We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first coach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Hinckley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first coach holiday”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked our first coach holiday with Shearings and went to the Burlington Hotel in Eastbourne. Paid £89.00for 4 days and got a good £89,00 worth of holiday. The reception staff and shearing coach driver was very helpful and very polite. The only issue we have was the creaking floorboards in the whole of the hotel, come on Burlington all you need to do is put some talc down in the joints to solve this issue, because people walking across ceiling in rooms is horrendous. Can we also suggest some soundproofing of the dance room since you can hear the noise at least up to the third floor at midnight. But we would like to say it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: For a quiet nights sleep ask for a room on the top floor away from the dance area and the creaking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumnag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank youmumnag2 for a great review. Always good to read positive feedback. Couldn't agree more, this time of the year our breaks are proving to be excellent value for money as you described. Our entertainment finishes most evenings between 11.30pm - 12.00 , this allows for our customers to have a great evening , whilst not disturbing others. Thanks once again for taking the time to post on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    312
    197
    59
    44
See reviews for
137
418
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bridlington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

After a very poor start i. e mould on walls and rotting bathroom window frame and no shaver point in room 429 we were eventually moved to room 412 which I must say was extremely comfortable. Good standard of decoration comfortable bed adequate plug sockets and lighting although a little short on drawer space and a lovely sea view. The bar staff worked really hard and endeavoured to get everyone served in the quickest time they could. The meals in the restaurant were also of a good standard and were always hot, again staff worked really hard and never had long to wait in between courses. There was only one member of staff which I thought let the team down and that was Chrissie though other reviewers found her pleasant unfortunately I did not. When I asked for a room change she was quite abrupt and unhelpful and passed me on to another staff member who was very pleasant and did her best to see we had a better room. The only other downside was the lifts as it is a large hotel there are only two lifts, one which holds about 4 people comfortably and the other nicknamed "the coffin" was really tiny only taking two uncomfortably. So having said all that it was a very nice break and in a pleasant hotel which could do with a little TLC in certain rooms

Room Tip: Room 412 has good sea view and is comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you Sandra D for posting your. I was sorry to read you felt I did not attend to you in more pleasurable manner, I can only attribute this to being an exceptionally busy arrival, hence me asking one of my fantastic team to help with the changes required. However my apologies are offered and I was pleased to read you found my bar team and other staff members pleasant to deal with. As stated in previous reviews I am usually very helpful and I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to demonstrate how helpful I can be, lets just hope its not a day when five coaches arrive together! Thanks once again for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have never been on a coach holiday before, I decided to take my Dad to the Burlington Hotel last weekend and we had a great time. We had a great driver and received a warm welcome from the General Manager Chrissie. Breakfast and dinner were very nice and served by great staff. We enjoyed both of our days out, to Lewes with Kevin and Battle with Tony. The bar staff were really friendly and the host Mark was great. There is also free Wifi in the lounge areas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wanted a stress free weekend in a hotel in a great location. Thank you - looking forward to booking my next holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much Denise W. for your lovely comments. Great to read you enjoyed your first experience on a coach tour. Lets hope its the start of many more.
Thank again for posting on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We visited Eastbourne to attend the TA parade on last Saturday morning. Travelled in heavy rain on Friday and arrived to dry weather. The room (320) was excellent, except the lighting was quite poor and were unable to read. There was no light over the dressing table and at the age of 85 I had to climb under the dressing table to plug in the hot brush for my wife, as there was no other plug nearby. The food and service was excellent, but once again we could not read the menu in the evening due to subdued lighting and poor printing! and had to ask other guests for help. Otherwise a most enjoyable stay and we hope to return again one day soon.

E & M Streete

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheswycks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you Cheswyks for leaving a review of a recent stay. Good to read you enjoyed your stay. The comment regarding the print size on the menu is quite valid, should this happen again please just ask at reception where it is able to have the menu enlarged to make it easier for anyone with any difficulties.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

just returned from spending 5 days with a shearings coach holiday 13th to 17th January. we stayed in room 108. this was a very good room with excellent views of the pier and sea. the room was very comfortable and warm (too warm sometimes) food was excellent and service was very good especially Bruno he was like a little whippet running round that dining room. there was no waiting between courses and Bruno was very friendly. the entertainment was very good, and catered to every age group. Mark was an excellent compare with good singing voice and jokes. everyone from the cleaners to top management were good. we have been on quite a few shearings holidays from strathpeffer great Yarmouth, isle of wight, Weymouth and newquay and I can say that the Burlington was by far the best! submitted by mrs Janet Young

Room Tip: room 108 was overlooking the sea and pier, right outside the lift which didn't disturb our sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youngj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
What a great review from YoungJ1, Thank you. Yes Bruno is very quick around the dining room and I'm glad you were happy with the service he provided. Also nice to read your accommodation met with expectations. To say we are one of the best Shearings hotels you have stayed in is high praise indeed and I know the team will be thrilled to read this review.
Thank you once again for posting on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

At £89 for a three day weekend we could find little to complain about. We had a £42 upgrade to a sea view for free and four free drinks each on Sat night. Food was good and plentiful. Room was large with three sea facing windows. Entertainment as expected. Off tomorrow for similar at different hotel for £84.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two_ronnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks go to the Two Ronnies for the fantastic review of a recent weekend break. Great to read that the experience at the hotel has led to you book more breaks. Just what's needed at this time of year. Thank you once again
Ps LOVE the tag Photo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

what can I say fantastic bar staff very good breakfast very good service great entertainment special thanks to mark for playing great music after the singer ad gon our room was very good and warm special thanks to our maid service room was kept very clean and tidy over all great hotel keep up the good work will be back again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Than you Michael for leaving a great five star review of a recent stay. I am very pleased the hotel met with your expectations and that you would consider a return visit. Will do our best to keep up the good work. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,961 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Property: Bay Burlington Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing