We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Good Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I have just spent a very enjoyable weekend At the Burlington in Eastbourne. The hotel is very well situated on the sea front opposite the pier. It is a very easy walk to the shops and the buses to Brighton go from the pier. The room we had was warm, clean and very comfortable and we both slept very well. There was a good choice of food and we certainly had enough. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and were always cheerful. There is plenty of room to relax in the hotel and the entertainment was good. We would certainly go back to this hotel again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshireman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you Yorkshireman62 for a great five star review. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 night weekend break with my wife at the Burlington Hotel Eastbourne. Very good Shearings coach with a direct pick up from Croydon which made the journey so much beter than having to go via the London Gateway interchange. The Reception staff were very efficient on our arrival and we were soon in our splendid seaview room on the 4th floor. The room had clearly been refurbished with good decor and quality beds and a good bathroom. Also a flat screen TV. Sash windows (one with duck tape around it) could have received more attention in the makeover. However, this did not detract from the general comfort of this spacious room.

The restaurant was well laid out and certainly well organised. The waiting staff were highly efficient and friendly and the quality and variety of food was very good when the cost of the vacation is taken into account.

Mark the entertainments manager works so hard to ensure the evenings entertainment is seamless. His personality shines through and he certainly ensures all guests have a great time. He is certainly an asset to this Hotel and moreover Shearings.

We had a splendid break at the Burlington Hotel which is ideally located on the seafront and we would have no hesitation in returning there in the future.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a seaview room We had Room 408 which was spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you to JP1 Surrey, for taking the time to post a review. The issues mentioned regarding the room has been passed on to be addressed. Good to read you enjoyed Mark and the your lovely comments regarding the dining room and the food are very pleasing to read.
Always a good to read when a guest says they would return. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have just returned from a five day Shearings Break at the Burlington Eastbourne. I feel relaxed and rested.
Our driver Tony made the journey most interesting and enjoyable he knew the Eastbourne area well. The hotel staff were good and the food good for the cost of the holiday.
The entertainment was of a very high standard and we certainly laughed along with Mark the entertainments manager.
Our coach journey was handled well by Shearing despite horrendous traffic and our time of transfer was much shorter than in the past.

Room Tip: The sea front rooms were large and had good views. As the cost of the holiday was reasonable it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you Val H for another great review. pleased to read you have returned relaxed and rested. Thinking of starting another fan club for Tony our driver who is getting lots of mentions, he will be giving Mark Snow a run for his money. You have mentioned how you enjoyed the entertainment with Mark, I know he will be delighted to read the review. Good to read you found the stay met with expectations. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

we stayed here a week ago Monday to Friday with Shearings coach holidays ,we had a lovely time as the facilities were good ,lovely entertainment ,and staff were very friendly and helpful ,food could have been better but you get what you pay for and the price of the holiday was really cheap £144 for bed breakfast and evening meal plus two trips out the only complaint was the TV kept going off but got told this was due to the change in the weather and the bedrooms could do with updateing but it was clean and we had clean towels and tea and coffee supplied every day ,if ever we are in Eastbourne again would not hesitate to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junespoon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thanks go to junespoon72 for taking time to post a review on line. As stated in previous reviews the location is one of the best, so I am pleased you found this to your liking. Sorry to read the food did not meet with expectations and your review has been passed to the chef. Lovely comments regarding our great staff. We have encountered some issues with our TV system and have had to have some major repairs done very recently. We are updating rooms including TVs which is helping. Thanks once again for a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights Friday to Monday. This hotel is in a wonderful position with lovely sea views and yet near to good shops.My room was big clean and airy.The bathroom was large but dated. plenty of hot water and white fluffy towels.However the big plus points for me were the trips out. our driver TONY was brilliant with his expert knowledge of the area . Nothing was to much trouble and a safe confident driver. Factor in the free drinks on sat night an whats not to like?

Room Tip: don't pick the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Another very nice review from Gill W. Couldn't agree more about the position of the hotel it is superb and so easy for anyone to visit all the local shops ,cafes etc. Good to read you enjoyed your room. Tony will be delighted to read this review regarding the trips out. Pleased you also made use of the Vouchers on Saturday evening to quote you " what's not to like. Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It is not exactly a 5 star hotel so dont expect a 5 star hotel. The staff were very good at all times and always supplied what we needed. The food was excellent, always served quick and was always hot. I can not see why people are complaining about this hotel.

Evening entertainment was varied and funny. Mark the entertainment manager was first class and made us laugh all week. Well done.

Room Tip: Some are refurnished...check with reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you George H for a the great review. Good to read you enjoyed the service the staff provided. Chef will be pleased with the review about the food .Pleased to read you enjoyed Mark and all he has to offer. We appreciate all feedback so thanks for taking the time to post a review on line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Not the best hotel we have stayed in, but for the money we paid it was ok. The position is fantastic, right on the sea front opposite the pier within easy walk of the town. The hotel itself is looking tired. The public areas look like they have been decorated but our room was badly in need of some tlc! The carpet was threadbare, wall paper peeling and paint work chipped, but it was clean. No little extras though with only a small bar of soap given. The food was fair and the service good but again basic, for instance no cream with cheesecake. The staff were excellent though. Always cheerful and willing to help. All in all we had a good time and if the price is right there is no reason not to stay here.

Room Tip: The lifts very small so request low floor if not fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris171063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks chris171063 for posting on line a review of a recent stay at the hotel. I was sorry to read you felt areas of the hotel did not meet with expectations. As stated in previous reviews we are taking on board our older bed stock and this is being addressed. At present a further 12 rooms are being updated with the view to improve more later in the year. Great comments once again about our fantastic staff, thank you. The cheesecake is very creamy to begin with, however if a little cream is required as with anything our staff would have been only to happy to oblige. Great to read you felt the stay was value for money. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £42 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing