We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
US$266
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$75
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
New Wilmington Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Afton Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
177
152
78
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
152
78
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi roomsunset roomroll top bathsea viewfull englishmini bardouble showertop floorgroupon dealstandard roomlovely bathroomtwo nightssmall hotelbreakfast was includedsea fronta lovely staytown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My boyfriend & I have visited this hotel a number of times and enjoy our stay every time. Staff are helpful and friendly, rooms are very clean and location is excellent. Would definitley recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaknapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Waterside at the weekend for one night. We had a warm welcome on reception and were shown to our room. The only downside was the room was a little on the small side and only had a shower room ensuite, but otherwise it was very clean and very nicely furnished. We had one of the best meals we have ever had in the restaurant, equal if not better than any we have eaten in top london restaurants and half the price. We had breakfast in the terrace room facing the sea in the morning which was beautiful as the sun was shining. All in all, a lovely hotel which I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, which was a little noisy as it was the first room everyone walked past. Also, the shower has no curtain or door so the bathroom floor is soaked everytime you shower. I would recommend upgrading to a larger suite if you can, although I believe they may all be sea facing which is a lovely view, but could be quite noisy in high season.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay here about 18 months ago and so were looking forward very much to going back as we don't get to go away without the children very often. The whole experience this time didn't get off to the best of starts when, having booked online the same sea view room we were in last time, my wife was phoned two days later and told their server was down and as a result we couldn't have the room we wanted. After bursting into tears having looked forward so much to our weekend away, only to be told the room was double booked, she eventually compromised by accepting a cheaper, non sea view room and the promise of them 'doing something special' for our dinner.

When we arrived on the day however, the room we had been told we couldn't have was now available again and for the inconvenience caused they had put a chilled bottle of Prosecco in the room. So far, so good, but, when we went down to dinner in the evening was when the real disappointment began. We sat in the bar for 10 minutes whilst one member of staff tried unsuccessfully to cope with a Saturday night crowd. Eventually I beckoned a waitress from the restaurant across and asked her if it was possible to have a drink. Then, when we got to our table, the menu that is clearlty advertised online had been totally replaced by a "February special' menu which offered half price food Monday to Thursday but not at weekends.

This menu was far less extensive than the ne we had previously been used to. In fact, part of the reason my wife booked the hotel again was that she knew we would both love certain items on the now still advertised online but during February defunct menu. Not only that, the wine list, which used to boast a selection of old and new world reds as well as several boutique reds had been dramatically reduced to just six choices of red. Again, the previous wine list is still asvertised online and was also pat of the decision making process. The result was that we were neither able to at the food we wanted nor choose the wine we had in mind as none of them were available anymore, despite being advertised on their website.

The food that did arrive was acceptable but vastly over-priced, not least as we had to pay rate card rather than enjoy the half price deal on offer during the week. 3 scallops for £9. A bit of plaice and rice for £16. No soup option at all on the menu either. Indeed there were maybe 6 choices of starter and main course in total. Hugely disappointing to say the least.

They say never go back, and when one pays over £200 for one night away and has looked forward to the trip for a long time before the day, you can imagine the disappointment of not being able to choose from the food or wine menu that you remember, despite it still being flagged up online.

Having been more than happy to recommend the Waterside we would struggle to do so with any confidence these days. The phrase is "Less is more" springs to mind, but in this instance not "less COST more", far more than it was worth!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alconcalcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed one night, enjoyed dinner, breakfase and lunch at the hotel, all were very nice. Rooms are very nice. Staff are very friendly and are willing to do what it takes so you have a fantastic stay.
We shall be going back!

Room Tip: Standard are of good quality, but if you want that something extra, then go for a suite.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastSussexBiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our second trip to the 'trendy' Waterside and this time around we took advantage of the January offer - fantasic value! As with last time (November 2010) we dined in the restaurant and the food was very good indeed especially with the 50% discount menu which didn't restrict our choice at all and the service was friendly and efficient. We managed to grab a room with a sea view and the aspect and location is quite superb although the shower was lacking in pressure this time around. In the not too distant future I will be celebrating my 50th birthday with my son who will be celebrating his 18th and we would love to treat our close friends and their kids to a weekend at this fabulous hotel. Keep up the winning formula!

Room Tip: Try to book early for a sea view.........it's worth it
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews