We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff were very friendly and the food was nice and freshly cooked,there was no entertainment which was a shame as there is not much to do around that area,the rooms are not very clean though, I left my phone in the room and when i came back my phone was not where i left it,i assumed it had rang and vibrated and dropped on the floor,we found it under the bed it was so dusty and under there it looked like it had never been hoovered also the soap dish had hardened soap on it. apart from that the bed was comfortable and i would return to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mazip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Pleasant stay .we stayed only 1night as were only in Eastbourne for short break .pleasant hotel friendly staff .breakfast nice .hotel does need some TLC on the decor and updating .bedding very old blankets and quilts ,duvets would have been better and probably more hygenic

Room Tip: If all you want is somewhere to sleep and breakfast this is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have just spent two nights at this lovely Hotel. I booked it through uk breakaways. The room was well laid out for a single room but the bed could do with being replaced as it was a bit rickety. There was a nice TV & tea tray. The evening meals were super as was the breakfast. The Hotel is small, the staff very friendly & helpful. I stayed in room 21 which was at the back & was quite hot in the evening as the sun shone in it & the window wouldn't open. I would definitely stay there again but maybe in a different room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DianeskiHoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I took my Mum (88) to Eastbourne for a week and stayed at this lovely hotel. Mum is in wheelchair so the steps up to the hotel door were a challenge (and so not suitable for anyone who cannot negotiate steps at all) The staff were fabulous, the food was great...lots of choice with a different menu each night. breakfasts were copious and freshly cooked. The hotel is right on a most wonderful seafront ideal for anyone with mobility problems. The Seafront has no shops or arcades and so is really lovely. The rooms were clean with lovely hot water and tea making facilities and flat screen televisions. If you go in the Summer the joy of having a sea view can be negated by the fact that without air conditioning the rooms are VERY HOT. Also we had good entertainment twice during the stay.

Room Tip: front rooms are very hot in the Summer but have a lovely view. If you are disabled check that the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just came back from a 5 day break at the alexandra. I must say it was very enjoyable. The rooms were clean with facilities for tea/coffee. There is free WiFi .the breakfast was always fresh and hot,with refills of tea and toast if required. The evening meals were great, (gravy second to none) fresh home made soup.
The waiting staff are very helpful and obliging. And alan (receptionist/barman) is very efficient and friendly.two star hotel with five star service .

Room Tip: If you don't mind not looking out too sea room eight is very good,quiet location on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marguerite P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

we stayed here last weekend for 2 night bb and evening meal. We booked with ukbreakaways and have to say....it is unbeatable for value for money! A budget price at 4 star care from the very polite and attentive staff. The food was very good....even though you have to chose in the morning what you want for the evening meal. Do take the front key with you when you go out...as when you return the door is sometimes locked....they did tell you in advance this may happen . We didn't get a sea view....but it really didn't matter....we had been sitting on the beach all day. There wasn't any entertainment ( and very few guests in hotel) and this didn't matter either....as we just went in the hotel down the road fo their entertainment. All in all.....unbeatable value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

have just come back from Eastbourne had not been before it was a delightful place ideal for people with limited walking abilities the hotel was small but lovely the rooms were clean and comfortable and ideal, the food was excellent and the staff were first class nothing was to much trouble, if there is a down side there is no ramp, but for us it was fine, but someone who would struggle to use the steps it would be a trial. My husband has a mobility scooter but the staff were more than happy to lift it in and out of the hotel although i must point out it is a small scooter i would just like to thank all the staff who made our holiday complete and we would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rottie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,795 reviews
1.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#23 of 40 in Eastbourne
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a 12-minute walk from the beach. Conveniently situated on Eastbourne’s seafront, the Alexandra Hotel offers a restaurant and a bar. It is just 150 yards from the Winter Gardens and Devonshire Park. The Congress Theatre is only 3 minutes’ walk away. The rooms offer a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Many rooms boast views over Eastbourne Beach and the sea. In the mornings, the Alexandra Hotel serves full English breakfast. Guests can also enjoy fresh and varied English cuisine in the bright dining room, which boasts panoramic ocean views. The hotel also offers 2 lounge areas and a cocktail bar. Eastbourne is home to various restaurants and shops. Eastbourne Pier is only 750 yards from the Alexandra Hotel. It offers amusements and a nightclub. Eastbourne Railway Station is just 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel. This is our guests' favorite part of Eastbourne, according to independent reviews. Groups in particular like the location – they rated it 8 for stays with multiple people. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing