We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Kent
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely location
Basic accommodation but very clean and modern
Compares to a travel lodge
Pay for room not person so great for families
Almost next door to the Grand Hotel and part of a beautiful old building adjoining another hotel
Ideal for the Congress And Devonshire Theatres
Nice public area with TV and comfy chairs plus good breakfast and service
Close to beach and Wish Tower
I will come again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pauljvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    218
    124
    68
    43
See reviews for
106
279
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

When booking this hotel the reviews did not excite me i actually booked on the look of the room the dates & the good value, I was exceptionally pleased from the first contact with the reception staff asking for a parking permit costing £1 a day i was given clear and precise instructions on how to use which does need to be right as the wardens will ticket you for any imperfections. The room was massive double bed /A comfy chair a Chez-lounge type couch,desk and chair a good sized telly at the end of the bed only 12 channels but a good mix strange furry curtains not to everybodys taste but they do their job no light and very little noise gets through.The bathroom has a bath a sink toilet and wet room style shower with a large head we had dual aspect windows both with sea views the continental style brekkie was very good help yourself, cereals
pastries,toast ,fresh fruit ,juices yes the coffee is from a machine but again there is a good choice latte/cappachino etc you could also for £3.50 get a 5 item cooked breakfast which looked very good and i heard no complaints this could also be upgraded . I would probably give this an excellent on the rating bar but baring in mind there is no restuarant as such in the hotel i think the 4 bar rating is fair they do have some bar snacks please also read the hotel website before booking at this hotel as they are very honest in telling people they allow pets and do welcome hen & Stag party's. All this aside my wife and i are not youngsters but we had a very enjoyable stay and already enquired regarding another stay. Staff excellent beer prices for a hotel reasonable

Room Tip: The front corner rooms have dual aspect views both looking at the sea they are suite size although w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel and room were immaculately clean. The price is excellent for the facilities and the continental breakfast is sufficient. Staff very helpful. The only downside was that one of our family is
fairly disabled and one lift was out of order. The second lift is very old fashioned and difficult to open/close.

One room had good views of the seafront, the second situated at the back of the building, and we were awakened by very noisy seagulls early in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 492Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Only good thing about this hotel is that continental breakfast was included, and even at that the coffee was from a machine. Bed was uncomfortable and broken. Pillow like a brick. Lack of hot water/pressure in shower. Toilet not flushing correctly. Psychedelic cookie monster curtains and bed. Do not stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Two night stay whilst visiting family. We took our dog on one of the nights as well, the staff are great. the room was perfect we stayed in a suite on the front so view was amazing - continental breakfast was just right - we can't fault this hotel for the price is brilliant

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enty1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The most important thing i judge a budget hotel on is it's cleanliness. I have to say for the price of this hotel in comparison to others i was pleasantly surprised at how convenient and clean it was. It's right by the sea and easy to find.

A taxi from the station was only a few pound and is about a 15 minute walk but we had a lot of bags.

Continental breakfast was included in the price and a full English was reasonably priced.

While this is not a complaint the power sockets could have been better placed and TV for the 5 minutes we had it on wasn't great quality. Otherwise this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed overnight. The bed in comfortable enough. The room is good size. Very modern and not to everyone's liking. The fluffy curtains is not really a great idea in a hotel rooms. Looks scruffy.
You do get what you pay for though. Breakfast was basic but ok.
The hotel is in the quieter part of town so not so too bad to park on the road.
The lift was out of order, so has to use the service lift, which is very noisy and jerky, but better than stairs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissMiss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#31 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing