We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent stay, lovely concept, average staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasent stay, lovely concept, average staff”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

It is certain that we are going to check this place first, if we ever plan to visit Eastbourne again. Some earlier visitor had complained the hotel to be too fluffy, be we saw it opposite. Modern, slightly with blue and hairy curtains seasoned but other ways plain and light cleaness was a refreashing change after various nights in stuffy english interiors.

Staff could have been more friendly overall and interested about our experience. Some of them did, but some of them hardly spoked to us. Althought we stayed two nights in a suite.

Breakfest was traditional, simple and good, even though, we hoped for vedgetables, which we never find in a morning table in England, and can't see why.

A REAL and properly working shower (that incl. water mixer) in the bathroom. Water, as hot, cold or anything you like between, right when hou like it. We have learned that it's an exception in England, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    226
    135
    73
    44
See reviews for
115
292
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We recently stayed at his hotel when we were in town for a wedding. This kind of concept in a hotel really appeals to us... keeping it simple and modern whilst leaving some character in a lovely old building.

We stayed in a suite (we booked late and all the doubles were gone) which was essentially a really, really big Victorian room with absolutely massive windows that you could open and walk out of, to a narrow balcony ledge, affording absolutely gorgeous views over the seafront. Equally nice view from the bathroom. Waking up to this on a sunny Sunday morning was excellent.

The breakfast is also really appealing. The included option is cereals, fruit (and nice fruit not tinned stuff) toast, pastries (warmed, tasty and frequently replenished), coffee/tea- and for a little extra you can order two sizes of full English. This I think is a good idea; normally if there is a full English on offer at a b&b I invariably just eat it - even if deep down you really don't need it or want it. But this "continental" version was more than adequate and I quite like the fact they hadn't bothered with cheeses and meat- this is Eastbourne, not Tuscany after all! We didn't order the full English but saw others and it looked good. It was nice to think they saved on this option but it was there if you wanted it.

We really liked what they were aiming for with the décor - cool colours, fairly minimalist with the odd quirky highlight / artwork / mirror etc. It lacked a bit in execution we thought; with such a large room one, of the walls was pretty much completely bare and it was bordering on a bit stark. In places it has become also ever so slightly shabby from wear and tear, which is fine but they will need to make sure they keep on top of little repairs and maintenance to make sure it doesn't get too shabby.

The shower was great and the place was absolutely spotless.

There were a few niggles, minor all, but it is what takes it from a five to a four star rating. The check-in time at 3pm is quite late, and also whilst not-unfriendly, the check in could have been a bit friendlier. Although it says there is parking outside, it's not clear how this works until you get there and then go in and ask - fine if you are in a party of two or more but not great if you were by yourself - they could perhaps put some more info on the website (or make it easier to find as I couldn't). There was also a funny smell in the communal entrance area to the first floor and on the stairs - perhaps someone had been unwell, which the hotel of course has little control of, but it really didn't smell so good. Also, an email I sent to the hotel before booking took a couple of days to be answered, again, not major but all add up to a few niggles.

We really did like this hotel and for Eastbourne it was pretty good value, with a few improvements it could be awesome. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in on the first floor had amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillOnTheHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here in a single room for one night in September 2013. It's a fairly generic kind of place. Some effort has been made to make it 'quirky' with furry curtains and bed base and bright and vibrant furniture in public areas.

My room was functional. Flatscreen TV on the wall under the clothes hanging space. Hang your clothes up or watch TV. Not both. No extra touches that give a feeling of attention to detail. Single bed, hanging space, desk and chair. That's pretty much it. Bathroom was clean with a big deep bath and plenty of hot water. This was the best feature. Bed was comfortable enough. A view of the sea at an angle, not straight on. Windows opened to let fresh air in. The location is on the seafront and it's an easy walk to restaurants in the streets near the pier.
Breakfast was ok. Continental included in the 45 pound tariff and cooked available for an extra 3 quid.

Wi-fi is available at a charge. 7.50 for 24 hours. About 5 quid for 6 hours. Less time also available. To me, it's bad business to charge for wi-fi these days. It's no longer an 'extra'. It's like charging for TV. In hotels now, I generally don't watch TV. Entertainment is mostly on my laptop via wi-fi. I'm sure I'm not the only one who resents paying for wi-fi when it's free at most places.

This hotel has the feel of a place that was born of a good idea to provide value accommodation with a quirky vibe but hasn't been well looked after. The walls of my room had a lot of dirty marks. A lot. It's not that hard to wipe dirty marks off the walls, but this hadn't happened for some time. Same in the hotel corridors. And as other reviewers have reported, a smell of disinfectant around reception and corridors. The carpet around reception was a bit like the floor covering you'd find in a fitness centre change room and it was worn. Carpet in my room was also industrial strength - hard and wiry.

My experience here was ok. It feels a bit like a high end hostel. The staff varied from friendly and helpful to unsmiling and brisk. I wouldn't stay again. At 45 pounds for a single, you can do better at a smaller B&B along the seafront where there is some attention and care about detail. Try Breakers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A group of us stayed on Friday 13th. We had the triple room and it was a nice clean large room.
We arrived late evening and the two mature gentleman at the receptions desk were extremely helpful. Continental breakfast was more than enough and the pastries were lovely and fresh. Our only gripe is those awful furry curtains and the furry bed bases, they look so un-hygenic, cheap and grubby. The hotel already has a hostel feel to it and there was a horrible strong smell of disinfectant mixed with something else not very nice in the corridors which wafted under the doors into the bedrooms. Although the triple room itself was nice I have doubts whether we would stay there again as the smell was a bit off putting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CID007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Whilst undoubtedly this hotel is reasonably priced, its a case of you get what you pay for. The rooms are basic but have everything you need for a short stay. Breakfast was included in the price and was plentiful. My only complaints are that I think someone had been ill in reception (the smell of which was masked heavily by disinfectant when we came back later in the evening) and that the walls are made of paper, so if you have noisy neighbours (as we did, we could hear everything!) sleep is minimal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harefield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a recent trip and came across the Big Sleep.The price was certainly right,but saying that I still like a certain standard. We were a little apprehensive as it did seem so much cheaper than other hotels in the area. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The reception area was very bright and quirky,check in very efficient and professional. I was able to park in the street outside and provided with a parking permit for £1. Our room ,a twin with a lovely sea view was spotlessly clean and very comfy. Yes the minimalist decor would not be too all tastes but to me it was nice.much better than the usual flowery chintz. We were even lucky enough to have proms in the park playing on the green outside. Slept really well with no noise. Breakfast next morning was lovely,we had the continental breakfast which was included in the price and consisted of fruit,yoghurt,cereals,toast and pastries along with juices and hot drinks,all very nice. There is an option to upgrade to a full English for £3.50. We never had this but saw someone having it and it looked lovely,a bargain.
Overall we had a great stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Overall, we had a lovely stay and were impressed with our first time in a Big Sleep Hotel. We loved the decor (bright and modern lounge and room, furry curtains in the bedroom etc). The service was good, bed very comfy and we slept well. The continental breakfast was good, well presented and lots of choice and overall we felt the price was very good for our 1 night stay. A few little things that could be improved; though its always nice to know where you're staying is being well cleaned, there was an overpowering smell of bleach at times (near the stairs) which was a bit off putting and some areas of the hotel (particularly hall ways) looked like they could do with a bit of a spruce and made more homely. All in all, a good stay and we'd stay in one of these again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentcouple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing