We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, but avoid the toaster!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, but avoid the toaster!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Our twin room was quite basic but clean and comfortable; the bathroom was large and had a shower and bath and plenty of towels. We were on the third floor and were not disturbed by noise at any time. Location was great:just across the road to the beach and lovely gardens and grassy areas which are very well maintained. The included breakfast was a bit disappointing but was adequate. The only negative was the toaster which spewed out eight slices of charcoal before I gave up. The staff were as frustrated by it as I was! Manager please note; this is a problem. I left something in the room when we left and after a phone call Jodie on the desk arranged for it to be sent on. She was helpful and polite as were all the staff we spoke to.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopejoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    218
    124
    68
    43
See reviews for
106
279
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Excellent Location, staff , decor , dog friendly (even dog biscuits for young Bitter).Nothing to much bother.Safe and secure.Wicked infact.Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights during the recent hot spell so saw Eastbourne at it's finest. Great value for money for a clean and basic room that had all the facilities we needed and a nice sea view aswell. It was good to have a bath aswell as a shower.The furry curtains are certainly unusual and not what we would choose for home decor but amused rather than offended, we're sad we didn't have the portrait of John Malkovitch(as mentioned previously) in our room! The staff are lovely and the location is the best. Posh it is not but our bill for 2 drinks at the Grand Hotel was nearly 40% of the cost of our room for a night at the Big Sleep.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view they will give you one if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We booked originally for 2 nights and stayed 6 albeit with a change of room because of previous bookings. Don't expect a standard neutral hotel room; both rooms we tried had vivid blue shaggy curtains, and other odd colours dotted around. Beds are 'made' daily in what we thought was probably only a shake of the duvet which was then left at strange angles almost covering the bed. Front desk staff are well suited to the hotel; delightfully friendly and helpful. Breakfast is the same each day and can be busy at times but there's plenty of it. Car parking in Eastbourne is horribly expensive (like most of the UK as we are finding) but The Big Sleep, in line with other hotels in the town, have a very sensible arrangement with the parking authorities that permit on street parking for only 1 pound a day. Great value in this town

Room Tip: not all rooms have sea views so if that's important for you, check
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here from the 20-23 August 2011. We book a disabled room for my mother who has no mobility at all, and we were very pleased with the room layout and bathroom. There is also a lift for access to the reception area which holds the weight of a mobility scooter. The lift is a little small, loung area very pleasent and styled well. Breakfast was basic, not cooked food and the staff were a little slow clearing the tables for other dinners to use. Would defintely stay here again, only a a short walk from the beach, shopping area and there are plenty of resturants to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nordmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

just returned from staying in big sleep hotel eastbourne we had a suite which was actually a very large room but it did have seaview, large bathroom with rain shower & bath with shower over it walk in wardrobe( but why is there never enough hangers 7 between 2 people) strangest curtains I have ever seen ( 15ft blue faux fur!!!!!!!!!!!!) bed comfy but only 2 pillows per person ( again why), the hospitality tray hidden in the cupboard when it could have been position in a shelf on the wall & do not like wooden disposable stirrers! was the continental breakfast was adequate nothing outstanding on the whole it quite nice place plus it caters for a younger clientel. The staff although young are very pleasant & do their job well.Would I stay there again no but only because there are lots of other places cheaper thar include a cooked english breakfast. Would I reccomend it yes if only for the curtains!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: did not see the other rooms but the suites for the extra money are very large & uncluttered with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergus220809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

hotel was close to the seafront which was nice,friendly staff,great if you have a dog as i did,cost only £5.00 compared to £20.00 in a travel lodge.room was clean and tidy,needed more pillows.the continental breakfast was a let down,very crowded dining area with no space to move.ideal for a night stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bourneagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#35 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing