We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lisa N "A beautiful hotel"”
Review of The St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St James
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Lisa N "A beautiful hotel"”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the lovely ocean front room for a week. Upon arrival we were greeted by Carsen, the security/maintenance man, who gave us our key and showed us to the room. He was very friendly and if we needed anything he would gladly help. The ocean front room was beautiful and very large. I could just step out on to the porch and watch the beach from there or walk a few steps and lay out on the hotel's cushioned beach chairs. The room included a living room, kitchen and bedroom with a cleaning lady that came everyday. I enjoyed the hotel for its boutique feel and quiet surroundings, other than the morning traffic because the hotel is on a main road. The manager of the hotel is a very nice lady who assisted us with any of our needs while staying. I would definitely go back to the this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have stayed at the St James 3 times now and I shall be heading back very soon. The location is perfect with an amazing beach on one side and bustling St James parish on the other. Plenty to see and do in the area but most of the time I simply relax on the beach. It is a small aparthotel so the staff get to know you well during the stay and they are all extremely helpful and friendly. The area is safe and just a short bus ride or gentle stroll from Holetown. I love the decor of the apartments and the size of each room is amazing! I hate small hotel bedrooms so this is perfect and not at all claustrophobic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week-long Spring Break--grown up style--to The St. James. Again I was assigned to room 7--an efficiency unit on the third floor that provides amazing views and access to one of Barbados' nicest beaches.

My stay was further enhanced by the warm welcome as Jennifer (the St. James' amazing manager) and the attentive staff (especially Carson and Annette) welcomed me back. All gave me the "space" to enjoy my vacation while providing the comfort of knowing they were always available and accessible.

I look forward to returning in early August for another glorious week. Without question, the St. James has become my "go to" place on Barbados' "platinum" west coast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBajanQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was a fabulous apartment on an equally fabulous beach. Everything was better than I thought. The view from the apartment is quite amazing so make sure you get a sea view apartment. Cruise ships do unload their passengers on some days but there are never too many and they make quite interesting viewing!!!! There are turtles swimming just off the beach by the reef so you don't need to pay to do a turtle trip. Food wise there is Connies just opposite on Thurs Fri and Sats which is good takeaway food and Mr Vics bar is good,and 50yds away and the Roti about 100yds and the garage there does basic provisions. Holetown 5 mins on the bus has a big supermarket and also good restaurants and bars, 1st and 2nd street are the place to go at night.
Everyone at the place was incredibly helpful if you needed anything so it would be hard to find anywhere better...

Room Tip: Sea rooms are a must as the view is stunning and the higher the better Rooms 1& 2 are two bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was extremely hesitant to book this vacation as we have 8 month old twins and this was our first big trip….thank goodness we did! Jennifer at the St James made everything so easy for us, from arranging an excellent nanny, to having our crib exactly right, to making sure we were able to get the groceries/supplies we needed upon our arrival. The hotel itself is wonderful: spacious, clean rooms, well appointed kitchen and a beautiful beach outside your doorstep. We were so well taken care of by the attentive staff, it really felt like a luxury vacation! And to top it all off, when our departing flight was delayed and finally postponed (at 11:30pm) until the next day, Jennifer made sure we had a room to sleep in that night, which was such a relief after a long evening in the airport. Highly, highly recommend, we will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have been traveling to Barbados for over 10 years...this year kismet brought us to The St.James. Booking was easy..Jennifer is a delight to work with with quick responses to any questions we had via e-mail. The apartment (#6) is well appointed (we used it as a one bedroom and it can be used as a two bedroom). It is immaculate, the staff is lovely...our balcony afforded us in home dinner overlooking the Caribbean. Great restaurants in the area. The St. James is laid back, yet elegant. A true hidden gem. Thank you Jennifer and staff..I am writing this as I sit on the balcony...didn't want to wait !

Room Tip: Room #6 the living area overlooks with Caribbean with a lovely and large deck to dine on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the St. James early November 2013. The booking process and follow up was very professional and fast. Jennifer was wonderful handling our booking and every question we had. She even checked into a rental car company that we had found online. The apartment was lovely, very clean, very well kept. The beach loungers and snorkel equipment were all in great condition. The apartment was cleaned each day, and I can't say enough about the women who take care of the apartments...very honest and very friendly. I found one my diamond earrings on the dining room table, in plain sight for me to find...one I hadn't even realized had fallen out of my belongings. I was shocked and very touched. The apartment is very quiet...we had room 3, and enjoyed an amazing view of the ocean and wonderful sunsets. We will be back to the St. James, and hope to see Jennifer once again. Thank you for everything!!

Room Tip: Any of the full ocean view rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gone2fiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
0.5 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#13 of 26 in Saint James Parish
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
838 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St James

Property: The St James
Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados (Formerly Beachcomber Suites)
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St James is positioned right at the centre of Paynes Bay, and looks directly out across golden sands and the azure Caribbean Sea. The St James is literally right on the beach and our guests have a wide stretch of beach on which to relax on their sun loungers under sunshades.A huge attraction for the St James is the presence of a large family of friendly turtles who have made their home in the waters in front of the hotel. The opportunity to swim with the turtles each morning has become a unique experience for our guests.The St James consists of 11 different apartments and studios and we can accommodate a party of any size.We do not have a bar or restaurant as our guests love experiencing the world renowned bars and restaurants in the local area, or preparing their own meals with delicious fresh Caribbean foods from the supermarket just down the road. Each apartment has a fully equipped Italian open plan kitchen, and we can also provide a cook upon request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The St James Barbados/Paynes Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing