We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class!”
Review of Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterside Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel is amazing! So comfortable and such good service. The staff are so fantastic - they can't do enough for you. The restaurant is superb - never before have I tasted such perfect flavour combinations - well worthy of the two rosettes! And to top it all - the Bath Butler service (they run you a bubble bath and decorate the room with candles and rose petals, and on the side is an inviting ice cold glass of champagne!!) is a touch of class! Well done Waterside - we will be back. Thank you

Room Tip: The Sunrise room has amazing seaview and sunrise view, very comfortable, with a big double bath and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CockneyRebelEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is the 2nd time we have spent New Years Eve in this hotel We think it is good value for money. The rooms are veryy clean and up to date with every amenity including fridge/mini bar, safe ( very good for leaving wallets and other valuables on New years eve|) The staff are brilliant and very attentive. Nothing is too much trouble. We look forward to next new Years Eve

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Mars star viewing suit:
We had a nice two night stay. It was spacious and clean, the room service good and location fabulous however.....we where concerned that 4 of the overhead light were broken this fr a boutique hotel was not up to standard, also we where dissointed that the free sat box was very cheap and a nightmare to use :/

We also found the single glazed widow noisy very draughty, we liked the sky light but the dirt made it hard to look through when the moon was bright, lastly the milk ration where inadequate for two very cold and wet people needing a cuppa.
The free cooked breakfast was average but we like it however on going out in the morning and returning seven hour later we where very annoyed to see our breakfast things unmoved, to make this worse it was in a prime dinning spot with a full view from the road.

On arrival I arranged the bath butler it was fantastic very good value top class bubbly in the bath and in our glasses :).

The room service was excellent they even put on special orders just for us, but £12 for two sanwitches was too much.

We really enjoyed our stay 8 out of 10 xxx we will be back xxx

Thanks dan and jo xx
O

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanddanxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Lovely hotel with high quality fittings etc.Extremely friendly helpful staff.....nothing was too much trouble and although New Years Eve was obviously very busy the service we received was fast and attentive at all times

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We hadn't stayed in Eastbourne before so not sure what to expect. We booked the New Year's Eve package fairly late in the day because the hotel website looked good and Tripadvisor reassured us that the Waterside would fit the bill. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in Sunrise, overlooking the sea. A great room, extremely comfortable with wonderful views of the sea and pier. Everything was provided, including dressing gowns and slippers. The 7 course 'taster' meal was delicious and the live band was very versatile and got most of us dancing as the clocks struck midnight. We enjoyed a nice English breakfast the next morning and were really pleased to see that weekend breakfasts were served until midday, our check out time. It took us about 15 minutes to walk into the centre of Eastbourne along the sea front. It did take us a little time to find a parking space on arrival but the cost was so small (£1 permit from reception) that it was a small inconvenience. Other towns on the South Coast can be far more challenging! We'll certainly go back.

Room Tip: Go for one of the double sea view rooms, Sunrise or Sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefiftiesclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I have stayed at various hotels in Eastbourne over the years and have yet to be impressed...that is until my father recommended Waterside Hotel. The staff were amazing and the food is to die for! The deluxe sea view room really was that...amazing view ( a sea view you couldn't fault!), spacious room, luxurious bathroom and an extremely comfy bed. My stay was so amazing that I am going to stay there again in the next couple of weeks. I thoroughly recommend!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline1980London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and I booked the "Christmas package" at the Waterside. We had a good room overlooking the sea. Dinner on Christmas Eve was excellent - certainly living up to the hotel's two rosette award. The first two courses of Christmas lunch - soup and a fish dish - were also outstanding. Unfortunately, it all went downhill from there. The turkey was luke warm, the roast potatoes were like bullets, the stuffing like cinders, and the vegetables shrivelled with age. It was the sort of meal a transport cafe would have been ashamed to serve. In the evening, we were promised a "light buffet". It turned out to consist mainly of turkey sandwiches. Not good enough and very disappointing considering the excellent start the hotel had made. When we came to leave, we were accused of not paying for some drinks - which were clearly shown and paid for on our bill. A low point to leave on.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#36 of 40 in Eastbourne
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion Lions Hotel
Mansion Lions Hotel
#35 of 40 in Eastbourne
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £66 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing