We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for special rate.”
Review of The Boat House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boat House
Ranked #58 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for special rate.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Paid £80 for a family of four which turned out to be ok.
To get a better rating, some basics could address that:
A blind that closes so that you don't get woken up by the early morning light.
Our double duvet smelt of smoke, which may have been from previous visitors.
In this day and age, a credit card machine should be an option, or at least be told during the booking process or by email prior to arriving that payment is by cash.
The breakfast was very good and comprehensive and very welcoming and friendly hosts - thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceY262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stopped here because of a parking place outside door, what a wise act. We was well looked after by Kelly and her husband. Room 3,is large overlooking the sea and sunrise. Heating on all the time, clean room and shower, sky, kettle, tea , coffee. Very good breakfast at whatever time you wished. We have freinds that have moved to North Harbour when we visit again,we will stay here again no problem at all.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 6 have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nos110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

my second visit to this lovely place ,great people,lovely room ,delicious breakfast sets me up for the days.
a nice walk from the hotel to beachy head and birling gap is a must,
excellent bus connections to brighton and hastings for day trips,
1 hour rail commute to london.
great value ,highly recommended.

Room Tip: good sea view room ,en suite ,choice of tv channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sargemneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here before decided to stay again for a business appointment in Brighton. (20 mins drive away)
Had a clean well equipt room, with free wifi and usual room amenities, plus biccies. I requested an early full english breakfast which was no problem, plenty of it and great coffe. With breakfast and wifi included it was cheaper than Travelodge !!
Great nights sleep and free parking on the street, Ill be back all my overnights in the area
Cheers

Room Tip: Less hassle and more relaxed than trying to find anything in Brighton on a company buget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSG_Viper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012

What a gem this excellent family run B&B on the seafront, had room 6, the crows nest, aptly named as the sunrise over the sea is an inspiration for the day, from the lovely comfortable bed.. Loved it...
The room was very clean big and comfortable, well equipt with sky, wifi, coffee making and sweets in the room!! yum yum.
The Hosts cant do enough for you, lovely breakfast and accommodated my veggie wife with veggie sausages in the morning, we felt at home in this lovely establishment.
Excellent value for money.. thank you will be back in the spring.

Room Tip: ask for the crows nest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Having checked prices in the area we chose this b&b thinking it would be above average because of the price, so I'm rating it on a value for money basis. We paid £70 a night for Sunday and Monday in late October, which was more than others quoted. We got a room at the top floor which had a big window with views of the seafront, however it felt small because of the slanted roof; the shower room was tiny and the hand basin was out in the room; the decor was ok but the fittings poor with a tiny tv attached to the wall at an angle and a pretty uncomfortable mattress. We were waken up by the next room using the toilet. For toiletries there was shampoo and moisturiser but no shower gel. I was surprised there was no mention of breakfast on the website such as the usual "free range eggs, local produce, etc ..." and that was another disappointment - very limited choice of cereal, fruit, etc. and underwhelming cooked full English.
It is a shame because the owners were very pleasant and welcoming and gave us a bottle of wine but a bit more care needs to be put in the details.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were made so welcome from start to finish that we felt like we were one of the family. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definately be using this place again when we visit for family functions in Eastbourne. Love the place and the people running it

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Beamsley Lodge
Beamsley Lodge
#27 of 77 in Eastbourne
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonia
Devonia
#48 of 77 in Eastbourne
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Far End Guest House
Far End Guest House
#36 of 77 in Eastbourne
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bassets House
Bassets House
#12 of 77 in Eastbourne
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Langtons Guesthouse
The Langtons Guesthouse
#9 of 77 in Eastbourne
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New England
The New England
#16 of 77 in Eastbourne
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Property: The Boat House
Address: 93 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing