We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, good value and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We needed needed a room at short notice in Eastbourne and for a good price. I'd been to the Big Sleep before on business so checked out the room rates and was impressed.

Booking was very easy over the phone, I tried over the Internet and that's my only criticism; that there wasn't instant booking available, we would have had to wait to confirm room availability.

Checking in was easy too, friendly staff. The room was very comfortable and very simple. Floor length fluffy curtains which were far nicer than you'd imagine :) There's a really nice lounge area that you feel comfy sat in.

We had the continental breakfast which was lovely and plenty of it. Lots of young families.

It is a budget hotel but they look after it well. It's cosy, well thought out and we'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Big Sleep for a few weeks in March as we were on business on the South Coast and were very surprised after reading some of the reviews. Our room - a double - was HUGE and very very clean. Same as some other reviews, we were a bit bemused by the faux fur curtains, but they certainly worked when the wind got up. Staff are very friendly and attentive, the breakfast (included) is fantastic value and well worth getting up for. Centrally located and for the price, couldn't recommend it higher.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very apprehensive when booking as pictures on web site intriguing. However highly delighted. Upgraded as toilet seat broken in original room. Staff very attentive and polite. Bath towels fluffy and large, supplied toiletries a good quality. Lot of hot water. Strange curtains like faux fur, however when the wind increased they really worked and at night like black out curtains. Expected included continental breakfast to be sparse but it was great. A cooked breakfast for £3 50 extra was freshly cooked- an excellent idea. The lift was out of order so had to use a creaky but efficient service lift. Doors hard to open and close but better than walking up the stairs. Wish there were more 'Big Sleeps' available.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite it's well worth it. The views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannymuggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you take into account this is a three star hotel you get quite alot for your money, friendly staff, clean rooms, ensuite wetroom, complimentary shower gel, tea and coffee facilities, flat screen tv, downside was the bed was an old spring mattress, quite uncomfortable and noisey, breakfast was lovely and fresh, toast, juices, jams, pastries, cereal, fruit, we had a double fry up for £5 each which was very nice, all in all i would return again, thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisarutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely location
Basic accommodation but very clean and modern
Compares to a travel lodge
Pay for room not person so great for families
Almost next door to the Grand Hotel and part of a beautiful old building adjoining another hotel
Ideal for the Congress And Devonshire Theatres
Nice public area with TV and comfy chairs plus good breakfast and service
Close to beach and Wish Tower
I will come again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank pauljvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

When booking this hotel the reviews did not excite me i actually booked on the look of the room the dates & the good value, I was exceptionally pleased from the first contact with the reception staff asking for a parking permit costing £1 a day i was given clear and precise instructions on how to use which does need to be right as the wardens will ticket you for any imperfections. The room was massive double bed /A comfy chair a Chez-lounge type couch,desk and chair a good sized telly at the end of the bed only 12 channels but a good mix strange furry curtains not to everybodys taste but they do their job no light and very little noise gets through.The bathroom has a bath a sink toilet and wet room style shower with a large head we had dual aspect windows both with sea views the continental style brekkie was very good help yourself, cereals
pastries,toast ,fresh fruit ,juices yes the coffee is from a machine but again there is a good choice latte/cappachino etc you could also for £3.50 get a 5 item cooked breakfast which looked very good and i heard no complaints this could also be upgraded . I would probably give this an excellent on the rating bar but baring in mind there is no restuarant as such in the hotel i think the 4 bar rating is fair they do have some bar snacks please also read the hotel website before booking at this hotel as they are very honest in telling people they allow pets and do welcome hen & Stag party's. All this aside my wife and i are not youngsters but we had a very enjoyable stay and already enquired regarding another stay. Staff excellent beer prices for a hotel reasonable

Room Tip: The front corner rooms have dual aspect views both looking at the sea they are suite size although w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel and room were immaculately clean. The price is excellent for the facilities and the continental breakfast is sufficient. Staff very helpful. The only downside was that one of our family is
fairly disabled and one lift was out of order. The second lift is very old fashioned and difficult to open/close.

One room had good views of the seafront, the second situated at the back of the building, and we were awakened by very noisy seagulls early in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 492Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,526 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £32 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing