We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

On arrival we were disappointed with the attidude of the male receptionist who completely ignored us, didn't even say hello, will be with you in a minute or even smile at us but thankfully a lovely helpful and friendly lady came and dealt with us. We had room 312 which was spacious and had a lovely sea view, their was a water mark/stain on the ceiling but that didn't bother us. My husband and I were extremely surprised at the friendliness of the staff (except the male receptionist) at this hotel, the waitress/waiters, barstaff and cleaners all worked so hard and were polite and friendly all the time. I must mention Mark the entertainer who was amazing and Marc the barman who was very polite and friendly. The food was obviously done on a budget but very enjoyable and hot. We felt that our self drive, all inclusive weekend break was an absolute bargain and we really enjoyed ourselves even though we were one of the youngest couples at the hotel.

This is no fault of the hotel but we did find the people smoking outside the main doors of the hotel a problem as you had to walk through a smoky atmosphere to get in and out of the doors.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kt12Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks KT12Southhampton.
Our male receptionist is a bit red faced!!! Sorry, but glad to read us ladies came to the rescue and showed him how to offer a proper welcome. Again our Mark/Marcs appear to be in competition for the most mentions and both do an excellent job. Good to read that you enjoyed the great value our Bay Inclusive breaks offer, especially at this time of the year. The watermark mentioned is no more in room 312. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burlington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    299
    192
    57
    44
See reviews for
135
399
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just come back form a wonderful stay at the Burlington Hotel. 

Our room was warm and cozy which was lovely when the snow came in at the end of our stay.

The food was enjoyable but obviously on a budget.

Our waitress was always friendly and helpful. 

The bar staff were equally as friendly with Marc at the main bar who is a real sweety and Laura the trainee at the smaller bar, they did a fantastic job considering the queues they faced. 

Last but not least Mark the entertainer kept our night fun and enjoyable! 

Will stay again and recommend to others. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheJaffaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks Jaffa Cake that has to be one of the best names EVER.
Good to read even in the coldest of winters you can still have an enjoyable time.
Yes the comments about the staff are just Lovely! The all inclusive packages have proven to be so successful this year and it’s brilliant to have a full hotel at this time of the year. Come and visit us again when there is no snow, Eastbourne in the summer is as you say just Lovely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we really enjoyed our stay at burlington...hotel was very nice and clean but a bit dated upstairs...unfortunately the lift was not working during our stay but not really an issue...food was really nice and the waiters and waitresses very helpful...entertainment was good the compere Mark Snow was really good.

Room Tip: choose a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janet y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Excellent! Glad to read that one of the lifts being out of operation did not cause you to much of a problem. All back on track now. Mark Snow is quickly becoming a national treasure, he is now getting so many reviews I’m thinking of starting a fan club! Thanks again for the comments regarding our Waiters and Waitresses. As stated in previous responses we will continue to make improvements to the hotel in 2012, shame you thought upstairs a bit dated as the whole corridor area has recently undergone a six month programme of redecoration including replacing all the carpet, new signage and pictures. It would be great to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Recommend that when booking in special requests you request a good bed / mattress. Break in November - dbl bed called to be replaced due to feeling springs but was provided with thin mattress topper rather than new mattress. Break this month January - twin beds / mattresses one with springs felt but other when even sat on settled down on base giving no comfort at all - request was not met by new mattress but again by the cheap alternative a thin mattress topper.
Mattress in Blackpool Liberty was of the same standard. Now the Burlington has been freshened up Shearings should now replace their worn out mattresses. What is the benefit of the break if you don't get a good nights rest

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for the comments regarding your bed. The hotel has a rolling programme of replacing beds and we do try to upgrade when we can. Sorry you encountered an uncomfortable nights rest, however if you do decide to stay with us again every effort will be made to ensure you get a quality night’s sleep,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ely
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

With Shearings you know broadly what you are going to get, but the Burlington is above average. It occupies one of the best positions in Eastbourne, just opposite the pier, and only a short walk from the town centre. Externally the building shows its age, but it has been nicely refurbished inside. The hotel is justly popular, to the extent that in the evenings it was sometimes difficult to find somewhere to sit. Nice restaurant, with friendly and efficient service and food second to none.
Two slightly negative things: it's a large building, but has only two small lifts, one of which was out of order so many guests were using the stairs, themselves rather narrow. And we found our bedroom too hot, even with all the radiators turned off.
Overall, though, we would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cpolkinghorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
It really is great to read reviews like this. Yes the hotel location is superb and you get the best of both worlds, right on the sea front, but just a short walk to the main shopping area.
Glad to report lift now back in operation. The hotel will continue throughout the year to see improvements being made, be it in public areas or bedrooms. It’s good to read lovely guests like you are now appreciating the improvements being made at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I booked a Christmas break at this coaching hotel as a self drive option. Going by coach would have cost £500 per person, self drive £400 per person. Quite a difference. The room size was adequate and clean but HOT. We did not have any heating on but could not cool it down. The food was good but the waitress was not. She sighed at every request and dropped our food on the floor on two occassions. The visit from Santa was farcical, a queue snaking around the dance floor to be given a miniature whisky (men) miniature sparkling wine (women). Last year I booked with Daish. Better value, better organised.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Wow. This review is in direct contrast to the majority of the feedback we received over the Christmas period. Our re-bookings for 2012 clearly showed the package offered was very much enjoyed, so much so people are prepared to book twelve months in advance to ensure a room at the hotel. I’m a little surprised about the comment made about the waitress, as in previous reviews it is clear our Restaurant staff receive nothing but praise, however these comments will be looked into. Christmas morning is always a bit of tongue in cheek fun which most people a get, and enjoy. What would Christmas morning be without a visit from Santa? Christmas morning in Eastbourne there is always lots to do and see and many people do go out and enjoy the local festivities, what we do in the hotel is just something to get people together and have a bit of fun, granted maybe not be to everyone’s taste. The Christmas morning is a small part of the package and on the whole Christmas at the Burlington is enjoyed by most, its a pity no mention was made of the afternoon tea dance, the high tea on Boxing Day, the fantastic nightly entertainment. I could go on but you get the picture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Widnes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Just returned from the Burlington. This is by far the best holiday every with Shearings. Let me start with the driver Tony two teds, he got everyone mixng and couldnt do enough for you even down to getting rid of your sweet wrappers and rubbish and opening the middle doors to let you off the coach and letting you use the loo. His knowledge of the area is unbelievable and kept everyone interested. Trips were nice full day to Brighton was lovely, not too impressed with the half day to Bex Hill on Sea, wasnt a lot to do unless you like charity shops.The free day was lovely and we spent it in Eastbourne lots to see and do. The hotel is central right overlooking the prom. We had a fantastic tripple aspect view from room 320 twin on the 3rd floor, as requested it was large and airy, cleaned and towels changed daly. The weather was just fabulous would think you were abroad.The staff are wonderful and the lovely manager of course a Liverpool girl like myself should be proud to have such a wonderful team. The dining room is very large but so well organised, our waitress was Daniella, the service in the dining room was quick, great choice of food and always hot, you could have anything you wanted, at breakfast we asked for extra sausage and every day she remembered. Now to the wonderful bar staff who worked so hard always with a smile on there face, a special mention to Marc and James who were attentive and couldnt do enough for you. The all inclusive bar was the icing on the cake, bit of a queue when they first opened at 7.30pm which you would expect as everyone went up at the same time as we mad English do, but fine after that.The entertainer Mark is a scream, got the crowd going, brilliant sense of humour and not a bad dancer. In general the entertainment was good except for the last night, had a young girl singing musicals etc, was embarasing as you could hear everyone talking over her, that is the only thing I would make a change to. It wasnt that she was bad it just didnt go down well with the clientele. Came home exhausted was in bed for 8pm, thats what you call a great holiday.

Room Tip: 320 fabulous tripple aspect and warm, you can hear the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BernieBarwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Well what can I say, what an amazing review. Glad to read you got your extra sausage. Everyone is different and expect different things from a holiday, but when you read , good accommodation, great food excellent staff and entertainment, fantastic drivers, brilliant weather, really what more can you ask for. The inclusive breaks are going down a storm and the large number of guests we welcome to the hotel; even in coldest January is fantastic. This is a brilliant review and I know the team will be delighted to read this. Hope you are well & rested. sounds like you could do with another little break to get back on track after all enjoying yourself can really take it out of you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#29 of 41 in Eastbourne
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
2,771 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Property: Bay Burlington Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing