We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Burlington. It is excellent value for money. The staff were excellent. Special praise must go to Maria, (our waitress) who was always very pleasant and helpful.

We were slightly disappointed at the lack of entertainment on the Sunday evening, but we could sit and have a drink at the bar with background music, so it was acceptable. The entertainer was talented, but special mention must go to the singer on Saturday night who was outstanding and sang a variety of styles from musical to country and western. My personal favourite was his 'Nessan Dorma' which was amazing.

Yes, we are certainly looking forward to another trip to this hotel, with a location right on the seafront. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay excellent.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a sea view, as the back of the hotel overlooks the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you Janet C for a lovely review. Maria was thrilled when she read the review. Good to read our quite night on a Sunday did not spoil your stay,some of our guests do enjoy just relaxing without any live entertainment. Thanks for giving the hotel and the staff a five star review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

Had a very enjoyable holiday at the Burlington. Hotel was clean and presentable. Plenty of choice in food all nicely presented bread and butter pudding was (to die for) FABULOUS. Our waitress was very attentive, nothing was too much trouble for her. The bar staff were good especially Mathew who had an excellent personality. Entertainment was adequate. Quizes were great fun Thanks Mark. who also has a lovely singing voice. We would recommend the Burlington to any one and health permitting we wil be there again.

Room Tip: go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Margaret A, Thank you for giving us a hatrick of five star reviews, the whole team are over the moon. Great you enjoyed the food and in aprticular the Bread and Butter Pudding. The lads behind the bar do a fantastic job and I know Matt be be thrilled to read this review as will Mark.
Thank You once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We love Eastbourne and looked forward to a return visit to the Burlington. We were not disappointed ! We always "upgrade" our room and felt the extra cost was worth it . The room was spacious, very clean, well furnished with a large refurbished bathroom. The added bonus was a wonderful sea view. We stayed in 402 and the only negative aspect was that one of the two bedroom windows had a broken sashcord which meant it was impossible to open . It did not worry us., However, if the weather had been better the lack of ventilation could have been an issue. The staff without exception were friendly and efficient. Special; mention to our waitress Ewa who always had a smile and gave a very efficient service. We have always found staff at Shearing's Hotel's very pleasant and have always thought this is a very well run organisation. The food was varied and good portions. My wife being vegetarian always had an item on the dinner menu that she could eat. The only item we were not sure about was the first morning we were there we ordered scrambled eggs. It arrived looking like (and having the texture of) chopped up egg custard. it tasted better than it looked !!. We cannot comment on the parking as we left the car at home and travelled by train. Overall, for what is charged and what is on offer it is in our opinion excellent value for money for a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you Brither, For taking the time to leave a fantastic review FIVE little circles!!!.Good to read you love Eastbourne, it is lovely at this time of year, even the carpet gardens outside the hotel are still in full bloom. The comment made about the room is being dealt with and the coment regardng the scrambled egg has been passed on to chef. Thank you for the lovely comment about your brilliant waitress Ewa, she is just lovely and I know she will be over the moon to read the great review. Always pleasing to read when a holiday has been pecievd as value for money as this is what we alwyas aim to deliver and it clearly looks like we hit the mark this time round. Would love to welcome you back to Eastbourne and to the Burlington.Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have recently returned from The Burlington Hotel Eastbourne. I was rather concerned having seen all the negative reviews of the hotel furnishings, decor, food and staff in general. Eastbourne is where I wanted to go so thought I would see for myself as we always travel with Shearings.
Having now stayed there myself, my husband and I both agree, it is one of the best Shearings hotels we have stayed in. It's front faces the pier and beach, in between those there is a fabulous array of flowers in the carpet gardens.

The public rooms in the hotel were clean, tidy and airy. There is a little bit of work needed on some of the decorations but it is a listed building and I think certain conditions have to be met before repairs can take place.
In our room we paid extra for a sea view, we thought the price was a little hefty but having said that, the view was superb and i'm glad we did.
Our room on the first floor was bright, clean, airy, with single beds which were comfortable as well as modern furniture and newish carpet. The bathroom was spotless although the bathroom only had one rail to get into the shower over the bath which was a bit of a danger for myself. We had a good supply of tea, coffee etc for our tea breaks which were left in the room each day for our use. My only grumble, gosh, those creaking floorboards!
The food was really lovely, hot, tasty and a really good variety. The waitress service was quick, efficient and catered for our every need.
Thanks to Maria. It was also nice to go into the lounge area after you had eaten to have tea or coffee served.
When we joined the tour at the interchange, the driver Tony (two teds) said he was there to ensure our holiday was enjoyable and if we ever had a problem, he would do his best to sort it. Tony made our holiday. He was a fantastic tour guide, his knowledge of the tours we went on was amazing.
He kept us entertained every time we set foot on the coach. He told us the best places to visit on the tours, where to have a decent cup of tea without costing too much. All these little tips ensured our holiday was one of the best. I know the other travellers all thought he was brilliant too.
He was gold mine of information and his knowledge of history was excellent. He had us laughing every trip, especially with his spot on time of arrival estimations. He made it actually sound like he was enjoying being our tour guide and driver, so well done. Tony should write a book, it will be a best seller that's for sure. Hope his back improves.
The trips we went on were good too although I didn't enjoy the one to Great Dixter House and Gardens so much. The house tour was really interesting but the gardens are not what I imagined and were difficult to manoeuvre around because of the dense foliage. Later in the afternoon we were taken to Tenterden but there wasn't much there to pass away two hours.
The trip to Lewes was nice as was Rye town and market.
My favourite trips of the week on the Shearing coach was actually to Sheffield Park Gardens, just my type of thing and also Michelham Priory. Both must see venues.
As an extra, Shearing drivers can arrange a trip to the harbour area in Eastbourne, very interesting as they also take you to the south downs and Beachy Head. At the harbour, don't expect a quick service for drinks, they are so busy.
There are other trips you can go on yourself for example, the local open topped tour bus goes to Beach Head and the downs. You can also get buses to Brighton, Tunbridge Wells and Hastings all across the road or just around the corner in the town centre. The Brighton buses run every fifteen minutes or so but the others are hourly I think so check with the Shearings staff who will be able to tell you.
I was quite shocked that Shearings do not take their passengers to any of these locations, there is so much more to do than the Great Dixter and Tenterden trip as examples but that's just my opinion.
We went to Brighton ourselves and really enjoyed it. There is so much to see and do there as well as some very interesting historical buildings, a really good shopping centre and of course, the brilliant Brighton Pier.

The chap who did the entertainment at the Burlington, think his name was Mark, obviously went to a lot of trouble to arrange different quiz questions each night along with bingo too. I thought he was a really nice chap and a good singer and he too seemed to enjoy his job.

I did hear a few people have a moan about various things wrong with their rooms but I can only tell you of my experience. I think at the end of the day, you get what you pay for.

All in all, we enjoyed our holiday and would go back

Room Tip: Front facing rooms can be rather noisy late at night but you can always keep your windows shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flowerbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

What a great name, Thank you flowerbasket!!!, for leaving such a great informative review, ever thought of working for the Tourist Board!!. I was so pleased to read that you had come away with an open mind and you did not let previous negative reviews get in the way of you making a decision to stay at the Burlington. The whole team get very excited when we receive the highest of praise from our customers so to get another five star review is just fantastic. The work needed doing in the lounge area is being addressed but as pointed out we have to be very careful when making repairs as this is a listed building so repirs don't happen as quickly as we would like. To say we are one of the best shearings hotels you have stayed in is high praise indeed. Thanks for the lovely comments about the food, and the entertainment. The comments regarding the trips out have been passed on, but again thanks for being so comprehensive. Always good to read when a satisfied guest would like to revisit and I can asuure you it would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at the Burlington.
Yes they do charge £5 a day for car parking but it is worth it, your car is secure and close to the hotel. We didnt book parking and the car park was full, however the reception allocated parking tickets £1 per day where you could park your car in designated areas, we found one about 10 minutes walk away and thats where the car stayed for the duration, went back every day to place the new ticket in the windscreen.
The hotel is situated in a great position right on the front, over looking the pier to the left and the gardens straight in front
Our room was at the back and yes you could find problems if you want to but the standards were good,plus we dont spend a lot of time in our room. never had the tele on.
The Restaurant area is very large and caters for a lot of people it was very well managed we had no problems. You are allocated your table on arrival for your first meal and that is where you dine for the duration.
The food and selection was very good and service was great.
Entertainment Ok if you just want to stay in the hotel and chill, usual bingo, dancing a few songs from the compaire, quiz if you wanted. Saturday night there was a singer on who was average. No entertainment on Sunday which we found a bit disapointing. This will be a factor on our next booking whether it would be a Shearings or else where.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and although it was not the Burlingtons fault, was very noisy from people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you Pete CKS for such a positive informative review. Yes we have made some very needed changes to the car park and the majority of guests are enjoying the new scheme of paying for their own parking space. This allows guests to go out for a day happy in the knowledge their sapce will be abailable on their return. Some guests unfortunatley where unable to book the space due to the high demand. Like you have pointed out a voucher scheme is then offered, and it is veyr reassuring to read that you found this alternative, easy to use. Your great comments about the hotel were an absolute pleasure to read.on the whole it would appear you had a great time here in Eastbourne. The comment about the lack of entertainment on a sunday has been considered and in the coming months entertainment will be returning on a Sunday evening. So please do not let this put you off booking a further hotel break.Once again a hige thank you for leaving a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed here last year and left a poor review, we were tempted by tales of improvements to give this another try and we were not disappointed, We had a very good sea view room which was as different from last year as chalk and cheese. All the grotty carpets had gone and the corridors repainted in a very pleasing colour scheme. The room itself was clean and well appointed, only points I could make was that the bathrobe hook must have been put up by a NBA basketball player as it was much too high and the toilet roll holder was loose. They could also do with a grab handle near the toilet in this disabled friendly room. In the corridor I noted that a permanent wheelchair ramp had been added but the grab rail had not been extended, a minor problem which did not mar our stay. All in all a good few days short break and well done to the management for doing such a good job with the changes.which could not be easy in such an old building. The staff were once again obliging and we appreciated the can do attitude but please give some of them more english lessons as our waitress although very pleasant had difficulty in understanding some of our requests. Now increased our rating frome a poor one to 4

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

First off I woud like to say a huge thank you Marinia for giving us a second chance I remember the first poor review very well. It is so rewarding not just for the management team butt the whole team to welcome a previously uhappy guest back to the hotel to wittness the ongoing improvements.
Great to read you thought the corridors were an improvement. Your comments regardng the bedroom have been passed on, I would point out the ramp used in the corridor area is a portable one, and is ony used on the requst of a guest. Once again the excellent staff deliver and I will never tire of saying thank you for the great reviews our guests are now leaving on a very regular basis.Thanks for the much improved score of 4.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My Husband and I decided to have a weekend break for his birthday....we chose Eastbourne because it was a resort we had not been to, the room was nice, the food was good, the staff were helpful and friendly and the entertainment was as good as anywhere else. Overall we had a very enjoyable three night stay which was excellent value...we would definitely consider other Shearing hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you Susan F, for leaving your review. So nice to read you chose us here at the Burlington for your first experience of a shearings hotel. Would love the opportunity to welcome you btoh back maybe for your birthday!! Your great comments about he food, staff and entertainment have all been passed on to the relevant people, who as I have stated in many previous reviews love to read the comments our guests leave. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £57 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing