We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again & Looking Forwards To Next Time Already.”
Review of Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterside Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our Return Yet Again This Time For Airbourne 2013 Overnight Stay.So Lovely To Be Back Great Service Yet Again On Arrival.We Stayed In Another Room The Deluxe Seaview Room What An Amazing View And As Staying Again We Were Treated To The Lovely Swan Towels & Rose Pettals On The Bed And Candles & Bath Oils For That Wow Experiance. Thank You So Much Yet Again For The Excellent Friendly Service. Honestly Everything You Ask For Is Done For You To Really Make Your Stay Enjoyable And Nothing Seems To Much Trouble. We Treated Ourselfs To Breckfast In Bed Yet Again & Wow The Breckfast Was Amazing Everything We Had Asked For Yet Again. We Love The Extra Time For Checkout Time To Let Breckfast Go Down And Admire The Views From The Room Watching The World Go Bye. Honestly Would Highly Reccomend This Lovely Hotel And A Huge Thank You To All The Staff We Are So Looking Forwards To Comming Back Again Soon.
Wayne & Debbie

Room Tip: Would Highly Reccomend Staying In Sea View Rooms Amazing Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hotel was lovely very clean room was quiet hot in the room and bed was uncomfortable but room was nice good size.staff were wonderful so helpful and friendly and breakfast was perfect overall a lovely hotel and would stay again thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrslaurap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Unfortunately a very different experience to some of the other reviews...this was the email we felt compassioned to send after our stay last weekend...

Just a quick email to let you know how disappointed we were with our
stay at your 'Boutique' hotel.

Firstly the Jacuzzi was less than adequate for two adults to enjoy the
benefits of a) because of its less than
impressive size and b) because of its uncleanliness on arrival....a
little off putting. The photos are misleading in
your portfolio. Perhaps you should publish the measurements?

Secondly, the room was unbearably hot to the point staff finally
installed a second fan ...you should really
consider installing air conditioning in this modern century we now live
in.

Thirdly, The kitchens were right above our room and the stairs right
next to us meaning constant noise throughout the day and night
At a cost of £125.00 per a night this was not to be expected!

Fourthly, every time someone walked above us the already weak and poor
TV signal completely fragmented and froze. It
is stated in your amenities that a TV would be provided and this
therefore was not the case.

I would like to also add however that all the staff were incredibly
helpful, courteous and professional at all times and
the massage Mrs Young had was wonderful and the masseuse was fantastic.

Regards

Mr Craig Smith and Mrs Cathryn Young

Room Tip: Do not book the Aqua room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside_Manager, General Manager at Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your honest review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Waterside. We do publish on our website that the jacuzzi is a single to try and not be misleading but we are sorry if this wasn't communicated well enough. We will certainly look at ways in which we can improve the temperature control in the rooms, especially throughout the summer months. I am glad however that you were impressed with the staff and their service throughout your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After a night in another hotel that ended badly. I looked this up in the morning went into book and checked in later that afternoon. I went all out a booked the the double with Jacuzzi bathroom. We walked down to the room to opened the door and it was just perfect. It was clean, neat and just perfect. We made the most of our jacuzzi and the walk in shower. It was so relaxing and just what we were looking for. The bed was great and both slept like baby's. wish we stayed for a week and not one night. Will be going back!!!!!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi bathrooms made our weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Booked this hotel at last minute, was a little dubious as picture of front of hotel wasn't very inspiring but as the old adage goes, never judge a book by its cover. The staff were polite and friendly and our upgrade to a sea view room didn't disappoint. The room was clean and well appointed which made for a lovely stay. Breakfast was served hot and the staff were attentive but the ingredients of the breakfast could be improved. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great, if a little noisy due to the road below but that's to be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We are a couple and we have just stayed at the waterside hotel in Eastbourne for the week end.(one night )
The hotel is located in a great position just minutes from the pier and promenade and it is just in front of the beach.
We stayed in room 3 (standard inland view): the room was simple and modern and clean.
Really comfortable double bed and nice tiled modern bathroom. Really quiet.
Breakfast in the morning is served in a nice lounge or in the veranda with nice view of the sea.
I had eggs benedict and they were cook really nice.
The staff at the hotel have been all really nice during our stay.
We would definitely stay again in this hotel if we are back in Eastbourne and for the quality and price we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We have returned for a short stay to a fine little hotel which manages to make you feel welcome with friendly and efficient staff.
It is a shame that the excellent restaurant has disappeared and now only a 'bed and breakfast' but the clean room 'The Sunrise, ' and the excellent staff who recommended a good restaurant for dinner still managed to make our stay happy.
I do hope the fish restaurant one day makes a return but will still use the Waterside again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuffty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#36 of 40 in Eastbourne
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oban
Oban
#20 of 40 in Eastbourne
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £67 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing