We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good West Coast Option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good West Coast Option”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the Tamarind for a week in May. Third visit to Barbados having previously stayed at Crystal Cove. Tamarind compared favourably, having in my opinion, a better beachfront and location.

Rooms

We were upgraded to a 3rd floor Junior Suite with sea views. Beautiful outlook towards the Carribbean Sea and a very spacious room with comfortable bed. Lots of storage space, only area lacking was the bathroom which felt dated and stuffy. Our room was cleaned well throughout our stay, only minor complaint being that the turn down service arrived at 7pm like clockwork every evening. This was too early for us and although the maids were happy to come back later, it would have been nice not to be disturbed whilst getting ready for dinner every night. Note there are no 'do not disturb' signs for the rooms.

Communal Areas

Bar area was spacious with plenty of tables, service was good although typically laid back. Drinks selection excellent with premium brand spirits available.

The breakfast room was excellent, no queueing for tables or buffet. Plenty of breakfast options with changes to a few items every day in order to keep it interesting. Eggs cooked to order and fresh tea/coffee arriving soon after you were seated

The main restaurant was adequate. Lunches were nice if a little boring after a while. We ate at the hotel restaurant once during our stay which was nice, but we preferred venturing out of an evening and our B&B booking allowed us to do so.

Pools
There are 3 small pools at Tamarind, 1 is adults only and within the spa area. The pools are clean and kept at a nice temperature throughout the day. We chose the beach over the pools but those otherwise inclined will find the beds and pool bars more than comfortable.

Location

The beach was the main plus point for me. The beach is long and stunning, plenty of sun loungers that were very comfortable, there were empty seats on the beach throughout the day. The sea was calm but the sea bed quite rocky as you enter. You soon learn a path to take in order not to stub your toes! Once in, the carribbean sea is hard to beat. There are lots of beach sellers walking daily some more persistant than others. A polite 'no thank you' was more than sufficient.

Outside the hotel are a few restaurants and bars within walking distance. You are next door to Daphne's and can walk through the hotel or down the beach to this restaurant. You have Scarlets almost opposite and the Cliff is within a 15 minute walk south.

Holetown is a bus/cab ride away but definitely worth exploring of an evening.

So anything to be cautious of? The staff were friendly but a little cold, we found we were served without any conversation made. I didn't fall in love with the hotel. It was a comfortable base and nothing more. There seemed no soul. I'd return only if we got a very good rate and only then because the beach was so lovely.

A solid 4 star hotel with none of the wow factor to push it to a 5.

Room Tip: We had room 314 on the 3rd floor with no lift facilities. We were reasonably close to the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    289
    76
    15
    13
See reviews for
351
548
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Tamarind for two weeks in May and had a fabulous time. The staff are amazingly friendly, food is of a high standard, beach bar-b-q is well worth doing. Our bathroom was a little dated but nothing that would stop us staying again. Location is really conconvient for dining in the evening, although we did stay and dine at the hotel most nights as the food was so good. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Tamarind for a week in May. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are exactly as pictured on the website. They were clean and well stocked with all the supplies you may need. My stay included daily breakfast. The food was delicious. There was quite a variety of options, which changed daily. The beach was perfect. There are an ample amount of chairs and umbrellas, no reserving neccesary. It was quite a suprise to be given complimentary snacks on the beach, like fresh fruit and popsicles. What a pleasant suprise. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions for dining and travel. There are limited options for dining off the resort that are within walking distance or a quick bus ride. But the staff is quite helpful with arranging taxis.

Overall, excellent stay and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellB3448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wonderful choice of hotel. Seaview room gorgeous - Meals superb - Excellent friendly staff. Chilled face towels, fruit kebabs & ice lollies handed out throughout the day. Such a relaxing stay - only wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Sea view room was lovely - couple of steps to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We chose Tamarind Hotel for our Vow Renewal by the advice of our Travel Agent at Liberty ..
We are sooo happy we listened to her and stayed at Tamarind!
Let me begin with Selena Our Event Planner...She is a very kind compassionate professional who really cares to make sure everything is perfect and that it was!!!
Tamarind really made our day a very special day we'll always remember:) The minister that performed our ceremony was professional, caring and personable....which calmed our nerves & made it a smooth experience.
Our cocktail hr with wait staff was superb!!!!they made us all feel very special.....
We planned this day from overseas and were impressed Our Day was perfectly organized to our specifications without any flaws...I commend the Chef for his outstanding delicious food... Thanks to Vincent Jamilah Raquel Mark C Taleah Alvin Arden Wayne(Kitchen) David Argyle all that helped make this celebration Awesome!!! Special thanks To Cherann who always took time to chat and bring us our special drinks with her beautiful smile....We plan to return soon:) Everyone at Tamarind THANKYOU for making this Our new Home....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdumplings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couva, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My two brothers and I and our wives gathered together from different parts of the world in May 2014 with our Father to celebrate his 85th. Birthday. For us it was the second time back while for our Father it was his third or fourth time at Tamarind. We had a wonderful and memorable time together, made even more enjoyable by the wonderful relaxed and idyllic atmosphere at the Tamarind and by the warm and friendly staff who did everything possible to make our stay as enjoyable as it was. From the inclusion of Saltfish Buljol and Fried Bakes on the Breakfast menu as we had requested,to the special Birthday treatment for out Father, to the magic of dining under the stars to the accompaniment of wonderful back in times music on Monday nights, we felt we got the royal treatment. Special mention must be made of Frankie, who answered my concerns prior to our arrival with patience and promptness, and to the Anthony, Dave and Akesha, and to the gentlemen at the watersports desk who all contributed to making our family reunion just perfect.Thank you Tamarind!!! From the Mohomed Family.

Room Tip: Because there are no elevators, seniors should request the ground floor accommodation. Also,some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSMohomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had such a great time at Tamarind! I have already booked my second stay. I was so impressed with the service and the food selection at Breakfast. Normally, due to my food allergies, there is very little that I can eat at a resort especially at breakfast. At Tamarind this was not an issue at all! The selection included something for everyone and it was fresh and fantastic! I also ordered Hummus with veggies for the room, and they called me to let me know they had gluten free bread they could include. They went above and beyond and it made such a difference to me! The resort is also beautiful, peaceful, and offers many fun water sports. overall this place was fantastic in every way and far exceeded my expectations! Also, great service from all the staff especially Jamal and Neil. Also, I recommend getting a massage at the spa. It was great! I can't wait for my next trip in April!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful even the standard rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaMariePassero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
2.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Property: Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Paynes Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing