We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable - excellent value - will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Basic but comfortable - excellent value - will stay again”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Easy to find, right on the seafront behind the wish tower. Walking distance to the town centre, pier, theatres and conference centre. Parking is controlled and you can buy a permit (£1 a day) from the hotel reception that allows parking in the side streets - but no the beach side of the seafront.

The hotel is located west of the town centre near the Congress and Devonshire theatres. The road running diagonally behind the hotel has a number of restaurants and shops. Wide range of shopping in the town centre.

The hotel is operated by Ken & Sue - a lovely couple who are very chatty, friendly and helpful. The room has about 45 rooms over three floors. There is one very small and slow lift and a main staircase that covers all floors. Keys are the traditional metal variety!

I had a single, back facing room. It was very basic (this is a 2 star property) but completely functional. There was a basin in the room (rather than in the bathroom). The bed felt like it had seen some action and the pillows were quite thin (I took my own). The small CRT television only had the five terrestial channels (hope they're ready for digital switchover in 2012!!). There are only two power points in the room (fewer than the number of devices I had to charge!). There's a tray with small kettle, mug, teaspoons and coffee and tea. The windows are single glazed.

The bathroom was super compact -just enough space for a toilet and small shower tray. The shower is so small you almost don't have enough space to move around and clean! Fortunately it's a curtain shower so that gives you some flexibility. Water pressure was not bad for being on the top floor, and the water was hot enough. Bathroom was clean.

I only had breakfast in hotel although they do serve a daily set menu dinner. The breakfast options include chilled juices, grapefruit segments, prunes, weetabix, porridge, cornflakes and in the cooked breakfast category: eggs (fried, scrambled), fried bread, tomato, bacon and pork sausage. The marmalade was very good - choice of brown or white toast.

Their website mentioned WiFi - but no evidence when I was there. There is a BTOpenZone/BTFon connection in parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    36
    29
    12
    13
See reviews for
31
56
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed at the Alexandra for one night when visiting the local lammas festival. The hotel is basic (but is only 3 star) but very clean and the staff are very helpful. I asked for a room with twin beds so that i could put them together (double beds just don't cut it in my experience!) and when i got there they offered me another room where two singles had been 'zipped' together which was perfect! the bedding was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. the bathroom was in dire need of updating but was clean. it wasn't somewhere you could eat really as it was very traditional and had a set dinner served very early on in the evening. the breakfast was small but lovely - very well done. Both proprietors were really helpful and friendly and i would say that it was their presence that would definitely prompt me to go again. I do think its a bit overpriced for what it is (so basic and in need of some updating), especially when you have new hotels like the big sleep in eastbourne, but if you want somewhere that is clean, feels safe, and with very helpful staff then i would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We were made welcome from the minute we arrived. Nothing was to much trouble. My wife is on crutches and they went out of their way to help her and make her stay comfortable We hired Mobility Scooters and the staff parked them in the kitchen overnight and recharged the batteries and brought them to the front door every morning,
The meals were very good, always a good choice, and the waitressess were very good.
We had a front bay window room and the view was first class.We had 7 very comfortable days, We both recomend this hotel, try it and you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

From the initial accommodation enquiries to leaving at the end of our holiday we were impressed with the friendliness and consideration from all the staff - nothing was too much trouble.The staff really did want us there and were so happy that we were.
No gripes about anything. Accommodation clean and spacious; breakfast nicely presented and adequate and location absolutely perfect.
Having been in the hospitality business ourselves we tend to be over-critical but could find nothing at all at the Alexandra to criticise - can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2009

I stayed at the Alexandra hotel in September 2009. What a hotel!!!!

The service, location , room and food was what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. This hotel is only 2 star but a very good 2 star at that. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left I could not fault a thing. The food was sensational...the view from the dining room is to die for...the service from the staff was brillaint...All english staff which I liked very much.

I would reccommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in Eastbourne.

We have already booked to stay at the Alexandra for next years conference in September 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairefields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The first thing to say about this hotel is that it is very good value for money and is equal to what you would expect to pay in an average B&B. Within this context, my expectations were never for 5* glamour. It is however in a great location in Eastbourne overlooking the sea and less than 10 minutes walk from the main shops. It has really friendly and helpful staff and owners and was well presented. If you were to pick faults at it, it is a bit tired, the room I was in was not massive and it could do with double glazing but I doubt you will find anywhere else in the area for such a good price

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

THis is probably not the most luxurious hotel but it is very friendly and I LOVE IT. I have been here for over ten years every time I do the Beachy Head Marathon and I have no problems with it. The seaview is lovely but the down side is the noise from the street....There is a great fish and chip restaurant round the corner too. Relaxing in thhe bar is good. THe owners have always been most helpful. It's a good old fashioned British hotel with a bit of character. Great breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doglover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oban
Oban
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Hotel
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a 12-minute walk from the beach. Conveniently situated on Eastbourne’s seafront, the Alexandra Hotel offers a restaurant and a bar. It is just 150 yards from the Winter Gardens and Devonshire Park. The Congress Theatre is only 3 minutes’ walk away. The rooms offer a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Many rooms boast views over Eastbourne Beach and the sea. In the mornings, the Alexandra Hotel serves full English breakfast. Guests can also enjoy fresh and varied English cuisine in the bright dining room, which boasts panoramic ocean views. The hotel also offers 2 lounge areas and a cocktail bar. Eastbourne is home to various restaurants and shops. Eastbourne Pier is only 750 yards from the Alexandra Hotel. It offers amusements and a nightclub. Eastbourne Railway Station is just 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel. This is our guests' favorite part of Eastbourne, according to independent reviews. Groups in particular like the location – they rated it 8 for stays with multiple people. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing