We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, let down by the room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Once again, let down by the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at the Burlington hotel over the Easer 18-21 April 2014. As usual, staff all very friendly and helpful, food good, nicely appointed dining room but, once again let down by the room. We have been travelling with Shearing for several years now combining coach holidays with some self-drives and have always found the rooms to be 'tired, but clean and comfortable until this one. Room 236 is in a recess at the back of the hotel over the kitchens (which is fine as we do not often book a sea view so we are usually round the back). New wardrobes and table had been added along with a nice new fixed headboard, the bead was clean and comfortable (as usual) and then we looked around. The carpet was badly stained in places as was the upright chair for the table. I don't even want to think how the stain on the armchair was caused but it was disgusting and we have to put a towel over it to sit on. there was mould on the bathroom ceiling and in the grout around the bath and when outside of the window was painted last time, it looks like no-one bothered to remove the net curtains and they were covered in paint splashed. The TV was an on stand that was to unstable, you could not touch it to move it around for better viewing but the worst bit was to come, as we were over the kitchen the room got very hot at time so we looked at opening the windown and imagine our surprise to see that on the adjoining window ledge just some 3-4 feet away was a nesting pidgeon with young chicks. The window ledge was covered in bird dropping and who know what else so we did not want to open the window because of the health hazard (and in case the bird decided it wanted to explore. So many good things spoiled by lack of care and attention in rooms and not looking what is going on just outside the rooms.

Room Tip: if you can, book sea view rooms. If you want a cool room, do not book on the 2nd floor from No. 230...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks go to Bill for taking the time to leave a review of a recent stay. Good to read the staff and the food met with expectations. The points made about the bedroom have been passed on the Housekeeping team to be addressed, apologies for any shortcomings on our part. Other points raised are also being looked into.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    293
    188
    55
    44
See reviews for
134
390
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
harrow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

had short stay at the Burlington the service was a1+ .Maggie was our waitress and she was very good. the bed room was clean and water piping hot worth the extra for a sea view.we will return for another stay.

Room Tip: sea view worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bimboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you Bimboone for another great review. Love to see a member of staff getting a mention. Maggie will be chuffed to bits when she reads this. Thanks once again for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Burlington hotel. It was one of the best holidays we have had. The room we had (although it was at the back of the hotel) was freshly decorated, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was very pleasant and the food very enjoyable, always hot and plenty of choice. Our waitress was Maggie, she was very helpful and could'nt do enough for us. The entertainment was also very good. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiilsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks go to Hillsy for taking the time to post a great five star review. Once again Maggie gets another mention she is giving Mark a run for his money!! Lovely comments regarding the dining room, food and the staff. Good to read you would return to the hotel. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. johhn's nl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good hotel, on main street across from Pier. Older Hotel, and was once a beauty!. Could do with a little update, but overall very comfortable. Went there with Sherrings Holidays. Mostly older couples there. Food was very good!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crockerholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you Crockerholly for posting on line a review of a recent stay. Good to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly making improvements and updating the hotel as and when possible.we are now seeing this reflected in reviews. Have to agree great location and the view of the Pier is lovely. Great comments regarding the food, chef will be pleased to read you enjoyed your meals. Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is in a very good position overlooking the sea and right by the pier. The public rooms are of a good standard and we found the meals and the attention from the staff were excellent. As we booked at the last minute there were no upgraded rooms available. Our standard room was comfortable enough but fairly dated and tired, but considering the very reasonable price we paid we felt very satisfied. The lifts are pretty small so if you have mobility difficulties it might be best to ask for a low floor. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you Carol B for finding the time to a leave a lovely review about a recent stay at the hotel .Your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Travelling by coach with WA Shearings, this hotels ambiance and the excellent professionaliasm of the Hotels reception staff is top class. The rooms are spacious and clean and the House Keeping is reliable. The Entertainment is good although the resident host seems to have is regular and favourites. He doesnot move too far from the stage as other acts did in taking their performance to the guests. Excellent arrangements for those that are diabetics, and need refrigeration for their medicines. The worst of the Hotel is the Dinning Room. we did not get breakfast one morning because a member of staff failed to show for work and although a profound apology was given by the General Manager and the dinning Manager , the waiter was rude and obstructive because we dare complain of his poor service and attitude. Regretfully WA Shearings and the Hotel General manager condone this as they think this guy is the BEES KNEES. No offer of any compensation from the company or the Hotel a letter of apology that they regret this type of service is all you get. Good Hotel, but beware of the poor service in the Dinning Room

Room Tip: You need to advise of Dietary Needs at reception once you know the menu for the next meal. because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you Richard M for posting a review on line. Sorry to read some aspect of the stay did not meet with expectations. I am also sorry that a lengthy conversation with the hotel team, the head of our customer care team, the hotel manager and a letter of apology was not sufficient When catering for nearly 300, sometimes things may not go as smoothly as we would like. However the team at the hotel are committed to providing the best service possible for all our valued customers. Please read previous reviews regarding the great feedback the dining room staff normally receive.
Once again apologies and thanks are sent..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Well positioned Hotel overlooking the sea.A large old Hotel that has been renovated to a good standard for the rating,
We had a large side room with a view of the sea.Clean and comfortable beds.
Nice bathroom with constant hot water,
Towel rail could have been positioned better as it was over the toilet so a need to keep the toilet lid down. also TV not really in a good position in the room with a long cable which could be dangerous. Food very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you Emma504202 for your review. Appreciated the feedback on the TV cable and this will be addressed. Good to read you enjoyed the hotel and the location. Always nice to get feedback so thank you once again for finding the time to post on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#30 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Property: Bay Burlington Hotel
Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing