We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short notice late night stars found us a room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Short notice late night stars found us a room”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Found ourselves in Eastbourne needing to stay over late one night, they couldn't have been more helpful, apologised it was twin beds, but hey for one night and in a lovely room no problem. For £29 it was wonderful, warm, slept like 2 logs, overlooked flat roof which could have made a nice high level garden. Breakfast was included pastries, cereals, toast & spreads, including nice cheddar. I am so amazed at the value we received from these lovely friendly people.

Room Tip: Just be friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review relating to the Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne. As a hotel we always apreciate guest feedback whether it be constructive or positive.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    220
    130
    71
    44
See reviews for
113
285
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We have been here 3 times now and will NEVER EVER return! The first two times we have stayed here a young looking boy was working and couldnt be more helpful but when we stayed this last time there was some stuck up with an attuide girl working we have seen her before but never had any problems, as soon as we walked into the hotel she looked down at us and couldnt be bothered to help at all, we went to the room and phoned room service as it states any food can be ordered to your room she then told me on the phone we had to go down to eat which we did we also order some drinks to our room which she then went to tell us that she had to take a further £50 holding fee... which is totlay bollocks we didnt have any cash on us and wasnt willing to go out into town to the nearest cash machine so we were going to leave it, she then looked at my partner but she wouldnt look me in the face adn said that she had tried to authorise my bank card to take the £50 out of my account which me or my patner had to idea she was going to do... since when do hotel take your money without asking you..?? WE WILL NEVER EVER GO BACK HERE EVER EVER AGAIN it maybe good for a cheap room but the attuide of this girl who presented herself as a MANAGER was disgrasful!

Room Tip: If you book online make sure we ask for a double bed we got given two singles once and when asked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria300790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review relating to the Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne. As a hotel we always apreciate guest feedback whether it be constructive or positive.

I am sorry to read you do not agree to the hotels policy for cash paying guests.
For all guest who wish to settle in cash we take a refundable deposit to cover any extras or damage made during a stay. This deposit is then refunded upon departure. The reason for this is due to guests who leave the hotel without settling any extras, which this guest actually did.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Having arrived off of a cold/damp building site, I was desperate for a bath! We had booked a standard double room for £29.00 on the internet. The lady on the desk confirmed that the room had a bath but then offered us an upgrade to a suite for an extra £25.00. She took us up to our room & we had a roll-top bath in the bedroom. It was absolute bliss. Loved the woolly curtains - kept the cold out. She also recommended a fantastic restaurant just a short walk away - The Belgian cafe.
Breakfast was good - continental - we didn't upgrade to the cooked breakfast so cannot comment on this.
Definate value for money & will definately be visiting again.

Room Tip: Suite 313 - roll top bath & sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review relating to the Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne. As a hotel we always apreciate guest feedback whether it be constructive or positive.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Had a nice stay at this hotel :)
I did have a problem with the site I booked with as the dates had changed so booked a Sunday instead of a Saturday :( The company called the hotel and they were not willing to change this so I had to book another night which turned out not to be the bargain I thought :( But then this was my fault as I never completely checked the booking before I hit the agree button Doh!!!! Hotel was friendly, warm and clean and good value for money :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Just walked past this place today on the waterfront on the lookout for a place with an Internet cafe. Encouraged by four or five shabby looking posters, all badly bleached from months out in the sun and soggied by months of winter rain, reading 'non-residents welcome' and through the window a spacious basement with 'Broadband' in big bold letters spread across the wall. The woman at the front desk followed me down the stairs, asked me what I thought I was doing and told me to leave as I was not a guest. I just wanted to put in a pound and print a boarding pass!! Charming.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carvedouttawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 April 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not have good experience.
The non-residents sign is referred to bar, just like any other hotel you go in and you see a sign welcoming non-rsidents. Had we advertised internet cafe services I am sure there would have been a sign to say so.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just returned home from staying at this hotel. Fir a budget hotel it is certainly value for money (an unbelievable £35.00 the room plus limitless continental breakfast). In contrast to other reviews, we found all areas spotlessly clean and really helpful and efficient staff. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bothmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henlow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Room very basic, some weird fake fur curtains, grey carpet like you'd have in an office, very stained, bathroom was like in a cupboard, very clean apart from the floor which I think behind the door had never been cleaned, tea and coffee making facilities consisted of only milk no tea bags or coffee, room had very strange smell (musty and dirty carpet), breakfast very basic, price of room very reasonable but cleanliness costs nothing, would not choose to stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenlowL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 April 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing