We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Nearby Hotels
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
161
236
144
78
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
236
144
78
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastfurry curtainsbudget hotelsea viewgames roomfull englishsea frontrooms are basicwet roomper daywould stay againparking permityogurtlarge roomnice bathroomshort stayexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My son had booked for two nights at cost of £100. He left after only one night due to endless noise from uncontrolled foreign students running a mock in the hotel having room parties. Tried to get assistance from reception no one responded. My son checked out after the first night hotel refused to reimburse the payment for the second night. Basically paid £100 for a night of screaming , doors banging and unprofessional staff.
The manager did follow up on the complaint offered a night in a suite with a bottle of wine.
Responded to the offer by email to the manager, who has never responded to my email??? Strange approach to customer service. DONT BOTHER WASTE OF MONEY.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Itunesjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Room was Big and Light, room 113. Nice bathroom/wet room, paid £99 for the night, not really worth the money though. Breakfast is continental, prefer Full English, not much selection!! Pros: nice big bed/t.v nice bathroom, decor lovely retro design. Cons: Boring Breakfast, dodgy faux fur curtains (looked very cheap), bit pricey for what it is (Eastbourne).

Room Tip: Go for bigger room if you can afford a bit more
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank debidozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked our first ever stay at The Big Sleep hotel, Eastbourne July 2011 through Late rooms .com and was offered an offer of a suite which we snapped up and oh my how pleased we were that we did decide on. We have stayed at many hotels across the globe from Riu, Sheraton and Lewis group but we were so surprised at the ambiance and the whole package that Big Sleep offers and would recommend a suite stay to anyone that wishes a restful and comfortable stay at reasonable cost. The staff were the Ace cars, Evira is so professional on reception helped by Sharaz ( hope spelling correct?) nothing is too much trouble with a warm smile. We were also impressed by the Manageress and her hands on approach so as to ensure every guest enjoys their stay, again helpful and runs a very fine tuned hotel in great staff, cleanliness and nothing a problem!!!
Tried hard to find fault and if wanted to be pickie, the hotel doesn't offer cooked breakfast BUT do not be detered because the continental is lovely with a mixture of fresh hot croissants, cereals cheese, toast. Yoghurts all in abundance and no one will go hungry. I can only highly recommend this hotel and look forward to booking our return stay in August. Thank you to everyone at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne for a lovely relaxing stay. Here's to many more of these hotels in the coming years.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reboereebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A slightly above budget hotel but with some thoughtful additions. Very helpful staff who take a flexible and helpful approach to meeting needs. Ample continental breakfast included. nice clean rooms and yes there are furry curtains but they are great at keeping out light and helping a good nights sleep. Location good for town and beach front. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The only thing going for this hotel is it location. The room I was located (106) was small dirty and expensive at £80.00 for one night with only a 4 foot 6 inch bed. The decor in the room was the worst I have ever come across with fake fur curtains and more around the edge of the bed, I did not like to think what was living in them. The windows were filthy and there was rubbish piling up on the roof below our window. I did complain at the reception but they could not be less interested. Do yourself a favour and book elsewhere in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hatters11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews