are brilliant and I had no problem leaving our son there for an hour a day although you can leave them there much longer should you wish! They have daily activities to suit kids of all ages and my son loved it. A big thank you to all the staff there! Charlie really enjoyed himself!
Our room in the hotel was large and spacious. We had a ground floor junior suite right near the main pool and beach which was ideal for us with our 3 year old as had easy access back to our room. We also had a pull out sofa bed which my 3 year old slept on and the room didn't feel at all cramped with it out. The rooms are modern, clean and well equipped.
We used to stay here many years ago and have seen many vast improvements over the years. Kim, the hotel manager seems to have really upgraded this hotel and There are lots of little touches that make your stay special. For example complimentary fresh fruit, cold towels and ice lollies delivered to your sun loungers a well as better beach towels and sun loungers.
Thank you Tamarind for a wonderful stay yet again, we hope to return next year!
Amy, Sue and Charlie xx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at Tamarind and in hindsight it probably wasn't the best choice.

Don't get me wrong, it's a lovely hotel in a very good location and I would say excellent for families; however it doesn't live up to the website or other similarly priced 4* hotels we've stayed at.

Things we loved:
Food for lunch and dinner (246 bar and deck) - good quality, delicious and presented very well.
Staff - so friendly, inviting and accommodating. The hotels assets!
Beach - beautiful stretch of beach, warm sea and good water sports (we loved the glass bottom boat swimming with turtles)
Location - near to many of the great west coast restaurants (Scarlets, Tides, The Beach House)

Things we didn't love:
The room (a junior suite with ocean view) - the bathroom was shabby, old suite and tiling making it look very dated. No separate shower. The room was okay, a bit tatty though. As other reviewers have said too it's not really a suite when it's one small room. It was also quite noisy. The noise from the road woke us about 7am daily. We unplugged the fridge as it was so noisy too.
Breakfast - pretty bland but it's okay, just nowhere near as good as we've had elsewhere. The birds are annoying!
The Price - as I said earlier, we've stayed in other 4* hotels around the world which are so much better value. We paid a lot of money during the course of the week and I'm just not sure it was really worth it. At over US$300 a night it's not the high quality we expected, particularly for our honeymoon.

We would recommend this if you are going as a family. Id imagine it ticks a lot of boxes in that instance (other than perhaps price), however if you're going as a couple look elsewhere (The House maybe) - Tamarind is not the quality or romance you may be looking for...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wes05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went for an Easter break with only half my family. My 2 daughters where away with school etc, so we decided to go here with my son and have a total beach week or so.
And we all can say we had a great time.
I booked well in advance. Our booking was not all smooth.I wanted a 1 bedroom ocean suite, but for the first night we was there it was not available.So i booked just a normal room.Ok we moved the next day to what was meant to be a 1 bed ocean suite... Well i paid top USD to get the room i wanted and when we got to the room i was not happy at all.... Ok But the manager was ready for this.... He explained it was busy period and the room we had asked for was booked another 2 days..... So can after some negotiations etc etc, we went to the room we wanted 228 2 days later... Now we are talking. All the rooms face out onto the beach, waking up first thing u see is the blue sea amazing.Also we had 2 bathroom and a nice size room.
The staff where so helpful with the situation and they knew what i wanted and they did everything in thier means...
So the staff i have to say are amazing, from cleaners to the manager.The pool and beach staff are very helpful and also nice just to talk to about their wonderful country.
The food is great, we did dine out alot to try other venues but ended up eating in the hotel 3 time in the evening.
Lunch was always good a nice selection to eat at the resturant or you could just eat at your sun loungers.
The water sports team are great and always helpful. There are alot of people trying to sell thing and push u on trips, at first i found this annoying. They arent over baring and in the end we did some boats trips and massages on the beach and have to say my first views where very wrong. All the people where nice helpful and if you didnt want to buy or go on a trip they where cool about it...
The pools are nice but we tended to stay on the beach...
There is a small Spa my wife went and she said it was ok.
So overall for a family its a great place and will be trying to come back fully loaded up with my family.
So please look out for my booking Marcia....

Room Tip: Try get sea view rooms.. 128 228 and 328 are the best i feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklockey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
2.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,955 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#5 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Property: Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Kognitiv US Corp, Destinology, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Paynes Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing