We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed, Bath and telescope!”
Review of Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterside Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Friendly, lovely staff. Big comfy bed, squishy, velvety carpet, quiet room with a brilliant sea view. We had the 'Sunrise' room with big bay windows (that opened fully!) Fun to be able to loaf in a deckchair (or roll-top bath) & watch the sea :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJollyRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside_Manager, Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again for another "bed, bath and telescope"! Or why not try one of our Jacuzzi room next time? Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

lovely hotel and would recomment anyone to stay here. when we turned up the lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful. we went to our room which was lovely. Im very fussy and like to have a modern but CLEAN room and that is what we got! We stayed in the aqua room. we went and had a cocktail made up for us at the bar which was lovely and sat over looking the beach. Our bed was lovely, better than our one at home, which has made me wana buy a new mattress haha. In the morning there was no rush to get up which was nice, then we had breakfast. We choice the fry-up, small portions but very nice. over all fab weekend at the waterside hotel we would stay again aslong as we had a good offer like we got when we stayed there this time. I have rated value on the price we paid not the price it is normally.

Room Tip: if you want seaviews dont pick the aqua room even tho a fab room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetpeachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside_Manager, Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. I am glad to read how much you enjoyed every little thing during your stay. I understand a good deal is always better so I hope you are receiving our monthly newsletter because we have some great offers coming up in March :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Just back from a wintery trip to Gary barlow and home vía eastbourne.

Checked in early due to snow in Brighton prompting us to leave there early. Couldnt get in room but waited with a drink while early check in was sorted. Friendly service and Lovely drinks too.

Seaview room was great, hice and spacious, but the sub zero temperature outside meant it was still quite cold when after we came back from lunchtime walk due to old style window.
Ended up changing to an ínside room which although of a lesser Standard pricewise was still very nice, although smaller and Warmer.

Breakfast was full english, altjough there were other options. That was yummy.
There was no food in the evening , but ootion to order some in. Evening recieptionist eve was helpful.

plenty of places to eat nearby, the Marine pub did a good lunch menú and we had a hice snack by the fire there.

Overall, despite the weather we had a good time.
I think the hotel was great, with good attentive staff on the front desk. Both rooms i saw were well decorated and the main áreas well presented.
We would definately come back next time we are down in the area.

I did hear someone complaining loudly about his room, and brwakfast while i was there. I think he must have been short a few tastebuds, and stayin. On the beach. We exchanged glances with another couple as if to say "really?". There is always someone trying it on!

Waterside you are doing a good job, keep it up!


Note

Parking was 1 quid all day with hotel pass.
It looks like ir might get busy but what seaside roads dont? We had no probs.

Tesco Express within 3 mins walk.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrewWoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside_Manager, Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are keeping up the good work! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the terrible weather you had at the time. It would be such a pleasure to have you again in better conditions. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked to go as a get away for New years eve. We arrived and the reception lady was very helpful and friendly. Was very impressed at the hotels boutique style decor. Had a modern feel to it. I was expecting an older style. So this was a great surprise, as Eastbourne can be very traditional. We got the keys to our room and the receptionist helped me with my bag up to room 4. I definately feel that our room deserved a 4 star rating rather than a 3. I loved the swan towel and the other extras that are in the room. I Enjoyed the bathroom and the bath was lovely and big. On our first night we had a knock at the door around 7.30pm and it was another lady who came to give us a complimentary cocktail with a mince pie. What a lovely touch. We slept well and went down for breakfast. Breakfast was order from the menu with good choices on there. My only complaint was the coffee was a little strong. All in all my stay was very plesant and we will return in the new year. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemstars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside_Manager, Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the modernity of our Boutique Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We have just spent two nights at the hotel and have to admit we were rather disappointed. We stayed in a sea view room, which as promised had lovely views, but to be honest that is about all. The weather was not fabulous, which in January is to be expected, and obviously nothing can be done about that, but the lovely sash windows are in need of attention and I would strongly recommend the owners consider some kind of secondary glazing or at least attend to the seals around the frames! There was a constant icy blast of air coming from all three bay windows and despite putting both blinds down, we could not get warm! We had to resort to putting both radiators on high all day and night, which surely must be costly to the hotel? Our bath had a leaky tap which had to be left running or it made a high pitched squeak, although the receptionist did offer to get a plumber in if we wished. There was very limited storage for our clothes and a lack of hangers in the wardrobe. When we spent some time in the bar, they were lacking a lot of stock, almost as if they were winding down? The ladies toilets had faulty lights and the fire doors on the stairs were very badly positioned, opening directly onto the stairs with no landing in one place. We have been assured that the hotel 'used to be' much better and is looking 'rather tired'. On the plus side........the towels were lovely and thick, the staff were excellent, the breakfast delicious, the bed comfy and the view fabulous. In summary I felt that this was rather expensive accommodation and would not stay there again

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms, but bring your thermals in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCB12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We visited on a Groupon deal so were unsure what to expect. The lady on reception was very helpful and so friendly. We had a swan towel on the bed and cocktails and popcorn later in the evening compliments of the hotel. Breakfast was included and again the morning staff were very friendly. We are planning on going back for our anniversary xxx

Room Tip: No pool but no other option so chose excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside_Manager, Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Carmen, thank you very much for leaving us a review. I am glad to see you appreciated all our boutiques touches during your stay as well as our friendly team. I am very looking forward to welcoming you for your anniversary. Let us know in advance and we will make sure this year is just that little extra special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have been to the waterside about 4 times and each time we have enjoyed ourselves immensely. The rooms are always immaculate & the staff are very helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel. It will be good when the restaurant re opens as we really enjoyed the meal that we had last year

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside_Manager, Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Emma, thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am happy to hear that you keep visiting us and always enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
943 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.6 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £66 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing