We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil guesthouse above best west coast beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Paynes Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The Sunday Times recommended this place to stay, close to the west coast beaches but not west coast prices! This was our 7th trip to Barbados. We were aware that Paynes Bay, one of the best beaches in Barbados was only 7-10 mins walk away. We enjoyed a superb 11 days with host Pat and Gilly where nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are a good size, the place is kept spotlessly clean by Yorkshire landlady Pat who knows what clean means! Staying at Palm Paradise gave us the best of both worlds - we dined at Sandy Lane and at the Tides in Holetown using local taxis for those special meals. The world famous Cliff Restaurant is but 5 mins walk away. But then most nights we dined at Palm, making difficult decisions between the goat curry and Jamaican chicken, The cooking used the best of local ingredients, was home cooked and delicious. Sunday dinner, a 2 course extravaganza was a good value at £16-£17. Normal mains at £13. Just up from the beach, nestled under a bluff looking out to sea, with a breeze, sat with a Gilly rum punch, watching the monkeys or the sunset - what more could you want? We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosebankT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

Large clean rooms, en-suite. Owned and run by Pat, a Yorkshire lass with high standards. A quiet location about 5mins, walking distance, from beautiful beaches and approx. 6miles from Bridgetown.
This is a friendly guest house with nice gardens for relaxing in by day or sit out in the evening and watch the fireflies, bats and listen to the tree frogs. The Palm Paradise is used as a benchmark for standards by the local tourist board for others to strive towards.
The room rates represent excellent value for Barbados and there is also a self contained apartment.
A great base from which to explore Barbados. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geordiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We choose this accommodation for extended family attending Barbados for our wedding. we searched extensively for a suitable place close to the wedding venue and found Palm Paradise. All our correspondence was by email and we have to say Pat was very efficient and helpful from the onset giving us a range of options to meet varying budgets.
Palm paradise is convenient for the beach although set back and is an uphill walk which was a problem for the elderly members of the group but Pat and Gilli and more than willing to help organise transport.
The rooms were spotless and of a good size with a number of outside seating areas. the gardens and view were very nice and a great setting to enjoy Gilli's famous rum punch.
Palm Paradise is a good choice if you are looking for a base in which to explore the west coast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AinsleyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Palm Paradise Guesthouse before we joined a cruise that we were boarding from Barbados and one night again on our way back. The guesthouse is off the main street - a five minute walk up the hill. There are public buses that run frequently on the main street. and several very nice, but expensive restaurants nearby. Palm Paradise also offers meals if you request them. The inn has several rooms plus a suite or two. Our room was very comfortable. There are several outside sitting areas including a very nice covered balcony that are very nice for eating or sipping Gilly’s rum punches. Pat and Gilly are fine hosts and are very willing to help you make your stay comfortable. Pat arranged a cab driver to take us on a tour of the island for about 6 hours at a reasonable rate. The tour was delightful. Palm Paradise has a lovely garden, with a gazebo and lots of flowers; also a small above ground pool to cool off in.

One note is that air conditioning is extra, but each room has fans which worked well. The Inn has an English flair to it, with tea and instant coffee available in your room for an extra fee. I believe that you could order fresh brewed coffee. It's just not quite like Inns we Americans are used to with free coffee flowing. We would definitely stay at the Palm Paradise if we travel to Barbados again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomspix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Palm Paradise is ideally located on the West Coast of Barbados with stunning beaches just 5 mins walk away.t

The service provided is friendly and professional. The standard of cleanliness was exceptional and meals could be obtained at reasonable prices. Both English and Bajan dishes were available. There is a lovely garden which is really relaxing to sit in and enjoy a rum punch.

This a happy and friendly place to stay. Bedrooms were of a good size with en suite facilities and a safe in the room for additional security. The owners offer a Guest House and service which is good value for money at a high standard. As a single traveller a reduction is offered which made my trip to Barbados affordable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

As a young woman in my 20’s traveling alone, I happily recommended the Palm Paradise. My trip to Barbados was wonderful and relaxing! The house is beautiful and located right up the road from the beach. It is very nicely decorated and extremely clean. Pat and Gilly are careful about maintaining the house and its paradise-feel. I had a balcony right outside my room with a great view of the island as well as the flowers and trees in the yard.

Pat and Gilly are gracious and knowledgeable hosts. They picked me up from the airport and asked if I wanted an introductory tour of the island. When I chose to eat at the Bed and Breakfast, they were accommodating and made delicious meals that included the local delicacies. They also took me to some local restaurants, where I was able to meet the friendly locals and taste the excellent flavor of Barbados cuisine. I certainly recommend a trip to Barbados and stay at Palm Paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmer167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We LOVED Palm Paradise! We stayed in the apartment, and enjoyed eating outside our door in a gazebo surrounded by a beautiful garden. Our hosts, Pat and Gilly,were very helpful, friendly, and went out of their way to make our holiday wonderful. When we return to Barbados we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
1.4 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
295 reviews
7.7 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#1 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,926 reviews
7.9 mi away
Little Good Harbour
Little Good Harbour
#1 of 4 in Saint Peter Parish
280 reviews
8.3 mi away
Santosha Barbados
Santosha Barbados
#1 of 1 in Saint Andrew Parish
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments

Address: Lot 2b Chapel Gap #1, Paynes Bay BB24008, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paynes Bay
Price Range: £81 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Paradise Guest House has 5 en-suite bedrooms + 2 Apartments on the West Coast of Barbados in St James. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Dinner and have an in House Bar. Dining both indoors and outdoors on the Terrace, in the Gazebo or indoors in the Bar area and dining room. The Studio Apartment with en-suite bathroom and a Kitchenette and dining area on the Balcony. The 1 Bedroom Apartment is self contained with Full Kitchen L shape Lounge and dining area, Bedroom and bathroom. Minutes walk from the beach and bus stop in Paynes Bay. Conveniently situated to reach all parts of the Island on public transport. We have a personal laundry service and maid service to all rooms-winter season daily and summer season every other day. Apartments have a weekly maid Service. All laundry provided. We can arrange trips within the Island and car hire, taxis etc. and always ready to help plan your days spent with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Paradise Guest House + 2 Apartments Barbados/Paynes Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing