We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach Location to swim with the Turtles”
Review of The St James

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paynes Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The St James
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This self catering hotel is first class. The rooms are all beautifully designed and those that
have sea views are dreamy. Having maid service is great. You can swim out and enjoy the Turtles that seem to reside in Paynes Bay or walk along the beach for about mile towards Holetown. The beach in front of the Hotel is very wide and you have your own sunbed waiting for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FORESTFLOWER6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the St. James for nine nights in April 2012. We found the staff very friendly and accommodating. We asked for snorkel gear and were allowed to borrow two sets for the duration of our stay. We loved the oceanfront view from our balcony and are certain that a view this spectacular would have cost significantly more at any of the other hotels on Paynes Beach. The self-catering aspect was very nice as we were able to save quite a bit of money by cooking our own meals.

Room Tip: The annex rooms don't overlook the ocean- make sure you get a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

This small hotel is absoloutly superb in every way, the accomodation is first rate, the rooms are spotless, and the view drom my balcony was awe inspiring.

The staff are so helpful, this small hotel is real paradise.

Book it you will definately not be disapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Labaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

We returned from staying at the St James on 25th January 2008, having had a wonderful 10 day stay.

The St James is a self-catering apartment block with a handful of immaculately decorated and maintained apartments. It is situated on one of the very best beaches in Barbados and is in walking distance of lovely restaurants, shops and bars. Holetown and Bridgetown are nearby and easy to get to by bus or taxi. For exploring the island, this is an ideal location.

There is no swimming pool but as the apartments are directly on the beach, this is no problem at all. Loungers and umbrellas are available on the beach for residents. We swum in the sea every day and loved it.

We stayed in the annexe as there were no apartments available in the main block. The St James is popular! We still had a partial view of the sea, which was lovely. There is some traffic noise from the local traffic, Apartments are beautifully furnished with all the usual mod cons. The huge fridges are ideal for keeping your Banks beer chilled. The apartments are newly updated and the staff keep them in very good order and are always friendly and helpful. A great deal of care and attention has gone into the apartments and it was lovely to stay here.

The beach does become a little busier on days when cruise ships arrive. Cruisers do not stay long on the beach.

This is a lovely place to stay and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Katie00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We settled on the St James Apartments having read another positive review in Trip Advisor. We were very impressed. We had a 2 brm seaview apartment which, along with all the other seaview apartments, have stunning views of the Caribbean, beach and the sunsets. I could not recommend the annex rooms unless you are really on a budget as these look out over the carpark and are closer to the main west coast road. You could be anywhere really, although you are still only a few steps to the beach of course: it depends how important a view is from your apartment!

Cecile promptly and efficiently handled all our enquiries from our first contact by email to when we checked out. She arranged car hire through Corbins Car Rentals who were excellent: not only was the car virtually brand new (in my experience a rarity in the Caribbean!) but despite our flight being several hours late they were still waiting at the airport with our car (a small 4WD as requested).

Because of the late arrival of our flight Corbins were good enough to "pilot" us from the airport right to our apartments (45 mins trip) on a wet, dark night, and took the car promptly over from us when we returned it at the airport 7 days later.

Back to The St James: the 2 brm apartments are huge and well-equipped with great terraces complete with chaise lounge and table and chairs. The beach can get a bit hectic during the day what with Turtle viewing day trippers, and cruise liners using it as a shore-tour (possibly only temporarily as we heard they were using Paynes Bay only as a substitute for another on which there is some building work going on). Very little noise from motorised water-sports though so that is not a problem.

Note that there is no swimming pool at The St James.

There are restaurants, one or two bars and grocery shops within easy walking distance of the Apartments so you have the option of eating in or out without necessarily having to drive. Within easy driving distance there are lots of eating/drinking options.

NB: It is worth contacting the Apartments to see if they can offer any discounts depending on occupancy.

Barbados has more history than the other Caribbean islands we have visited so there is lots to see apart from the beaches. The people are very friendly and helpful everywhere you go, and even the occasional beach vendor readily accepts "No thanks" and moves on without any hassle.

Loved Barbados and loved The St James.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike-and-Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

This luxury apt hotel has 2 studio and 3 2-bdrm beachfront units, 3 1-bdrm Annex units and an Annex Penthouse. It's small, quiet and exactly what we were looking for!

I emailed Nigel to ask about dates, and was able to book. Was told that they had a Studio Apt available, so we took it. Found out later we were the only ones in the builidng the whole visit, so it would have been nice to be given the option of the 2bdrm on the beach just for the extra space. But for 4 days the Studio did just fine!

The Studio Apt has a full kitchen less dishwasher, and the only complaint I had was the leaky tap. But wtih the a/c and fans on you couldn't really hear it. Very clean, comes with everything you need except food! I would suggest bringing Shampoo since they don't provide. Daily maid service except on Sundays, and she even did the dishes (I felt bad for that!). Cecile the manager was very polite.

View from the balcony was amazing. You're right on the beach, and a sea turtle even laid eggs on the beach in front of the building. The water was calm and beautiful, and going in the off-season meant there weren't many people around so we could enjoy the quiet time.

About a 2 minute walk away was a tiger express where we picked up some bread and eggs for breakfast, but i would suggest you get your alcohol and any other food items a bit south at Jordan's. It's much cheaper, and has everything you need - including a free shuttle back to your hotel!

We will definitely be going back to this place as it offers the freedom to cook your own meals and enjoy some quiet time without being surrounded by 150 rooms+ like at a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keeptravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
0.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
363 reviews
2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.6 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados (Formerly Beachcomber Suites)
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range: £139 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St James is positioned right at the centre of Paynes Bay, and looks directly out across golden sands and the azure Caribbean Sea. The St James is literally right on the beach and our guests have a wide stretch of beach on which to relax on their sun loungers under sunshades.A huge attraction for the St James is the presence of a large family of friendly turtles who have made their home in the waters in front of the hotel. The opportunity to swim with the turtles each morning has become a unique experience for our guests.The St James consists of 11 different apartments and studios and we can accommodate a party of any size.We do not have a bar or restaurant as our guests love experiencing the world renowned bars and restaurants in the local area, or preparing their own meals with delicious fresh Caribbean foods from the supermarket just down the road. Each apartment has a fully equipped Italian open plan kitchen, and we can also provide a cook upon request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The St James Barbados/Paynes Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing