We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST I've ever stayed at.”

The Manse Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Wonderful building, location, decoration, room, service, breakfast. Decoration style is Arts & Crafts and is obviously important to the owners, it is carried out with a passion and a very high standard.
Having just stayed at a B&B in Ely, The Nyton, which was disappointing, The Manse is a B&B that all others should/must aspire to. BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2008

Everything about our 3 nights at The Manse was superb,from the enormous and delightful 4 poster bedroom and the immaculate spacious bathroom complete with bathrobes and slippers to the huge and delicious breakfast and the lovely couple who run it for whom nothing was too much effort.We will definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PhillinLancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We stayed at The Manse for two nights because I had to attend a course nearby. Put simply, we had a massive stunning room (the bathroom was the size of our living room at home), the breakfast was superb and the decor was fab. Upon arrival (very late - about 10pm) we were were asked if we wanted a pot of tea and some biscuits. We never expected it to be brought up to us with an array of lovely biscuits that were not at all cheap.

A lovely experience which has put other B & B's we have stayed at since to shame.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_EssUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We stayed for one night at The Manse in August'06 when we were moving house and needed somewhere to sleep between moving dates. I hadn't discovered trip advisor then so didn't write a review at the time but now on discovering that they weren't listed I felt it was time to share the wonderful secret of their lovely B&B.
John welcomed us and helped us with our luggage and showed us to our lovely room, the Arlington. We then retreated to the sitting room where Anne brought us tea and a lovely selection of biscuits.
The whole house is beautifully furnished and is very homely, it is also immaculate and very comfortable. Our room was a very good size and again with charming attention to detail with lovely fabrics and furniture. The bed was very comfortable. The en-suite was also a good size with both a walk in shower and a bath and it was a treat to find a dressing gown each and pairs of slippers for guests. Breakfast was served in a lovely light and airy room with a polished wood floor and a view of the garden. The choice was very good and all produce was of an exceptionally high standard. Anne and John were very kind and friendly and it is no wonder she was a finalist for land-lady of the year, based on our experience we thought she should have won!
The only downside is that we live very close to Eastbourne and so don't really have an excuse to stay here regularly! We have already recommended it to friends and family visisting the area and maybe one day we will get to stay there again ourselves for a special occasion. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adelaide72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank revmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,693 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
979 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Dittons Road, Eastbourne BN21 1DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £82 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This detached character property was originally a Presbyterian Manse and was built in 1906 in the Arts and Crafts style. Inside it is spacious and light and retains many original features such as oak paneling and stained glass windows. The Manse is set in a quiet location, yet is only 5 minutes walk from Eastbourne town centre, and 15 minutes walk from the South Downs, seafront and theatres. Off street parking. All bedrooms are spacious with king size or superking beds and a relaxed seating area with TV, chiller and tea & coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Manse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing