We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, host and breakfast!”
Review of Beamsley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beamsley Lodge
Ranked #24 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a beautiful B&B, with comfy beds, great location (across from water) and the best breakfast ever - including juice, fruit and yoghurt to start and then you can pick from the menu and have a hot breakfast, which is included too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criss1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B, Owner at Beamsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

What a lovely review, thank you. We aim to provide a breakfast that everyone enjoys with a wide range of things to choose from, both hot and cold and we are so pleased that you enjoyed yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had a 5-day stay here at the end of april with our elderly parents and pet dog.
This is a nice, quiet, personel, friendly hotel on the sea front but just close enough to eastbourne centre. Our room was freshly decorated with plenty of space and cleaned daily with tea and coffee facilities and the bed was really comfortable. Satalite TV was great and the shower easy to use.
Parking was provided onsite which was a real bonus as we had both our infirm parents with us and this really helped.
Food was all home cooked and all meals were lovely. The breakfast was particularly nice with a wide choice.
We would recommend this hotel for a stay in Eastbourne, particularly to dog lovers as our dog was made very welcome and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B, Owner at Beamsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments and we are pleased that you all (including the dog) enjoyed your break. Hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We liked Hotel Marina very much. Very welcoming hosts, openminded and helpful. Clean, pleasant atmosphere, nice "homemade" and fresh breakfast, good service, good security, private parking. We will be back next time we visit Eastbourne!
Claudie and Thomas

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B, Owner at Beamsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you Claudie & Thomas. We were so pleased that you enjoyed your first night with us to the extent that that you booked to stay with us again on your return trip home. We hope that you will come and visit Eastbourne again and stay with us. Safe travels on your motorbike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were made very welcome at the Hotel Marina which is in a good position overlooking the sea. It was a fifteen minute walk from the town and station, with a bus stop just across the road. Our room was clean and comfortable and the full English breakfast great, with fresh fruit and cereal available if required. Lovely coffee and hot toast, what more could anyone want.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonbeam482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B, Owner at Beamsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. We pride ourselves in looking after our guests and serving a good breakfast. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the marina hotel on a business trip and was greeted by the two owners, who were both very helpful and friendly.

They were currently re-fitting some of the rooms but this didn't affect my stay as the half of the hotel I was staying in had allready been finished, and to a good standard. The room I stayed in was compact, but perfectly adequate and comfortable for my short stay.

Breakfast was also to a good standard with what would have been beautiful views over the beach had the British weather not stepped in and doused the country in thick fog for two days.

I would happily recomend this hotel to a friend and stay again myself.
Thank you for my pleasant stay.
Bruce

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggreenbanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B, Owner at Beamsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you Bruce. Dave & I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are working in Eastbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

As I have never stayed in a hotel by myself I was a little nervous. I booked the room directly with the owners over the phone who were very friendly and flexible.

It was very easy to find, the car park at the back was also easy to find and I had a space for my car.

When I arrived I was greeted and taken to my room which was a single. The room was very fresh and clean and it looked like it had been freshly refurbished. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good. Only little problem I had was that I was cold when I got into bed but I do feel the cold more than most people. Maybe access to extra blankets in the cupboard would be a good idea. Oh and a spoon to make my tea in the morning. But the room felt like home.

I would definatley return to stay again if the need arises, very good quality with how much it cost to spend the night which was £30 without breakfast for a single room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna19867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B, Owner at Beamsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. Not sure why you didn't have a spoon as we normally do provide one!! Sorry that you were cold in bed - we are currently looking into buying some blankets. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We recently stayed at the Marina and had an enjoyable break. The new owners worked really hard to ensure we had everything we needed. They are in the process of refurbishing the hotel, so a few things needed doing, but our room had a great sea view (and it wasn't noisy even though we were right on the parade - thanks to good double glazing), a nice new comfy bed and lots of little extras that we haven't found in bigger, more expensive hotels. The breakfast was excellent with a great buffet selection of fruit, yoghurts, cereals etc, followed by a freshly cooked breakfast with plenty of choice.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - nice bay windows, so a bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetetheHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#13 of 75 in Eastbourne
401 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,757 reviews
1.0 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beamsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beamsley Lodge

Address: 86-87 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AE, England (Formerly The Marina Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £68 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beamsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately-run Edwardian (licensed) Guest House in a perfect location on Eastbourne's seafront. We offer a relaxing stay with an excellent home cooked breakfast or a lighter continental option with fresh fruit, yoghurt, selection of cereals etc. All rooms are individually and stylishly decorated and have en-suite shower rooms, hospitality tray and wall mounted tvs with built in dvd players. Many of our rooms have fantastic sea views. We have a small a private car park behind the property and the 5 spaces can be reserved for a small charge, and there is also plenty of free parking nearby. Free Wifi is available throughout the building. The pier, bandstand and town centre are an easy 10-15 minute walk away. A frequent bus service also operates just outside the property. All in all we offer excellent value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beamsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing