We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went 24 February . You had to walk pass people smoking at the entrance met by a awful smell that was there all the time. Food was awful then have to pay extra for breakfast items we ate out after the first night. A dirty cloth was left on top of my toothbrush. WHERE had that cloth been before.To talk to staff was a waste of time. PHOTOS TAKEN. Terrible hotel . No wonder they have the sickness bug. Never again.

Stayed: February 2014
8  Thank 85Isabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you 85Isabel for leaving a review. I was concerned to read the contents of the review as it is not what other reviewers are saying. The picture taken of a napkin sticking out of a wall is confusing as this is not something anyone would do here at the hotel. The small area in the picture has been repaired by maintenance. I am sorry to read you felt the food wad not to your liking after just one meal. Our staff are more than happy to discuss any requests and food requirements, please see other reviews where customers have pointed this out. No extra charge is made for breakfast, a full compliment of items are on our breakfast menus and this is offered to all our customers. However we have had requests from out guests for extra items that they are happy to pay for that are not on the menu. All feed back is much appreciated and thanks is given .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here 21st February-24th February 2014 as a party of five, we always have a good time when we go away together. I don't know how they do it for the money, paid £104 including a £15 single room supplement, pleasant staff, good food and accomodation. Ryan in the restaurant, was incredibly helpful, nothing too much trouble to get for you and we made requests for plain food with no sauces etc. This is my fourth visit to this hotel and we always look forward to Mark's bingo and entertainment, this year we had a singer called Billy Miller on Saturday evening who was excellent. If you want five star luxury, then this probably isn't for you, but if you want good value for money, plus an older age group of guests, go book.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitty5597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you Kitty 5597 for your great review of your fourth visit. Lovely comments regarding the staff and food, glad you enjoyed both. Billy Miller will be delighted with the comments made.
Good to read you found the whole experience met with expectations and the holiday was value for money
Thank you once again for taking time out to post a review online. A warm welcome awaits you on your fifth visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

firstly we didn't choose eastbourne for a break we booked OBAN in november last year for 10th february this year. but a week before we was going away they contact us and said the OBAN trip was cancelled and said they was a trip to eastbourne it was to late to cancel anything so we said yes relentlessly so me and my husband and mother and father went to eastbourne. what an awful time in all the years we have been with nationals never have dislike an holiday we where the youngest ones they me and my husband are 50 years old. the hotel was alright but has we arrived they was decorators in the lobby our room was alright but in the bathroom we had a bath, but when you had a bath they was nothing to rinse your hair with .the tv my husband had to reset we had no channels it was an old tv which you couldn't watch when you was in bed to low to the ground. the gents toilets was out of order all week just 3 ladies toilets. the only thing good was the food the beer was to dear the entertainment got annoying after the first night you couldn't blame anyone for the weather but the trips was a waste of time couldn't do anything didn't get told about anything about the places we was going to. just time we would arrive there and time he would pick us up was awful never never again didn't like eastbourne brighton hastings and royal tunbridge wells what an awful holiday

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Oh what a shame TeresaHull, you did not enjoy a recent visit to the hotel. Thank you for the nice comment regarding the food. The weather really does play a part when you are visiting the surrounding areas. I read with interest the comment regarding the driver as we usually receive great feedback regarding our drivers and how informative they are. We are addressing the TV's as part of our on going bedroom refurbishment. Thank you for taking the time to post a review all feedback is valuable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for four nights as part of a Shearings Holidays package. On arrival, it was clear that parts of the hotel were being refurbished but this did not interfere with any facilities or their general use of the hotel; in fact, the decorators were only present at times when the areas were only lightly used.

Our bedroom appeared to have been recently redecorated with new bathroom furniture. All was clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable and there were two armchairs and a small table. As the weather was so poor, we stayed in the room more than we had planned but it was easy to watch TV and relax.

Various grades of room attract supplements and room 417 was a standard room with a sea view. On the 4th floor there were about 18 rooms at the front with rather more to the side and rear. As it was situated on the fourth floor, this was the cause of our only concern because there are two lifts but of limited size (one had comfortable room for 4, while the other could take 2) and we occasionally used the stairs - there were 81 - to get to and from the room to avoid waits.

Times for dining were limited but the service was excellent and the food more than acceptable. Dinner had three choices of starter, main course and dessert. Various types of breakfast were available, albeit with supplementary prices for some items.

A comfortable and spacious hotel which is located across the road from the pier, beach and gardens; while only 5 minutes walk from the main shopping centre. Local buses plus those to Brighton and Bexhill/Hastings stop close by.

We travelled by Shearings coach but there appeared to be a large private car park to the rear of the building.

We felt we had received good value for money and would certainly stay here again when the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uplands6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks go to Uplands6 for a great informative review of both the hotel and the surrounding areas.
Always good to read our newer rooms are being enjoyed and you were able to relax and not let the awful weather interfere too much with the stay. I read with interest the comment regarding the meal times. We serve evening meal from 6.30pm until 7.45pm and our customers can enter the dining room anytime between these times. Thanks your stating you would return and that you found the hotel and it services met with expectations. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Travelled with Shearings in February 2014.
The hotel is very well positioned on the sea just opposite the pier. There are opportunities for walking on the flat from the hotel although there are steps to the hotel entrance. No doubt there is an access for those with limited mobility but it's not obvious.
The facade of the hotel looks very impressive and the reception and lounge areas are nicely decorated. However, because of the atrocious weather during our stay, there were numerous buckets and tubs placed around the floor near the windows to catch the leaks.
Our room (325) was a little tired but had good views along the sea front and the high street. It was on the corner of the hotel and the wind whistling through the cracks in the window frames (some of which were blocked with newspaper!) kept us awake at night. Still, it was February.
There were no toiletries provided in the somewhat dated bathroom.
The food was excellent both in its quality and choice. The service was brisk and friendly and the ambience was good.
Evening entertainment was as we expected - suitable for an older clientele. Plenty of bingo and singing.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: There are some newly refurbished rooms available. They looked good on the photos in reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you Frettingpete for posting on line a review of a recent stay. Lovely feedback regarding the exterior and the internal decoration. Also good to read you found the food to be of an excellent standard. With the on going weather conditions, we have not escaped the wrath of what has to be one of the wettest starts to year, ever!. Great tip regarding the new bedrooms, with more coming on line mid March. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Have just returned from this hotel.Food not bad always hot.Gala dinner was a joke normal dinner but with some sliced melon.Bed room is in need of a make over,walls painted a (baby's nappy)sand and dark brown.Carpet's need replacing not very clean.Bathroom needs ripping out.Nothing is level put anything on the dressing table and it ends up on the floor.Lighting is so dim it's hard to see to do your make up and hair.The t.v must be 1970's it was so old.The rain was pouring in the sun lounge buckets everywhere.The gent's toilet's didn't work all week so they had to use one toilet.Only 3 ladies toilet's for the whole hotel.Know wonder they keep having tummy bug's at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattieBroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you MattieBroadstairs for the recent review. I am sorry to read the hotel did not meet with expectation. we are encountering some issues in parts of the hotel due to the extreme weather However I am pleased to report as of yesterday our roofers are now able to make a start on the repairs. The weather has caused some structural damage this is the reason the gents toilet has not been in use. We are fully aware of the inconvenience this has caused and every effort is being made to rectify this as soon as possible. The number of ladies toilets has never been an issue for us.
As stated in previous reports we are upgrading our older bed stock this includes flat screen Tvs. In fact just about to start on another 12 rooms next week. All feed back is much appreciated so thank you once again for taking the time to post on line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our trip was a five day Shearing trip starting on the 3rd Feb. My husband is 82 and I am 76, so not sprightly, And I push his wheelchair. Ok. here we go, you can hire scooters and chairs they are delivered to the hotel and can be charged in a lovely big room on special places.When you want to take them out if you go all the way thro the dining room and on the seafront side you will find doors that the staff will help you open onto a ramp, very easy, there are four steps at the main doors,I found in this cold windy weather I could get my husband covered properly before going out.
Our room was 200, we paid extra as it was a standard room + and the only difference between the next room was a better T V.
I was glad we didnt go for a seaview upgrade the rooms at the front were cold, and the hotel ran out of spare heaters to help them, I saw towels jammed in frames to keep the wind out,
I know the weather was bad and feel sure it wasnt the hotels fault.
Take a blanket for your legs if you plan going soon, sitting in the front area can be very cold if you want to read/drink/people watch, its a lot better if you are warm. This is not the time of year for warmth as it is a cold hotel.
The dressing table does not have a lamp/light, I have spoken to the manager re this, so if some-one is asleep and you get up early and want to make a cuppa you wont be able to see unless you put the overhead lights on. I had taken a touch.
Now in this room and I cant speak for the other rooms there was a lovely modern sink.
We couldnt empty the water, I called for the night porter and discovered behind the tap there
is a small lever,you just pull it up. MANAGER. please put a little note there to tell visitors
what to do.
Our bed was comfy, and the radiator had a thermastat so we could adjust it ourselves, this was good, we were cosy at the rear.
You have to order your papers.........
Now shopping, this only applies if you are pushing a wheelchair, The Arndale centre, you turn right and go down the next road, but be aware,there is a slight slope going down to it, which I may add you dont see,that is, until you are coming back and pushing against gale force winds uphill.
Food.........loved it.....service fine......lovely Denise.... breakfast loved the selection that was on display. However couldnt eat the cooked everyday, far too much for us oldies, so on the second day we was didnt even try.
I must add the decor when it is finished ( as the painters were there working every day)
will be lovely very tasteful.
Would I go back, off course, when the weather is better.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you montokent for a great informative review. I'm sure many readers will appreciate your comments. I know the weather has been very mean the last couple of weeks however there is no need for any guest to bring a blanket unless required for outdoor use. Most rooms have overhead wall lights separate to the main light so I'm sorry to read this was inconvenient for you. Great feedback regarding the food and service. Thank you once again for your very comprehensive review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £68 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing