We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterside Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Waterside Hotel
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Romantic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great hotel! Friendly and really helpful staff who dealt with a lightling issue quicky and efficiently. The room itself was spotlessly clean, stylish and superbly located. Would recommend for a stay in Eastbourne!

Room Tip: Lovely jacuzzi room but it is in the basement which I didn't realise! Great boutique decor thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    140
    69
    31
    13
See reviews for
23
305
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Waterside is a very friendly hotel, Joanna, Eva and Mark were very friendly and would go out of their way to assist with any questions or requirements. A big thank you from us both. Our room was lovely , clean and well maintained throughout our weeks stay. The breakfasts were very good.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Mars...the name of the room which we stayed in very comfy and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A Boutique Hotel, very nice location, close to the Pier and not too busy road. Nice surroundings, walking distance to good restaurants. Good recommendations from helpful staff. Room looked tired but was OK, nice and clean. No lift, and our room was on top floor, got help with the luggage though. The main problem was the lack of fire exits, staff told us to run down the stairs if there was a fire! Didn´t feel secure and we would not stay in that room again. Otherwise nothing to complain about, breakfast was OK.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a night in this hotel and having read the reviews before we booked I'm just glad that I took notice of the good reviews instead of the few bad ones. I always prefer to make my own mind up. I really couldn't find anything to moan about here. A few observations but no moans. We arrived for one night and had booked the last remaining room which was one of the basement rooms the room was a reasonable size very tastefully decorated with a lovely comfortable bed and the bathroom was to die for. The relaxing jacuzzi bath was a real treat and the double shower was lovely. This was a romantic treat for my very soon to be husband and he loved it as did I. The breakfast was lovely plenty of it too. The staff were pleasant and very welcoming and accommodating. The location of the hotel is great too and we took good advantage of the sun lounge whilst watching the local carnival parade We understand that the hotel is in the throws of being decorated but there was no disruption to our stay. I would have no hesitation in staying again and are recommending to our friends thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhammer190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is situated on the seafront in Eastbourne,We stayed in a deluxe Seaview room on the top floor and unfortunately there is no lift! However, this did not really affect our stay especially after a few cocktails!
The room was spacious,well decorated with a large flat screen TV,mini fridge and digital safe.
Some road noise can be heard but also as the sea is just across the road the lapping of the waves is a most enjoyable sound to wake to.
There is no air conditioning,but I'm sure the reception have a fan should we have required it.
We had room service bring our breakfast which was lovely and within our time slot and we'll worth the £10 charge to avoid the stairs!
The Town has plenty of shops,bars and cafés and of course the walk along the seafront is great.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel.
As I write this, I'm watching some sailing boats glide past,perfect!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs room 14 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived at the Hotel and immediately prayed it would be as good as the pictures on the site. We were not disappointed, the staff were very friendly and very accommodating. e only had one problem that was no left up to the top floor was a bit of a trek but our view was lovely couldn't have got a better view. We had such a relaxing time we decided to stay another night, we had to move rooms but it was fine. Breakfast was perfect, the sausage was not English, long and thin but full of flavour, perfect poached egg. One old fella moaned it wasn't a full English, as the sausage was too small should have had two rashers more beans MOAN MOAN MOAN, it was perfect.
Very clean very comfortable. Only downside was the windows could have done with a clean being a seaview room Room 11, and the outside needs a lick of paint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickle20102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alverstoke, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Groupon deal for two nights over May bank holiday (hotel honoured mistake as we shouldn't have been able to book a bank holiday Sat/Sat - thank you). Basic room on top floor with a limited view of the downs. Good fitness generator on 4th floor with no lift but not a problem. The room itself had a few niggles - steep steps up to bathroom, inability to segregate lights in toilet and shower, light coming in through sides of blinds and worst of all the pigeons cooing at the window from five am. Shower also needs a door, screen or curtain and the bed was not that comfortable. However, given that it is a bargain room and it was cheap with the groupon it was OK. I suspect other more expensive rooms would be better. The other nightmare problem was parking, or lack of it. We ended up driving round for thirty minutes and ended up in a side street back from the front and about 10 minutes from the hotel. Manageable with cases but would have been unamusing in the rain. They do have parking permits for a pound but first find your spot!!
The room and parking would have scored the place a two or three but I have given four stars for the exceptionally good and friendly service. All the staff were great and very approachable. The other good thing was breakfast. Cooked to order and very tasty. Toast was good seeded bread not the usual floor tiles and coffee plentiful (would have preferred a pot rather than cups). Breakfast was perhaps a little lacking with regard to some of the more expensive hotel buffets but we could not fault what we got.
All in all, considering the deal we had (£95 for two nights B&B with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco), it was good value. Room not so good but everything else made up for that. Probably wouldn't pay full price for that room but if you can get a deal, give it a go.

Room Tip: Probably best to go for one of the themed rooms rather than a basic one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jscivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#12 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Property: Waterside Hotel
Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing