We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small friendly boutique hotel”
Review of Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterside Hotel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here at the weekend, this being our second visit, the rooms were superb, beautifully kept and very clean. We were a party of four. Receptionist Eve was most helpful. We were on bed and breakfast, as there were so many restaurants to choose from. The bar prices were very comparable with most other hotels. Would highly recommended. Our breakfast was everything you could wish for. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3, although at the back of the hotel, was very quiet. And very comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Waterside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, staff couldn't do enough for you special mention for Michaela who is a credit to the hotel.
Room was clean and modern, nice bar and breakfast room with lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay there again we had a fantastic stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mike50w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is small & cossy, that's what you expect from a Boutique hotel :) Excellent sea view and the staff well trained; Breakfast is generous and tasty!
Will be back for sure for another weekend and will try the SPA service they offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyWaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice hotel. Good location but overpriced for what it is. I booked the room with the jacuzzi in the basement. The jacuzzi is just a bath with a few extra jets in it. Not a proper jazuzzi. Plus there was black mold around the rim and tiles. Not particularly romantic and rather off putting, something that could be solved pretty quickly with mold remover and bleach. The room was so noisy as all you could hear was slamming doors, heavy footsteps. Decorated nicely but cheap beds, cheap pillows. TV took about 10 minutes to turn on and off, remote didn't work properly.

Breakfast, you could have a full fry up included in the price but for anything extra like eggs benedict it was an extra £7.

Cereal, yoghurt and fruit advertised. No fruit or yoghurt actually on offer when enquiring.

Avoid the "cappuccino" or "latte" straight out from a cheap machine that made it taste of dishwater.

Great location though by the seafront. Just overpriced and the whole boutique thing isn't quite accurate. Trying to be something it's not without paying proper attention to detail.

Wouldn't go back because I can't justify spending over £100 for a night on not very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miniperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for one night in a deluxe sea view room. The room was a good size, the bed was really comfy and had lovely views of the seafront.

All the staff were really friendly and made you very welcome. The breakfast was very tasty, shame that you have to pay extra for anything other than a cooked breakfast. My boyfriend had Egg's Benedict which he had to pay for, when we went in January this was included as bed and breakfast.

We will definitely be going back to The Waterside as overall it is a great hotel and good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoobiedoo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Waterside is a lovely hotel right on the seafront in Eastbourne (fantastic location). The room (Sunset room) was nicely appointed and very clean with a lovely bath tub in the bedroom that had scorching hot water, which was great. There is also a small wet room shower en suite which is nice but lacking in the small extras like shampoo, shower gel, although it did have a little vanity set and shower cap. The mirror in the main room was too small to dry your hair in front of for ladies (although in keeping with the decor) and as there are no electrical points near the large mirror by the bath (due to h & s issues and plugs being near water one assumes) you get stuck with just using the small mirror. They were quite frugal with the amount of tea, coffee and sugar. If you are a tea drinker my advice is to take extra!!!! The breakfast was lovely although the American pancakes were a tad too stodgy. The hotel staff are FAB. Overall a very nice hotel with tiny little touches that need looking at to justify the price fully.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our Return Yet Again This Time For Airbourne 2013 Overnight Stay.So Lovely To Be Back Great Service Yet Again On Arrival.We Stayed In Another Room The Deluxe Seaview Room What An Amazing View And As Staying Again We Were Treated To The Lovely Swan Towels & Rose Pettals On The Bed And Candles & Bath Oils For That Wow Experiance. Thank You So Much Yet Again For The Excellent Friendly Service. Honestly Everything You Ask For Is Done For You To Really Make Your Stay Enjoyable And Nothing Seems To Much Trouble. We Treated Ourselfs To Breckfast In Bed Yet Again & Wow The Breckfast Was Amazing Everything We Had Asked For Yet Again. We Love The Extra Time For Checkout Time To Let Breckfast Go Down And Admire The Views From The Room Watching The World Go Bye. Honestly Would Highly Reccomend This Lovely Hotel And A Huge Thank You To All The Staff We Are So Looking Forwards To Comming Back Again Soon.
Wayne & Debbie

Room Tip: Would Highly Reccomend Staying In Sea View Rooms Amazing Views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
939 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing