We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Burlington Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$238
US$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afton Hotel(Eastbourne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Eastbourne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
217
354
225
66
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
354
225
66
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmark snowshearings coachshearings hotelssea viewour waiterself driveevening entertainmententertainment managerentertainment areasea frontturkey and tinsel breakweekend breakshower over the bathfourth floorhalf boarddance floorbuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 913 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just got back from Tinsel and Turkey 4 days. Very cheap break for a rest. All of the staff work extremely hard and are very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we had a lovely sea view. The food was o.k as well. We only watched one evenings entertainment but that was good and everyone said that they all enjoyed the other evenings. Went to Brighton and Hastings for the day, it only took just over half an hour to drive and the people who went by the local bus said it took just over an hour. The clientele are mainly on the older age group but everyone really enjoyed themselves by the look of it and put us "youngsters" to shame with their energy.Brllliant value for money and a lovely break.

Room Tip: The higher the better, but dont get one opposite a lift.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homesteads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you Homesteads for the lovely review and comments. Great to read you enjoyed the local surroundings great tip about taking the car! Its a valid point made here, yes whilst the age profile of our customer is 50 plus this does not reflect in the way our guests go about they way they enjoy themselves. Our guests come away with the intention of having a good time and thats exactly what they do.Entertainment is providd each evening and our guests just love to get involved in the quizzes, dances and enjoying the visiting cabarets. The seaview rooms are always worth paying that little extra for to get that amazing view. Thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Just come back from a turkey and tinsel week, had a realy good time first time at the Burlington,thinking of going back in the summer. The staff are very pleasent and helpfull especially our server Rebecca always served you with a smile on her face and nothing was any trouble for her. Food was very good, plenty of it and a good choice of meals. room was small but big enough for what you use it for sleeping. One more thing Wi-Fi please.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Andrew B You would be more than welcome to return in the summer. A great review, good to read you enjoyed the food and our lovely Rebecca took care of you. Always good to read when a guest states they have enjoyed themselves after all that is what its all about. Please see previous comments regarding Wi FI Thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Our 4-night break at the Burlington in Eastbourne was most agreeable. My wife and I have visited many Shearings hotels and found this one of equally excellent value. Our room was spacious, clean and well presented, affording much storage space. Beds comfortable and lighting good. One downside - TV somewhat antediluvian and temperamental, offering only the 5 basic channels. Breakfast excellent and plentiful, dinner likewise, cheerfully served, always hot, by most pleasant and obliging staff. Room servicing most efficient. Location in Eastbourne practical, opposite the pier, with a useful bus-stop over the road. Reception staff well organised, helpful and efficient. All-in-all a pleasant stay. Would happily recommend or return.

One recommendation to the management, could they please consider Wi-Fi, if not in the rooms then at least in the reception/bar areas? I believe most Shearings hotels have some, if limited, facilty for internet access

Room Tip: Worth paying the supplement for a sea-view room!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

What a great review Malhan, thank you. The great commenmts regarding the food, rooms, staff are always a pleasure to read.The tip for Wi Fi is being looked into as we accept that a number of guests do come on hoilday with their pc's etc. yes a number of our Coast and Country hotels do have Wi Fi but we are looking at putting it into our Bay Hotels in the future
Thanks once again for leaving the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

we have been comming now for six years now and last year and this year we came for the turkey and tisell as well we had a great time mark james and matt put alot of time and effot into making sure everone enjoys them self

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

A Big thank you Cecillia W for taking the time to leave a review. I know the bar Team do an excellent job joining in the fun and it is always nice to see when a member of staff is mentiioned by name all the team read the reviews and I know it means a lot to them to see their names in print. Thank you once again for leaving a great five star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Situated on the seafront this Hotel is an old building but very comfortable. The food was very good and plentiful, and the staff were friendly and efficient. The entertainment was good, cabaret 2 nights

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thanks Marlene W. Short and to the point excellent! Great to read to you enjoyed the holiday and all it had to offer. The weekend breaks are going being snaped up at the minute and our customers appear to be having a great short break based on the christimas theme, without any of the hassle. The hotel looks great decorated for christmas and guests are really getting into the party mood. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews