We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely clean hotel and friendly staff Fab food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely clean hotel and friendly staff Fab food”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Have stayed at the Alexandra 3 times with my friends who were in other rooms and it has always been 1st class Clean rooms with fresh towels everyday The food is fab and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    26
    11
    12
See reviews for
30
51
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Having stayed at this hotel on many occasions I have nothing but praise for the friendliness and welcome received from the proprietors and staff. The accomadation is very good and the food excellent. I have booked again for my fourteenth Christmas which speaks for itself. I know I will be meeting many other guest who book each year for Christmas and have built up a new circle of friends thanks to the Alexandra Hotel. Having read the previous reviews I am extremely surprised to read two very bad reviews which spured me on to write this one, all I can say is that Maralyn and Boodle56 (maybe the same person) must have some vendeta against this very friendly Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have an excellent view out to sea and along the prominard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Boodle 56 must be mistaken. The Alexandra Hotel is a well-managed family business with clean comfortable rooms, excellent food and friendly service. We have been visiting for over twenty years and always have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Its special atmosphere stems from the personal service of the propietors and the cheerful helpful attitude of all the staff.

Its position in the town is second to none (better views than many other hotels and on a quiter part of the seafront compared to most others). It is quiet but well placed for easy walks to the theatres, gallery, interesting shops, Dotto train and bus stops.

It is good in high season, and there's plenty at other times such as the festive November breaks.
I have recommended the Alexandra Hotel to many friends and family and they keep going back.

Room Tip: They are all clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoungeLizard31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I would love see the previous reviewer Boodle56 take a lie detector test as the review is the biggest load of lies and garbage I have ever read. I doubt this person has ever been near Eastbourne and certainly nowhere near this hotel.
I have been staying there for 9 years and have never had a problem with cleanliness, staff, food or anything else associated with it.
I wonder exactly how much Boodle56 was paid to write so much rubbish. It's a well know fact that reviews of this ilk are often paid for by other hoteliers, restaurant owners etc who's own businesses aren't doing very well and try to discredit hard working people who know how to run an hotel.
Sue and Ken Dobell are wonderful hosts and would do anything to make sure that guests that have a lovely break or holiday whilst staying with them in Eastbourne.
The hotel is well decorated and spotlessly clean. There are new flat screen TV's in every room, as well and tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportsman0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I have stayed here for the past nine years for tennis week; we also got married in Eastbourne and stayed at the Alexandra where we usually spend our time in Eastbourne.

The seafront location is perfect for everyone - local shops and restaurants mean you don't have to travel far if you don't want to. The nearby theatre has a superb programme all year round, and you have the unique entertainment programme at the beautiful bandstand.

The owners, Ken and Sue, truly cannot do enough for their guests - every room now has unlimited internet access and was recently refurbished, with new carpets and TV sets as Eastbourne went digital only a few months ago.

Parking issues are no problem at the Alexandra, as tickets for guests are sold at the recommended price and not hiked up as other hotels in the area do to their guests!

I have to say the food has always been wonderful, and I'm very fussy, and the cooked breakfast is divine!

The rooms are daily cleaned, and comfortable. The staff are helpful and friendly - my husband and I are photographers and have no qualms with leaving our expensive gear unlocked in the room because we know it is safe and the staff are trustworthy. This, in my opinion, is something you cannot buy!

I recommend this hotel to everyone. My only complaint is that the breakfast is so nice I always put on weight after our trip!!

Room Tip: We have a side sea view room on the third floor - every year the same room - and we can watch the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaxWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

You could not class it as a hotel, its a total dive. It was dirty, the fixtures & fittings were well past their sell by date, the furniture looked liked they made a trip to the local dump. The toilet had not been cleaned, the previous resident had left a trade mark! Vile. The stuff they called food, was inedible, the sausages were like sawdust. The staff were from another planet. They were inundated with complaints they didn't no what to do & couldn't resolve a simple query. I've no idea how they got 2*, it is -2. We had 3 rooms on different floors, all filthy & scruffy. 3 other guests had worse rooms than we did. We left after 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boodle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
This review of the Alexandra Hotel is a hoax. TheAlexandra is a highly rated 2 Star seafront hotel, serving excellent food, with wonderful staff. It is spoltlessly clean and very friendly.
See all the other reviews for a true picture of the Alexandra Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This independent hotel on the seafront is well situated close to theatres, shops and the beach. The rooms are all ensuite and offer tea and coffee making, as well as flat screen tvs. The very generous tariff includes a full cooked (and served) breakfast in the lovely restaurant. There is a small but efficient lift. The lounge/cocktail bar overlooks the foreshore, wishtower and RNLI museum. We have stayed in many hotels in Eastbourne and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to all visitors. Nb. Single rooms are available at single prices

Room Tip: Upper seaview rooms are the best, try the corner one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Pointers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oban
Oban
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Hotel
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a 12-minute walk from the beach. Conveniently situated on Eastbourne’s seafront, the Alexandra Hotel offers a restaurant and a bar. It is just 150 yards from the Winter Gardens and Devonshire Park. The Congress Theatre is only 3 minutes’ walk away. The rooms offer a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Many rooms boast views over Eastbourne Beach and the sea. In the mornings, the Alexandra Hotel serves full English breakfast. Guests can also enjoy fresh and varied English cuisine in the bright dining room, which boasts panoramic ocean views. The hotel also offers 2 lounge areas and a cocktail bar. Eastbourne is home to various restaurants and shops. Eastbourne Pier is only 750 yards from the Alexandra Hotel. It offers amusements and a nightclub. Eastbourne Railway Station is just 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel. This is our guests' favorite part of Eastbourne, according to independent reviews. Groups in particular like the location – they rated it 8 for stays with multiple people. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing