We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room niggles but good budget stay”
Review of Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterside Hotel
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Alverstoke, Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Room niggles but good budget stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Groupon deal for two nights over May bank holiday (hotel honoured mistake as we shouldn't have been able to book a bank holiday Sat/Sat - thank you). Basic room on top floor with a limited view of the downs. Good fitness generator on 4th floor with no lift but not a problem. The room itself had a few niggles - steep steps up to bathroom, inability to segregate lights in toilet and shower, light coming in through sides of blinds and worst of all the pigeons cooing at the window from five am. Shower also needs a door, screen or curtain and the bed was not that comfortable. However, given that it is a bargain room and it was cheap with the groupon it was OK. I suspect other more expensive rooms would be better. The other nightmare problem was parking, or lack of it. We ended up driving round for thirty minutes and ended up in a side street back from the front and about 10 minutes from the hotel. Manageable with cases but would have been unamusing in the rain. They do have parking permits for a pound but first find your spot!!
The room and parking would have scored the place a two or three but I have given four stars for the exceptionally good and friendly service. All the staff were great and very approachable. The other good thing was breakfast. Cooked to order and very tasty. Toast was good seeded bread not the usual floor tiles and coffee plentiful (would have preferred a pot rather than cups). Breakfast was perhaps a little lacking with regard to some of the more expensive hotel buffets but we could not fault what we got.
All in all, considering the deal we had (£95 for two nights B&B with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco), it was good value. Room not so good but everything else made up for that. Probably wouldn't pay full price for that room but if you can get a deal, give it a go.

Room Tip: Probably best to go for one of the themed rooms rather than a basic one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    152
    78
    35
    18
See reviews for
28
331
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed using a Groupon voucher who's value seem to good to be true but the deal was certainly right.

While we stayed in one of their smaller rooms, it was modern, clean and had everything we needed and they still squeezed in a very comfortable king bed.

Breakfast was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We would recommend this hotel and will stay there again next time we are spending the weekend in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here last night and thoroughly loved the hotel. It has a very modern decor inside and our room was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was good - juice, teas/coffees, cereals, full English and toast. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We arrived to be met by Eve who was very friendly and efficient. We were in a sea-view room and although there was no double glazing the waves crashing on the shore did not bother us at all at night. We were on the 2nd floor with a fabulous view over the promenade and the sea beyond.There is no lift so it is not for anyone who cannot walk up three or four flights of stairs. The bathroom was spacious, the shower easy to operate but not very forceful.There is an Ipod speaker so don;t forget your Ipod, it wasn't mentioned so we didn't bring ours. The English breakfast was freshly cooked to order and there were cereals and juices too.The service was prompt and friendly at breakfast too. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 6 was an excellent sea view. If you want quiet ask for an inner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Room appeared comfortable and clean - however, mattress was very hard, made my ribs ache. also pillows like rocks, had to ask for softer ones following night. Disappointed that little things were miissed such as complimentary body lotions, biscuits not replaced second day, no herbal tea option in room, water not replaced in fridge second day, vegetarian option at breakfast when requested - no option offered other than to take the meat off the full english breakfast - veg sausage provided second morning when they realised I was vegetarian. Also, luke warm baked beans - what a crime!
For the price we paid, I would expect a 'boutique' hotel to do better than this. However, staff were pleasant and friendy and tried to be accommodating.

Room Tip: When booking, ensure you make all your requirements known so book by phone and not internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz195917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked this on the Thursday before the by weekend. Waterside is a ten min walk through the centre and ideally placed to the pier and promenade walk.....helpful, efficient and friendly service throughout with a great brecky in the morn.

Rooms were excellent and home from home with top floor vista over the sea......splendid and would defo come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murfburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel after seeing it on a groupon deal. We had a relaxing stay with beautiful sea views, the staff were chatty and helpful. Parking is always a bit tricky on the seafront but we were lucky and got a spot out the front. We got a £1 permit from reception to park all weekend so decided not to drive anywhere. our breakfast was nice with the choice of a vegetarian or standard full English included in the price, this was served with a choice of cereal,brown or white toast, tea,coffee or a selection of fruit juices. The hotel was clean and comfy we couldn't ask for any more. We would visit again the next time we can get a 2night break from the kiddies.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Viccijamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#12 of 40 in Eastbourne
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Property: Waterside Hotel
Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing