We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the decline I'm afraid”
Review of Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterside Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay here about 18 months ago and so were looking forward very much to going back as we don't get to go away without the children very often. The whole experience this time didn't get off to the best of starts when, having booked online the same sea view room we were in last time, my wife was phoned two days later and told their server was down and as a result we couldn't have the room we wanted. After bursting into tears having looked forward so much to our weekend away, only to be told the room was double booked, she eventually compromised by accepting a cheaper, non sea view room and the promise of them 'doing something special' for our dinner.

When we arrived on the day however, the room we had been told we couldn't have was now available again and for the inconvenience caused they had put a chilled bottle of Prosecco in the room. So far, so good, but, when we went down to dinner in the evening was when the real disappointment began. We sat in the bar for 10 minutes whilst one member of staff tried unsuccessfully to cope with a Saturday night crowd. Eventually I beckoned a waitress from the restaurant across and asked her if it was possible to have a drink. Then, when we got to our table, the menu that is clearlty advertised online had been totally replaced by a "February special' menu which offered half price food Monday to Thursday but not at weekends.

This menu was far less extensive than the ne we had previously been used to. In fact, part of the reason my wife booked the hotel again was that she knew we would both love certain items on the now still advertised online but during February defunct menu. Not only that, the wine list, which used to boast a selection of old and new world reds as well as several boutique reds had been dramatically reduced to just six choices of red. Again, the previous wine list is still asvertised online and was also pat of the decision making process. The result was that we were neither able to at the food we wanted nor choose the wine we had in mind as none of them were available anymore, despite being advertised on their website.

The food that did arrive was acceptable but vastly over-priced, not least as we had to pay rate card rather than enjoy the half price deal on offer during the week. 3 scallops for £9. A bit of plaice and rice for £16. No soup option at all on the menu either. Indeed there were maybe 6 choices of starter and main course in total. Hugely disappointing to say the least.

They say never go back, and when one pays over £200 for one night away and has looked forward to the trip for a long time before the day, you can imagine the disappointment of not being able to choose from the food or wine menu that you remember, despite it still being flagged up online.

Having been more than happy to recommend the Waterside we would struggle to do so with any confidence these days. The phrase is "Less is more" springs to mind, but in this instance not "less COST more", far more than it was worth!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alconcalcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed one night, enjoyed dinner, breakfase and lunch at the hotel, all were very nice. Rooms are very nice. Staff are very friendly and are willing to do what it takes so you have a fantastic stay.
We shall be going back!

Room Tip: Standard are of good quality, but if you want that something extra, then go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastSussexBiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our second trip to the 'trendy' Waterside and this time around we took advantage of the January offer - fantasic value! As with last time (November 2010) we dined in the restaurant and the food was very good indeed especially with the 50% discount menu which didn't restrict our choice at all and the service was friendly and efficient. We managed to grab a room with a sea view and the aspect and location is quite superb although the shower was lacking in pressure this time around. In the not too distant future I will be celebrating my 50th birthday with my son who will be celebrating his 18th and we would love to treat our close friends and their kids to a weekend at this fabulous hotel. Keep up the winning formula!

Room Tip: Try to book early for a sea view.........it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Spent two nights in the "Osaka" room for our 11th annerversary. The jacuzzi was fantastic and a great way to set the mood for a romantic break. would definitly recommend eating in the restaraunt as the food was ammazing. will defo add this to my places to re-visit :_)

"Big thumbs up"

To all the staff at waterside eastbourne

well done and thank you !!!!!!

Room Tip: For a romantic break try the "Aqua" or "Osaka" rooms. (they have a jacuzzi)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We booked to take advantage of the 50% offer during January. I arrived early and made the most of 50% spa treatments, which were great. Unfortunately we couldn't get a sea facing room but had the Venus room which was really nice with lovely views of the downs. Dined in the restaurant where the food was fab (steak and wine special offer a knock out), service a little on the slow side but otherwise faultless.
The only disappointment was going to the Grand for drinks which is very overrated, we shouldn't have bothered to venture out of the Waterside.

Definately planning to visit and even without 50% discount, well worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddie2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I always stay in this hotel when I'm in the area on business. Fantastic rooms,superb staff. I brought my French and German colleages here ( who are not easily impressed ) who thought it was delightfull.Excellent decor and stylish touches make this " Boutique Hotel " a pleasure to stay in. Well done to the owners for attention to detail in everyway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Couldn't say one bad thing about my stay at Waterside hotel. The staff were super friendly and really made an effort with everything. The night porter made us cheese toasties at 4am free of charge and received free cocktails at the bar. The rooms are beautifully clean and the breakfasts is also great.
We got the basement Aqua room, where we organised a Bath Butler to have the bath ready for us upon arrival. Lots of bubbles candles flowers and 2 glasses of champers, very romantic, definitely recommend that service.
We went during the January sale 50% off so got a room for two nights two people for £135 absolute bargain....But make sure if you are looking to use the spa that you book in advance as there were not free spots available when we were there.

Anyway top notch i 100% recommend it :)

Room Tip: The aqua room is right bellow the restaurant so can here the footsteps above, i didn't mind, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
289 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion Lions Hotel
Mansion Lions Hotel
#35 of 40 in Eastbourne
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £66 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing