We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here recently on a coach holiday. In an excellent position on the seafront.
Our room was on the side and had a partial sea view. The rooms are in great need of refurbishment. Creeky floor-boards, old sash windows, tired mattress and a bathroom from several decades ago!

The meals were ok, in fact breakfast was pretty good but we often got the feeling that the hotel was cost-cutting at meal times wherever possible. At the expense of customer satisfaction.

Having stayed at similar types of hotels that cater for the coach holiday market I'd have to say the Alexander falls short in quite a few areas.

Don't get me wrong, it wasn't an unpleasant stay, just that we expected better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RepublikaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

No ash trays for smokers in the entrance. Steps strewn with fag ends. Scruffy image.
Stairs to enter and stairs into dining room. No disabled facility for this. Dining room was run by a manager more concerned with logistics than paying customers. We were told we weren't allowed to sit in the window seats,as a coach load may arrive! We weren't allowed to reserve a seat there, either. The last day, she reserved us a seat, furthest from the window as possible, then ushered new people to the window, right in front of us.Spiteful! Breakfast cold every day. Bedding old fashioned and unacceptable. Room facilities, dated ,tired and scruffy. A foam eider down?? Curtain hanging off? Shower head would not adjust. Had to be hand held. We were made to feel in the way. House keeping came to clean at 9 am! So glad to leave.The worst place we've ever stayed! A cold, mean attitude! No doubt this won't get printed, as the reviews I've read all seem to be positive.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Alexandra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff were very friendly and the food was nice and freshly cooked,there was no entertainment which was a shame as there is not much to do around that area,the rooms are not very clean though, I left my phone in the room and when i came back my phone was not where i left it,i assumed it had rang and vibrated and dropped on the floor,we found it under the bed it was so dusty and under there it looked like it had never been hoovered also the soap dish had hardened soap on it. apart from that the bed was comfortable and i would return to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mazip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Pleasant stay .we stayed only 1night as were only in Eastbourne for short break .pleasant hotel friendly staff .breakfast nice .hotel does need some TLC on the decor and updating .bedding very old blankets and quilts ,duvets would have been better and probably more hygenic

Room Tip: If all you want is somewhere to sleep and breakfast this is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have just spent two nights at this lovely Hotel. I booked it through uk breakaways. The room was well laid out for a single room but the bed could do with being replaced as it was a bit rickety. There was a nice TV & tea tray. The evening meals were super as was the breakfast. The Hotel is small, the staff very friendly & helpful. I stayed in room 21 which was at the back & was quite hot in the evening as the sun shone in it & the window wouldn't open. I would definitely stay there again but maybe in a different room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DianeskiHoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I took my Mum (88) to Eastbourne for a week and stayed at this lovely hotel. Mum is in wheelchair so the steps up to the hotel door were a challenge (and so not suitable for anyone who cannot negotiate steps at all) The staff were fabulous, the food was great...lots of choice with a different menu each night. breakfasts were copious and freshly cooked. The hotel is right on a most wonderful seafront ideal for anyone with mobility problems. The Seafront has no shops or arcades and so is really lovely. The rooms were clean with lovely hot water and tea making facilities and flat screen televisions. If you go in the Summer the joy of having a sea view can be negated by the fact that without air conditioning the rooms are VERY HOT. Also we had good entertainment twice during the stay.

Room Tip: front rooms are very hot in the Summer but have a lovely view. If you are disabled check that the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just came back from a 5 day break at the alexandra. I must say it was very enjoyable. The rooms were clean with facilities for tea/coffee. There is free WiFi .the breakfast was always fresh and hot,with refills of tea and toast if required. The evening meals were great, (gravy second to none) fresh home made soup.
The waiting staff are very helpful and obliging. And alan (receptionist/barman) is very efficient and friendly.two star hotel with five star service .

Room Tip: If you don't mind not looking out too sea room eight is very good,quiet location on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marguerite P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
#24 of 40 in Eastbourne
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban
Oban
#20 of 40 in Eastbourne
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a 12-minute walk from the beach. Conveniently situated on Eastbourne’s seafront, the Alexandra Hotel offers a restaurant and a bar. It is just 150 yards from the Winter Gardens and Devonshire Park. The Congress Theatre is only 3 minutes’ walk away. The rooms offer a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Many rooms boast views over Eastbourne Beach and the sea. In the mornings, the Alexandra Hotel serves full English breakfast. Guests can also enjoy fresh and varied English cuisine in the bright dining room, which boasts panoramic ocean views. The hotel also offers 2 lounge areas and a cocktail bar. Eastbourne is home to various restaurants and shops. Eastbourne Pier is only 750 yards from the Alexandra Hotel. It offers amusements and a nightclub. Eastbourne Railway Station is just 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel. This is our guests' favorite part of Eastbourne, according to independent reviews. Groups in particular like the location – they rated it 8 for stays with multiple people. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing